Any recent statements on PCIe based G5 support?
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    zukow wrote:
    ok, it seems that there was only one lame photo of my pmac g5 on this meeting so:

    g5pcie.png

    BTW. G5 PCIe port is highly experimental and for 99% won't be available in MorphOS 3.10 (3.11, 3.12, ...) because more important things have higher priority.


    OK, that definitely IS a PCIe G5.
    But what things would have higher priority?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »27.02.16 - 00:47
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2601 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, that definitely IS a PCIe G5.
    But what things would have higher priority?


    Probably polishing up the work done to make MorphOS boot on the X5000 and/or 3D support for some of the RadeonHD video cards.

    If not those two reasons, then perhaps they are closer to having an x64 release and want to complete a first version of that, instead of spending more time on the last unsupported G5 PowerMac models.

    Unless I missed some news recently, the video card support for RadeonHD to be used in the X5000 is/was not up to the usual release standards of the MorphOS Dev. Team, so it would make sense to me that they improve that area with a higher priority than supporting the PCIe G5 PowerMac models.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »27.02.16 - 01:32
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »28.02.16 - 16:49
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 27 from 2012/6/11
    I think the projects is related, x5000 (pcie) and radeonhd is the same goal for G5 pcie work.
  • »28.02.16 - 19:24
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Well, it can be like with the iMac G5 port not happening: some crucial parts are not working properly and thus the port is on ice. Until the Team says that a PowerMac 11.2 port is on it's way it might as well not exist at all for all we care.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »28.02.16 - 20:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2601 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?


    Is that a "rhetorical" question? Not sure I understand your meaning, in the question posed in that last sentence.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »28.02.16 - 21:01
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    amigadave wrote:
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    OK, I can understand the argument in placing priority on the Radeon HD video card drivers.
    We already have a very good R500 driver, but why limit us to the X1950XTX as our best performing video card?


    Is that a "rhetorical" question? Not sure I understand your meaning, in the question posed in that last sentence.


    Sorry, poorly worded, and yes rhetorical.
    Although, I would probably be satisfied with PCIe G5 support, rather than worry about better video cards.
    The majority of prospective X5000 customers probably don't share that view.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »28.02.16 - 21:11
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    marmotta
    Posts: 27 from 2012/6/11
    No any news for G5 PCIE support in the next mos release? (with radeon card)
  • »11.04.16 - 00:44
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4856 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    marmotta wrote:
    No any news for G5 PCIE support in the next mos release? (with radeon card)


    Probably not going to be announced until introduced.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »11.04.16 - 20:45
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1339 from 2003/4/13
    Bump!

    I had the opportunity to buy a sweet G5 Quad 2.5 for a very reasonable price today. I have no interest in the X5000, but I am interested PCIe G5. Every-time I upgrade my MOS machine, I sell one of my registered older ones locally, creating a brand new MOS user.
  • »27.08.18 - 02:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 742 from 2007/4/22
    I've finally decided I no longer have the space to keep my boxed Quad G5, time has marched on and web browsers for Snow (d'oh!) Leopard are getting more progressively outdated,

    So I'll be selling my Radeon equiped, maxed out Quad 2.5, so knowing my luck, 40 seconds after I sell it they'll be a release of MorphOS for it.

    I'll take one for the team!

    Actually, I can't get over how much the price has collapsed on these things, still I'll still have my dual 2 which does run MorphOS

    [ Edited by stephen_robinson 27.08.2018 - 09:53 ]
  • »27.08.18 - 07:18
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1135 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    stephen_robinson wrote:
    I've finally decided I no longer have the space to keep my boxed Quad G5, time has marched on and web browsers for Snow Leopard are getting more progressively outdated,

    In what way? Both leopard-webkit and TenFourFox use fairly recent browser versions.

    (Snow Leopard is for Intel systems only, by the way.)

    Quote:

    Actually, I can't get over how much the price has collapsed on these things, still I'll still have my dual 2 which does run MorphOS

    A quad G5 is a bit of a waste when you only use one core running MorphOS anyway.
  • »27.08.18 - 08:06
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 742 from 2007/4/22
    Yeah, but it's DDR2, not DDR1, and it's 2.5 cf 2! that's .5 betters!

