MorphOS runs on QEmu
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    analogkid
    Posts: 580 from 2004/11/3
    From: near myself
    @vox:

    The hyperlink given by Andreas was an exact answer to your question, whether there is any progress regarding MorphOS on QEMU. You should not blame him that he didn't interprete this progress (because he wasn't asked...) or even blame him that you can't interprete it.
  • »08.03.14 - 07:37
    Profile
  • vox
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    vox
    Posts: 419 from 2003/11/24
    From: Belgrade
    Quote:

    analogkid wrote:
    @vox:

    The hyperlink given by Andreas was an exact answer to your question, whether there is any progress regarding MorphOS on QEMU. You should not blame him that he didn't interprete this progress (because he wasn't asked...) or even blame him that you can't interprete it.


    Then no answer was given, just link.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sG2OC574mkA
    ------------------------------------------
    x1000 user, ASAP Vampire Standalone user, future MOS user
  • »09.03.14 - 07:55
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > no answer was given, just link.

    And if you follow that link, which obviously is what it's there for, and go reading you'll get the answer, directly and without potential misinterpretation by a middleman.
  • »09.03.14 - 08:41
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> So no progress [...]?

    > http://www.openfirmware.info/pipermail/openbios/2014-March/thread.html
    >
    > Edit:
    > http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-02/threads.html#00317
    > http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-03/threads.html#00001
    > http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-03/threads.html#00224

    Current status messages:

    http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-04/msg00263.html
    http://www.openfirmware.info/pipermail/openbios/2014-April/008243.html
  • »09.05.14 - 16:09
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Update:

    > http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-04/msg00263.html
    > http://www.openfirmware.info/pipermail/openbios/2014-April/008243.html

    There's progress being made:

    http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-05/msg00258.html
    http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-05/msg00264.html
  • »17.05.14 - 12:17
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Update:

    > http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-05/msg00258.html
    > http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-05/msg00264.html

    http://www.openfirmware.info/pipermail/openbios/2014-June/008391.html

    ...and from a week ago:

    "I think I've reached a milestone now. For the first time I was able to boot MorphOS and connect to it via VNC to also see it doing something."
    http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-ppc/2014-06/msg00000.html
  • »09.06.14 - 21:37
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    KimmoK
    Posts: 102 from 2003/5/19
    Interesting experiment.

    So, perhaps QEMU is used as sandbox if CPU architecture is changed.
    :-x :-P 8-)
  • »10.06.14 - 09:55
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    KimmoK wrote:
    Interesting experiment.


    This experiment was already completed in 2007.

    Quote:

    So, perhaps QEMU is used as sandbox if CPU architecture is changed.


    No.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »10.06.14 - 12:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > This experiment was already completed in 2007.

    But you lost the source code to that QEMU modification, didn't you?


    No. I might have temporarily misplaced it at some point, but it's definitely not lost. But that doesn't matter anyway. The experiment was already completed in 2007, and no, Qemu won't be a base for anything MorphOS.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »10.06.14 - 15:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ausPPC
    Posts: 541 from 2007/8/6
    From: Pending...
    If there was a publicly available qemu modification to run MorphOS, there would be the potential for many more people to try the OS and find out what it is. If, out of those people, some mistook emulation inadequacies as MorphOS faults, they probably wouldn't pursue it any further - but would that be such a loss?
    PPC assembly ain't so bad... ;)
  • »10.06.14 - 19:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 918 from 2004/9/23
    Quote:

    ausPPC wrote:
    If there was a publicly available qemu modification to run MorphOS, there would be the potential for many more people to try the OS and find out what it is. If, out of those people, some mistook emulation inadequacies as MorphOS faults, they probably wouldn't pursue it any further - but would that be such a loss?


    Lets say a new sports car enters the market and all versions anyone sees before buying are limited to 10 km/h. Would you spend the money?

