How to remove the boot sound (two ways)
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    The easy way:
    This is for you who haven't installed MorphOS over MacOS yet, or have a dual MorphOS/MacOS boot.
    Start MacOS. Turn off the volume in the menu and reboot. Now your computer should be permanently silent on bootup.

    The slighly more difficult way:
    Have you installed MorphOS already? Don't you have the MacOS install CD?
    Then download Ubuntu PPC 12.04 (http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/releases/12.04/release/) and burn it into a CD. Start the computer while holding down Alt. When the boot menu appears, press the CD Eject button (or F12) and put in the CD. Choose the CD as boot. Once Ubuntu has loaded, search for the Terminal (you can do this in the top left icon). There, write "sudo nvsetvol 0" and shut down Ubuntu. Now your computer should be permenently silent.

    You can also choose other values than "0" if you want some sound (or a lot of it), but bear in mind that it's not all that logical and you may have to try several times before you get this right.

    [Edit] Both methods worked on each of my PowerMac G5's. If it doesn't work on other Mac models (especially method #2), please write a comment here.

    [ Edited by Yasu 12.01.2014 - 23:42 ]
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »12.01.14 - 22:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 619 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    @Skolman_Mws: Not usable if only MOS is installed.

    @Yasu:

    2nd method (Ubuntu):

    1. Works great on Mac Mini! After booting MOS system-volume is zero too - has to be set manualy.

    2. Doesn't work on Powerbook - It's a problem of Live CD: Ubuntu doesn't boot complete - last entry before stopping: "* Starting pbbuttonsd [OK]" - after that only hard reset possible.....
    1xPeg2, PowerMac G5, PowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T, A3000D and life is never boring.....
  • »13.01.14 - 10:28
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    [Edit] Maybe one of these versions works better?

    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PowerPCDownloads

    [edit 2] Realised that Mac Mini is G4.

    [ Edited by Yasu 13.01.2014 - 12:45 ]
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »13.01.14 - 10:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1053 from 2013/5/24
    From: fbih
    Ubuntu 13.10 ISO boots fine on PowerBooks.

    You might need to specify video=ofonly parameter to yaboot.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »13.01.14 - 11:26
    Profile
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1937 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    Thanks for the Ubuntu tip. Assholes at Apple oughta be shot dead twice for creating the boot jingle.
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »13.01.14 - 11:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10758 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Is there any version of Ubuntu out there for G4?

    Ubuntu images for PPC are for G3, G4 and G5 (and POWER5).
  • »13.01.14 - 11:46
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Elric
    Posts: 52 from 2003/4/3
    From: Bretagne Lorient
    Hello!

    Well, for the ubuntu way, specially on powerbooks, it's possible to launch with, e.g. for a 5.9: boot video=radeonfb:1600x1050-32@60 >> that way, you have the nominal resolution...

    About the sound, it'll be permanently off it you use only MorphOS... If you want to use some times macos or linux, this #*+%&-#" sound can eventualy come back... I wonder how... But even using only macos, it possibly came back at a time...
    A very nice thing would be to have a shell linux-like command to shut it off...
    It seems to be a "c" little progy... But how to port or remade it for MOS?
    It probably needs to work "out of the A-box" to deal with the firmware?
    Or is there a solution to make it strait from the firmware? I hadn't find something this way for now...

    Amigalement!
  • »13.01.14 - 11:59
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1053 from 2013/5/24
    From: fbih
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Is there any version of Ubuntu out there for G4?

    Ubuntu images for PPC are for G3, G4 and G5 (and POWER5).


    http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/lubuntu/releases/13.10/release/lubuntu-13.10-alternate-powerpc.iso
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »13.01.14 - 12:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10758 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> Ubuntu images for PPC are for G3, G4 and G5 (and POWER5).

    > http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/lubuntu/releases/13.10/release/lubuntu-13.10-alternate-powerpc.iso

    What should that link tell me?
  • »13.01.14 - 13:20
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1053 from 2013/5/24
    From: fbih
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    >> Ubuntu images for PPC are for G3, G4 and G5 (and POWER5).

    > http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/lubuntu/releases/13.10/release/lubuntu-13.10-alternate-powerpc.iso

    What should that link tell me?


    I would have thought it self-explanatory but it is the ISO image of Ubuntu 13.10 for PowerPC machines.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »13.01.14 - 13:58
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Norbi
    Posts: 88 from 2004/6/19
    ...
    or install OSX Tiger + "Startup Sound OSX" on a pendrive(min. 2GB) and run if necessary
  • »13.01.14 - 14:38
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 619 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Quote:

    Elric schrieb:
    Hello!

    .......

