Return to the Roots (Settlers 2.5)
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    @BSzili

    Really strange. Considering that there is no difference in loading time when it's off or on. Maybe it's broken somewhere? It's really always on I mean.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »05.01.15 - 00:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 433 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    It might be possible, but very unlikely. It's a moot point unless I can find a way to reproduce it.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »05.01.15 - 09:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    I tried to reinstall the game, and mark the conversion tools as executable from the beginning but that didn't do any difference. I'm gonna try the game on my Powerbook and see if it's G5 related.

    Could you show me your config.ini? I want to see if there are any clues there.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »05.01.15 - 11:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 433 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    It's not going to be much help to you, since it's all the defaults, except for shared_textures of course: http://pastebin.com/FytzbtEu
    Trying it on different machines sounds like a good idea.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »05.01.15 - 15:18
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Okey, I did try your config and that of course did not make a difference.

    I also tried on my Powerbook 1.67 Ghz machine and it did load a lot faster, even though you couldn't count it in seconds. Rather, each individual LBM was loaded in about 2 seconds instead of 7 or 8. And this was with optimised textures both on or off. It made no difference.

    My normal system is a G5 @ 2.7 GHz, so my next suspect is that it's a G5 related problem. Both system loads with 100% CPU load so my guess is that some unoptimised part of the G5 act as a bottleneck somewhere. Anyway, that is all I can think of anyway :-)

    But the game itself runs beautifully so I have to congratulate you on this splendid port ;-)

    [ Edited by Yasu 05.01.2015 - 22:24 ]
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »05.01.15 - 21:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 433 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    Great, have fun! In the near future I'm planning to update it to the latest public version (0.8.1), and disable the optimized textures at compile time. Maybe this will finally fix the terrible loading times for good. I recently made a small POSIX socket compatibility library, so I might port the mysql client library too, so the lobby can be used.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »06.01.15 - 17:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 128 from 2004/11/18
    Excellent news
  • »06.01.15 - 19:22
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    @BSzili

    Great to hear! I've sent you a token of my appriciation ;-)
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »06.01.15 - 20:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 432 from 2011/11/30
    Seeing this thread, reminded me that I should also give a go on BSzilli's Settles II port :)

    The loading was rather quick (around 15 secs from double clicking the icon) on a 1,67Ghz G4, so I
    believe Yasu's prob must be affiliated somehow with the G5. However, it does consume 100% of the cpu power when the rame is running but still gameplay was smooth even on 1280x1024 resolution (music was also enabled).

    On the hand it is shame that they don't plan to include support for the campaign/single player mode :( Me, as a newbie on Settlers, would like to have a teaching curve regarding the game's main aspects, rather than combat with advanced AI opponents over vast maps, straight from the beginning.

    The lobby feature would be nicely welcomed given that it provides a modern multiplayer feeling. Don't know how feasible it is to host/connect to a multiplayer session from MorphOS under the current options.
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »08.01.15 - 10:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 433 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I've said this many times: if you don't want the game to use up all the CPU time, then use the frame rate limiter.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »08.01.15 - 10:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Yes, without limitation it goes up to 150 FPS on my machine with highest resolution of 1920x1200. 30 should be enough.
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »08.01.15 - 12:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    eliot
    Posts: 456 from 2004/4/15
    Try to playing settlers on my Power Mac G5@2.0 GHz.
    I just copied the Settlers3gold folder to the root directory of the port.
    When I start it, the game blocks at startup screen.
    In the console window I can see that it loads the images, which goes on very slow.

    Starte das Spiel
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PALETTE/PAL5.BBM": fertig (14ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PALETTE/PAL6.BBM": fertig (8ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PALETTE/PAL7.BBM": fertig (7ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PALETTE/PALETTI0.BBM": fertig (12ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PALETTE/PALETTI1.BBM": fertig (7ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PALETTE/PALETTI8.BBM": fertig (12ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/RTTR/COLORS.ACT":fertig (13ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/RTTR/LSTS/splash.bmp": fertig (58ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/DATA/RESOURCE.DAT": fertig (211ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/DATA/IO/IO.DAT": fertig (100ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PICS/SETUP013.LBM": fertig (10168ms)
    lade "Games:s25rttr_0.8/GFX/PICS/SETUP015.LBM":


    How can I speed up loading the images?

    EDIT: The sound fx is also broken.
    But music just fine.
    This whats the console says:
    Games:s25rttr_0.8/RTTR/sound-convert: Datei ist nicht ausführbar
    Games:s25rttr_0.8/RTTR/sound-convert fehlgeschlagen Rückgabewert 10

    [ Edited by eliot 10.01.2015 - 12:21 ]
    regards
    eliot

    www.exception-dev.de
  • »10.01.15 - 12:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    @eliot

    I wrote about this here: https://morphosuser.wordpress.com/2015/01/02/return-to-the-roots/

    Sadly, it's the slow disk operation on the G5 that makes it load really slow. It's a lot faster on a G4. So you have to get used to the slow loading time. Maybe the Team will find a way to up the disk operation speed in the future.