    Geit
  • »10.06.14 - 20:26
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ausPPC
    Posts: 541 from 2007/8/6
    From: Pending...
    I'm not advocating that anyone spend time doing something that goes against their interests, least of all the MorphOS developers. I'm only asking because there's at least one person outside of the MorphOS developer team that has been actively attempting to get MorphOS running on qemu.
    PPC assembly ain't so bad... ;)
  • »10.06.14 - 22:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10018 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > QEMU Peg2 setup [...] could enable me to try MOS before MOS for SAM460ex

    Speaking of Sam460:

    https://github.com/mmuman/qemu/tree/sam460ex-WIP-rebasing
    http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?p=804695

    :-)
  • »26.02.16 - 09:42
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > QEMU Peg2 setup [...] could enable me to try MOS before MOS for SAM460ex

    Speaking of Sam460:

    https://github.com/mmuman/qemu/tree/sam460ex-WIP-rebasing
    http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?p=804695

    :-)


    That is interesting. More interesting than WinUAE at least.
  • »26.02.16 - 16:28
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 145 from 2004/11/18
    Morphos on Qemu is a good thing but i doubt a such emulator will permit to use things like overlay 3d layers and tinygl apps. so as winuae it will not be so intersting.
  • »05.03.16 - 20:22
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1018 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    acepeg wrote:
    Morphos on Qemu is a good thing but i doubt a such emulator will permit to use things like overlay 3d layers and tinygl apps. so as winuae it will not be so intersting.


    QEMU sports GPU passthrough so the emulated/virtualized OS can use the host GPU directly.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »05.03.16 - 22:18
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 304 from 2003/4/11
    I don't like bursting anyone's bubble, but before you get your hopes too high up, I should mention that Qemu is really, really slow and a lot slower than most people think. Unless you're so nostalgic that you long for the performance of a 90s Amiga, then Qemu isn't really usable.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »06.03.16 - 13:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1142 from 2003/6/17
    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    I don't like bursting anyone's bubble, but before you get your hopes too high up, I should mention that Qemu is really, really slow and a lot slower than most people think. Unless you're so nostalgic that you long for the performance of a 90s Amiga, then Qemu isn't really usable.


    Wait wait... what if we get a Core i12 and a bad ass GPU and and.. x86 is the way to go.. LOL :-P
  • »06.03.16 - 13:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 421 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    I don't like bursting anyone's bubble, but before you get your hopes too high up, I should mention that Qemu is really, really slow and a lot slower than most people think. Unless you're so nostalgic that you long for the performance of a 90s Amiga, then Qemu isn't really usable.


    That's a lie...

    ...you love bursting people's bubbles.

    [ Edited by KennyR 06.03.2016 - 18:13 ]
  • »06.03.16 - 17:10
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1018 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    I don't like bursting anyone's bubble, but before you get your hopes too high up, I should mention that Qemu is really, really slow and a lot slower than most people think. Unless you're so nostalgic that you long for the performance of a 90s Amiga, then Qemu isn't really usable.


    Being usable doesn't really matter to me, just the "nice trick"-factor of messing with it in an emulator is enough. Real hardware for real work, emulation for playing with toys. :)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »06.03.16 - 19:11
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    amyren
    Posts: 202 from 2010/5/15
    From: Norway
    Quote:

    bigfoot wrote:
    I don't like bursting anyone's bubble, but before you get your hopes too high up, I should mention that Qemu is really, really slow and a lot slower than most people think. Unless you're so nostalgic that you long for the performance of a 90s Amiga, then Qemu isn't really usable.


    Doesnt winuae use qemu for the ppc emulation?
    AmigaOS4.1FE doesnt run to slow, even on my acer iconia w700 windows tablet it is quite responsive. Any reason why MorphOS should be slower?
  • »07.03.16 - 17:19
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 145 from 2004/11/18
    I doubt from graphic card émulation. Because if you want morphos to use a graphic card it must be a supported one. But for now only ten years Old Gfx card are supported. The processor can be suffisant on a coré i5 but with a lame graphic support it will be useless. I take for exemple dolphin emulator wich has huge problems whith GPU émulation. Sure if you must buy à 1500 euros PC to run morphos at a suitable reactiveness it's sensless. I have buyed my PowerBook 90 euros and it's very fast on morphos. It cost less than a middle range graphic card.

    [ Edited by acepeg 07.03.2016 - 20:12 ]
  • »07.03.16 - 18:10
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 145 from 2004/11/18
    For me os4.1 on winuae is useless....just proof concept for geek.
  • »07.03.16 - 18:33
    Profile