OWB says it is Safari
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    Even if I set that OWB shall appear as OWB it shows up itself as Safari to any website. From that all of them think I am using OSX which is not true. It is just the same engine but nothing more. That way MorphOS is never recognized as a platform because it does not show up in any web statistics. No matter how little the number is - shouldn't the software show what the software IS?
    Why is that?
  • »21.06.13 - 17:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    mobydick
    Posts: 179 from 2004/2/26
    From: Mordor, capita...
    It is default user agent for OWB. You can define your own environment variable OWB_USER_AGENT.
    Pegasos II/G4@1GHz, 1 GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9
    Efika MX Smartbook, Ubuntu 12.04
    peguser.narod.ru
  • »21.06.13 - 18:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    Yes but why is the default to hide MorphOS rather than showing it?
  • »21.06.13 - 18:22
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    vulture
    Posts: 179 from 2008/2/4
    From: Greece
    I'm no expert, but maybe some sites check the OS AND the browser to determine compatibility and this way OWB gets around that problem.
  • »21.06.13 - 18:36
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    You can change that in settings. Pretty straight forward :-)
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »21.06.13 - 19:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    mobydick
    Posts: 179 from 2004/2/26
    From: Mordor, capita...
    Several sites provide pda-version, when find unknown OS or browser name in user agent. I use OdysseyWebBrowser and MorphOS :)
    Pegasos II/G4@1GHz, 1 GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9
    Efika MX Smartbook, Ubuntu 12.04
    peguser.narod.ru
  • »21.06.13 - 20:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    Even if I set that OWB shall appear as OWB it shows up itself as Safari to any website. From that all of them think I am using OSX which is not true. It is just the same engine but nothing more. That way MorphOS is never recognized as a platform because it does not show up in any web statistics. No matter how little the number is - shouldn't the software show what the software IS?
    Why is that?


    So what? These sites don't have precise enough checks, but who cares. For your information, the advertised user agent is:
    "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; PowerPC MorphOS 3.2; Odyssey Web Browser; rv:1.20) AppleWebKit/537.33 (KHTML, like Gecko) OWB/1.20 Safari/537.33"

    I didn't pull that string out of my hat. :) You can see MorphOS and Odyssey in there as well. But WebKit and Safari strings are still there for compatibility sake, especially with sites like google services that can easily break if you don't have a "standard" browser.
  • »22.06.13 - 00:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    xyphoid
    Posts: 870 from 2008/7/11
    From: Delaware, USA
    I'm getting a lot of application meditating lately on owb 1.20 any way to dianose what's going on?
    Sorry for the thread hi-jack.
  • »15.07.13 - 03:03
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    As you already know that you are doing wrong why do you hijack this thread anyway?
    New topic -> new thread.
  • »16.07.13 - 21:19
    Profile