    A very nice thing would be to have a shell linux-like command to shut it off...
    It seems to be a "c" little progy... But how to port or remade it for MOS?
    It probably needs to work "out of the A-box" to deal with the firmware?
    Or is there a solution to make it strait from the firmware? I hadn't find something this way for now...

    Amigalement!


    I'm quite sure that there is apossibility to do that direct in Open Firmware. Even if there is no direct command (like "shut-up-bloody-mac") there could be a way by poke values to the right address (Firmware hsa poke&peek command). But this address to find seems to be the issue......
    1xPeg2, PowerMac G5, PowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T, A3000D and life is never boring.....
  • »13.01.14 - 14:56
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10758 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >>>> Ubuntu images for PPC are for G3, G4 and G5 (and POWER5).

    >>> http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/lubuntu/releases/13.10/release/lubuntu-13.10-alternate-powerpc.iso

    >> What should that link tell me?

    > I would have thought it self-explanatory but it is the ISO image of Ubuntu 13.10 for
    > PowerPC machines.

    I know what that link is (Lubuntu btw), but I still don't understand why you replied with that link to what you quoted from me.
  • »13.01.14 - 18:47
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1053 from 2013/5/24
    From: fbih
    I clicked reply on the most recent relevant post.

    [ Edited by Intuition 13.01.2014 - 19:33 ]
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »13.01.14 - 19:17
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10758 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >>>>>> Ubuntu images for PPC are for G3, G4 and G5 (and POWER5).

    >>>>> http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/lubuntu/releases/13.10/release/lubuntu-13.10-alternate-powerpc.iso

    >>>> What should that link tell me?

    >>> I would have thought it self-explanatory but it is the ISO image of Ubuntu 13.10 for
    >>> PowerPC machines.

    >> I know what that link is (Lubuntu btw), but I still don't understand why you replied with
    >> that link to what you quoted from me.

    > I clicked reply on the most recent relevant post.

    I see, a slip then. These things happen.
  • »13.01.14 - 20:09
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1053 from 2013/5/24
    From: fbih
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    >>>>>> Ubuntu images for PPC are for G3, G4 and G5 (and POWER5).

    >>>>> http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/lubuntu/releases/13.10/release/lubuntu-13.10-alternate-powerpc.iso

    >>>> What should that link tell me?

    >>> I would have thought it self-explanatory but it is the ISO image of Ubuntu 13.10 for
    >>> PowerPC machines.

    >> I know what that link is (Lubuntu btw), but I still don't understand why you replied with
    >> that link to what you quoted from me.

    > I clicked reply on the most recent relevant post.

    I see, a slip then. These things happen.


    Yeah, I notice my phone has auto corrected Lubuntu to Ubuntu each time I typed it too.

    Another tip for L/K/Ubuntu installation discs is to use the alternate image because the graphical installer segfaults halfway through the install. At least on my PowerBook anyway.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »14.01.14 - 08:33
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    I've written about this on my blog now :-)

    http://morphosuser.wordpress.com/2014/12/28/removing-the-boot-sound/
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »27.12.14 - 23:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Minuous
    Posts: 150 from 2010/2/12
    Is there a way to do it that doesn't require downloading over 700Mb!?

    Why does MorphOS not have a setting for this in Preferences?
  • »28.12.14 - 01:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    pegasos-sigi2
    Posts: 264 from 2006/8/31
    Quote:

    Minuous wrote:
    Is there a way to do it that doesn't require downloading over 700Mb!?

    Why does MorphOS not have a setting for this in Preferences?


    This settting exists in the firmware of apple computers.
    MorphOS haven't access to the firmware at runtime all the time.
    The only access to the firmware is to shutdown the computer.
    Spreedy - The spreedsheet editor of MorphOS
    Calimero - Do you know about the new DTP Program for MorphOS ?
  • »28.12.14 - 09:32
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Minuous
    Posts: 150 from 2010/2/12
    @pegasos-sigi2:

    I'm not sure what you mean, surely it is just a matter of poking a value into the NVRAM? Why are MacOS and Linux able to do this but not MorphOS?
  • »28.12.14 - 12:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Last time I asked the Team that they told me things can go wrong messing with the firmware and they don't want to be held responsible for it.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »28.12.14 - 13:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Minuous
    Posts: 150 from 2010/2/12
    Well, that reasoning could apply equally to MacOS and Linux, I don't see what's different about MorphOS.

    If someone can provide me with the necessary technical details (ie. what address(es) to write to) I'm willing to write such a program.
  • »28.12.14 - 23:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10758 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > If someone can provide me with the necessary technical details
    > (ie. what address(es) to write to) I'm willing to write such a program.

    Would the source code of the Linux command be of any help?
  • »29.12.14 - 01:12
    Profile