Expose bounty proposal
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11329 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >>> Is it possible to have virtual desktops in MorphOS?

    >> Yes, they're called 'screens'.
    >> https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_desktop#Amiga

    > Whatever its called, we dont have it.

    MorphOS has always had support for Amiga-like screens. I use them daily. Maybe you should define what you really mean by "virtual desktops"?
  • »17.08.17 - 19:40
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1195 from 2003/6/17
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:

    MorphOS has always had support for Amiga-like screens. I use them daily. Maybe you should define what you really mean by "virtual desktops"?


    Yea thats definitely not what I meant. Multiple virtual desktops as the way we have them in Linux, ie Gnome shell is a good example of how it handles virtual desktops.

    Amiga/MorphOS way is the 'poor mans' virtual desktop. LOL
  • »18.08.17 - 14:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2370 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    Amiga/MorphOS way is the 'poor mans' virtual desktop. LOL


    I have to agree.
  • »18.08.17 - 15:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 133 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    Yea thats definitely not what I meant. Multiple virtual desktops as the way we have them in Linux, ie Gnome shell is a good example of how it handles virtual desktops.



    Hmmm. I see workspaces on common Linux, but it is not very useful (or I didn't figure out how to use it in a productive way).

    In fact, I'm used to Amiga public screen on which selected applications can automatically be opened (which is quite convenient to create switchable thematic areas).

    Apart of an easier way to dynamically make windows jump from a screen to another (which might not be hidden in an obscure menu even if it is rarely used once public screens configured), what could be expected from virtual desktop?

    [ Edited by Jeckel 18.08.2017 - 16:54 ]
  • »18.08.17 - 15:49
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 623 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    How about a bounty for draggable screens? :-)
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17"
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.15
  • »18.08.17 - 20:21
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2370 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    polluks wrote:
    How about a bounty for draggable screens? :-)



    I hope you are joking.
  • »18.08.17 - 20:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 623 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Quote:

    jacadcaps schrieb:
    Quote:

    polluks wrote:
    How about a bounty for draggable screens? :-)



    I hope you are joking.

    I know Frank's opinion...
    At least I can start Friend UP to have draggable screens :-P
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17"
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.15
  • »18.08.17 - 22:53
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2370 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    This has taken far too long, apologies. Work has finally commenced on getting this done.
  • »25.01.21 - 16:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cego
    Posts: 661 from 2006/5/28
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Quote:

    polluks wrote:
    How about a bounty for draggable screens? :-)



    I hope you are joking.


    why joking? draggable screens would emphasize MorphOS's amiga roots. And they are pretty handy too. Come to think that you could even drag n drop between screens.
    Pegasos II G4 @1.0GHz, 1GB DDR Ram, Radeon 9200Pro, 160GB+500GB HD, MorphOS 3.13, AmigaOS4.1 FE, MacOS X Panther 10.3.9, Debian 8
  • »25.01.21 - 21:04
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 67 from 2019/11/1
    Why not draggable screens? It can be a nice feature, Morphos is always an Amiga and draggable screens are another way to differentiate it from others common os, reminding users, once again, to its origins. IMHO If you can just do it.
  • »25.01.21 - 21:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 947 from 2004/9/23
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    Is it possible to have virtual desktops in MorphOS?


    Fun fact! You can! Well, unless something changed and it needs to be compiled in. (Just needs to be enabled) Ambient then can be launched multiple times on multiple screens and has multiple rexx ports.

    I used it back when we demoed the SCube stuff to easy fill the sides :D

    Is it useful? I don´t think so. :D



    [ Edited by geit 25.01.2021 - 23:32 ]
  • »25.01.21 - 23:31
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 381 from 2013/5/29
    Quote:

    jacadcaps escribió:
    This has taken far too long, apologies. Work has finally commenced on getting this done.


    No apologies is needed but great news!
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »26.01.21 - 10:44
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2370 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    Flash wrote:
    Why not draggable screens?


    They're not part of this bounty.
  • »26.01.21 - 13:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2370 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada


    The task switcher is mostly working now, but needs some extra fine tuning and more configuration options. Both PNG and SVG application icons are supported. They're detected automagically for MUI applications and may be set by hand for apps where automagic fails. It's also possible to simply override the icon. Or change the action that selecting the icon will have.

    As part of the bounty, I have also implemented Lucy-like functionality straight into intuition and layers libraries. I am hoping to be able to release the initial version of the app in less than 2 months and meet the 1st part of the bounty goal. (Window opacity and effects will obviously have to wait until 3.16)

    [ Edited by jacadcaps 30.03.2021 - 04:00 ]
  • »30.03.21 - 02:58
    Profile Visit Website