    I've also written about how to fix the sound problem :-)
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »10.01.15 - 12:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    eliot
    Posts: 456 from 2004/4/15
    Thx, sounds are now working!
    The music is converted into the ogg format and is copied ram:t/tmp/
    for those who want to listen to the game music while not playing.
    regards
    eliot

    www.exception-dev.de
  • »10.01.15 - 15:22
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 134 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    hi !!
    I love this game :-) it's working very good on my G5 ^^

    It's possible to have the last public release ? 0.8.1

    thank you !!
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »16.05.16 - 14:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Lord76
    Posts: 48 from 2014/8/31
    From: A1k.org -=Lord=-
    any updates BZill?A Great Game
    A4KT|CS- 60|PicassoIV|XSurf100+RR|Prelude+Mpegit|Prisma|SSD
    A1200|ACA1233n-40|RR-USB|Indiv-MK2|Fastata-MK-V
    Amiga CD32|SX32 -
    MorphOS Powerbook 5.8 A1138
    PowerMac G5 7.3 - 2.3ghz A1047
  • »09.02.17 - 23:33
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 134 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    BZill, i can see to update if you want :-)
    i just want your code source to check diff
    Thanks
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »10.02.17 - 10:52
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 433 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I wonder who this BZill guy could be, I thought I was the one who ported this :)
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »11.02.17 - 09:22
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 134 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    :-) sorry BSzili
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »11.02.17 - 10:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Lord76
    Posts: 48 from 2014/8/31
    From: A1k.org -=Lord=-
    :-) sorry BSzili
    A4KT|CS- 60|PicassoIV|XSurf100+RR|Prelude+Mpegit|Prisma|SSD
    A1200|ACA1233n-40|RR-USB|Indiv-MK2|Fastata-MK-V
    Amiga CD32|SX32 -
    MorphOS Powerbook 5.8 A1138
    PowerMac G5 7.3 - 2.3ghz A1047
  • »13.02.17 - 13:37
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 134 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Hi all !

    New version available here :
    MorphOS-Storage

    It's an Update of BSzili port (thanks to him)



    [ Edité par beworld 18.03.2017 - 17:58 ]
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »12.03.17 - 17:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Lord76
    Posts: 48 from 2014/8/31
    From: A1k.org -=Lord=-
    Hi BSzili,

    1. New Version has the old Sound Bug says file sound-converter is not there , this file is missing in the Directory RTTR.
    2. a new bug after clearing the first (Copy sound-convert from my old 0.8 S2 install to RTTR Dir) New Bug:
    can`t open input file "PROGDIR: Data/Sounddat/sound.lst (copy from old 0.8 s2 change nothing, file is executable)

    Can you help?
    A4KT|CS- 60|PicassoIV|XSurf100+RR|Prelude+Mpegit|Prisma|SSD
    A1200|ACA1233n-40|RR-USB|Indiv-MK2|Fastata-MK-V
    Amiga CD32|SX32 -
    MorphOS Powerbook 5.8 A1138
    PowerMac G5 7.3 - 2.3ghz A1047
  • »17.03.17 - 21:58
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Lord76
    Posts: 48 from 2014/8/31
    From: A1k.org -=Lord=-
    and a new test

    First unzip new Version then copy Data/GFX from Original Game CD to GameDir.
    Start Game Okay , then came:

    Starting samplerate conversion
    Input file: "PROGDIR:DATA/SOUNDDAT/SOUND.LST"
    Output file: "PROGDIR:.s25rttr/LSTS/SOUND.LST"
    using Script: "PROGDIR:RTTR/sound.scs"
    Can't open input file "PROGDIR:DATA/SOUNDDAT/SOUND.LST"
    A4KT|CS- 60|PicassoIV|XSurf100+RR|Prelude+Mpegit|Prisma|SSD
    A1200|ACA1233n-40|RR-USB|Indiv-MK2|Fastata-MK-V
    Amiga CD32|SX32 -
    MorphOS Powerbook 5.8 A1138
    PowerMac G5 7.3 - 2.3ghz A1047
  • »17.03.17 - 22:39
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 433 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    The updated version was done by beworld based on "Bzsili port" (whatever that may be) and not me. Maybe he can help you out?

    [ Edited by BSzili 18.03.2017 - 14:37 ]
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »18.03.17 - 14:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 134 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    loooooool.... i am so sorry BSzili.....

    @lord76 :
    i reupload an archive.
    i include this file : PROGDIR:.s25rttr/LSTS/SOUND.LST
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »18.03.17 - 17:34
    Profile Visit Website