    Also I've got a dual 2 and a Quad 2.5 these things are huge and heavy, if MorphOS was available for the Quad 2.5 it would be a non-brainer to get rid of the 2, but it isn't. Unless anyone else knows better?
  • »27.08.18 - 10:07
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 80 from 2017/9/10
    i have a quad g5 and a radeonhd on it ... waiting for mos on the quad here from much much time.
    I hope it will be releasede before Qemu will be more faster than my real quad....
  • »27.08.18 - 12:32
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1135 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Source: morphos-team.net/faq

    Quote:

    We strongly urge you to not buy or otherwise finance any hardware for the purpose of running MorphOS until you have read an announcement on this website that clearly states MorphOS will support it.
  • »27.08.18 - 14:10
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10535 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > A quad G5 is a bit of a waste when you only use one core running MorphOS anyway.

    As MorphOS can disable the 2nd CPU of a PowerMac7,3, I guess this capability could also be implemented for the 2nd CPU of a quad-core PowerMac11,2 (and maybe even for the 2nd core).
  • »27.08.18 - 20:30
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1339 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    stephen_robinson wrote:
    Yeah, but it's DDR2, not DDR1, and it's 2.5 cf 2! that's .5 betters!



    It's also PCIe and not AGP.

    I didn't buy the Quad because it doesn't seem like it will ever get supported. It's a shame, I don't care if I have to slap a network card in it and possibly change the video card. I appreciate they are probably worried about the least technical people out there, but stated AS-IS support with no nic driver would seem to be low hanging fruit.
  • »28.08.18 - 05:30
    Profile
  • vox
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    vox
    Posts: 433 from 2003/11/25
    From: Belgrade
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote:
    I didn't buy the Quad because it doesn't seem like it will ever get supported. It's a shame, I don't care if I have to slap a network card in it and possibly change the video card. I appreciate they are probably worried about the least technical people out there, but stated AS-IS support with no nic driver would seem to be low hanging fruit.


    Since there is a limited G5 class support, and there is a PCI-E gfx support, there is not much PREVETING MOS AGAINST IT (maybe some nVIDIA video driver G5 quad support).

    Full MOS4 support (all 4 cores) would make this "PPC giants" as high end MOS PPC machines. I am sure future MOS4 if ever existed in PPC(PPC64) mode, could be a suitable thing for those big box beasts.

    In fact, there are only PA semi, Full dual/quad G5 and future Tabor to be supported (all dualcores +). It would be a real shame for future MOS4 PPC not to. If butterfly is really to Morph all machines to blue :-)

    I highly doubt x5000/040 will ever see light of the day, and even then that MOS4 will utilize it fully before mythical OS 4.2 from my x1000 manual, ever comes to be in Hyperion download section.

    [ Edited by vox 28.08.2018 - 12:00 ]
    ------------------------------------------
    x1000 user, ASAP Vampire Standalone user, future MOS user
    YT: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
  • »28.08.18 - 10:15
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1888 from 2003/2/24
    Performance gains outside of FPS wankfests would be marginal, maybe even negative when comparing the 2x2.7Ghz to the 2.5 Quad and AGP G5 aren't that hard to come by.

    If MorphOS goes SMP on PPC before going x64 those G5s and the X5000 (and even some G4) would be more then enough for testing. Once that move has been made (and binary compatibility gone for good) there is no point in sticking with the sinking ship that is PPC.

    -> waste of resources for little to no gain
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »28.08.18 - 11:34
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10535 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > there are only PA semi, Full dual/quad G5 and future Tabor to be supported
    > (all dualcores +).

    At least in theory, there're also the Talos II and the future PPC notebook (both at least quad-core).
  • »28.08.18 - 12:36
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 80 from 2017/9/10
    I dont know guys but my fps perfromaces on g5 quad is on pubblic domain if i run quake, quake2 and quake 3 in comparison with some other new macs



    Video
  • »29.08.18 - 14:19
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 664 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    The endless cycle.

    1) Demand ports of x to y.

    2) Believe it's not going to happen after months waiting and buy z in the meantime.

    3) Port of x to y is finally completed.

    4) Ignore x on y and demand port of x to z instead.
  • »29.08.18 - 14:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 498 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Good thing that except Powermac g5 PCIe, there is no decent machines to make a port (*).


    (*) except Sonnet and others in Mediator :D

    [ Edited by zukow 29.08.2018 - 16:21 ]
  • »29.08.18 - 15:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10535 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > except Powermac g5 PCIe, there is no decent machines to make a port

    See comment #64 ;-)
  • »29.08.18 - 17:27
    Profile