MDD Startup Chime
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1893 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    Ok, Ive searched all over for days now and cant find an answer. Is there a way on MOS or in OF to shut of or turn the volume of the startup chime down lower. Its blasting me so loud that I can't stand turning on this machine any more.
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »02.06.13 - 12:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1662 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Unfortunately there still isn't any known way to do that from MorphOS or OF. Your only option is to mute it from OSX. If you do that before initial installation of MorphOS then it never comes back even if you remove OSX. You can also try some newer version of OSX installation media, if you could do that without installing it. IIRC you couldn't do that with 10.4, but maybe with some later versions?
  • »02.06.13 - 13:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 475 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Like jPV said, OSX is the only time you can turn down the volume all the way down so the chime doesn't go on startup.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »02.06.13 - 18:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1416 from 2003/4/13
    Open the case, unplug the internal speaker.
  • »02.06.13 - 18:39
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1893 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    Red, lol.. why I didnt think of that is beyond me!! Thank you.
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »02.06.13 - 19:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1074 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    jPV,
    Quote:

    Unfortunately there still isn't any known way to do that from MorphOS or OF. Your only option is to mute it from OSX.


    From an OSX terminal 'sudo nvram SystemAudioVolume=%01' will disable the boot chime.

    I went into Open Firmware on my Powerbook and typed

    Code:
    setenv SystemAudioVolume=%01
    save


    Then rebooted but the chime still happens. :/

    Is there no equivalent to the nvram tool on MorphOS?

    http://www.opensource.apple.com/source/system_cmds/system_cmds-336/nvram.tproj/nvram.c?txt
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »02.06.13 - 19:13
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ausPPC
    Posts: 543 from 2007/8/6
    From: Pending...
    I am using something called StartupSound.prefPane to mute my powerbook's startup chime. Once installed it can be accessed through OS X System Preferences / Other / Startup Sound

    http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/software.en.html#StartupSound - I forget which version I'm using but try one of those.
    PPC assembly ain't so bad... ;)
  • »02.06.13 - 20:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1893 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    Sadly all I can do is kill the internal speaker. This MDD is a stand alone MOS machine. Im thinking I may try to just do an install to an extra drive and swap it back when done, but I dont plan to use the internal speaker so not much point.
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »02.06.13 - 23:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1074 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Acill,
    Quote:

    Sadly all I can do is kill the internal speaker. This MDD is a stand alone MOS machine. Im thinking I may try to just do an install to an extra drive and swap it back when done, but I dont plan to use the internal speaker so not much point.


    No need to install OSX, just boot from an installation disc and open a terminal from the pulldown menu and type this command followed by enter:

    Code:
    nvram SystemAudioVolume=%01
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »02.06.13 - 23:18
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 888 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Intuition,
    Quote:

    No need to install OSX, just boot from an installation disc and open a terminal from the pulldown menu and type this command followed by enter:

    Code:
    nvram SystemAudioVolume=%01


    Can this command be entered once the machine starts normally?

    Will it save this command permanently, and without a SAVE qualifier word?

    I have used the StartupPrefsPane tool for Mac OS X and used that to control the startup 'chime' as it is so annoying, but I just wonder why, if this command is so simple then why hasn't it been mentioned more prominently in the MorphOS library or forums before?

    [ Edited by NewSense 03.06.2013 - 14:34 ]
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »03.06.13 - 03:31
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 475 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Tried the command, but no luck...

    Gonna try /usr/sbin/nvram SystemAudioVolume=%01 see if that will do it.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »03.06.13 - 04:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 475 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    ...Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand no luck.... :( lol...
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »03.06.13 - 04:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1893 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    I also tried it and no luck. I just disconnected the internal speaker and it solved my problem. I just creates a new one of having two sets of speakers for two computers on my desk. Time for an audio system upgrade I think!
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »03.06.13 - 12:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1074 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Oh that's disappointing to hear, it was on a few different Google hits so I assumed it would have worked.

    Well I don't need to find a dual layer disc to burn Leopard to now then, guess I'll just have to put up with the noise.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »03.06.13 - 13:06
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Elric
    Posts: 52 from 2003/4/3
    From: Bretagne Lorient
    Hi!

    An other way is by using Linux: from an usb key or so, live boot, and in a shell: sudo nvsetvol 0

    I was using, from macosx, frist pssst, and the one already told here, but some times getting again this :evil: stupid sound, plus sometimes no sound on macos side...

    Amigalement!
  • »03.06.13 - 15:07
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 475 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    I managed to get the startup chime gone, but had to do it while I was in OS X. The drive in my Mac Mini didnt seem to like the dual layer I burned so I just installed OS X 10.4 for the time being since it was on a single layer DVD.

    Load up Terminal, which can be found in the Applications folder on the main Drive.
    give yourself super user by typing in 'sudo su' (If you have no password set, it will still ask for a password, just press enter.)
    Then type in the command 'nvram SystemAudioVolume=%01'

    Whala! No more startup chime. At first I thought you can just turn down the main volume from the top-right hand of OS-X, but that of course did nothing for the startup chime.

    8-)
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »05.06.13 - 05:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1940 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    I wonder who was the brilliant mastermind at Apple thinking a power on jingle would be awesome.. hope he dies a slow and painful death as he deserves it :)
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »05.06.13 - 05:34
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1662 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Doffo,
    Quote:

    At first I thought you can just turn down the main volume from the top-right hand of OS-X, but that of course did nothing for the startup chime.


    That method has worked just perfectly on my two minis and one PB. Chime is gone too unless you boot back to OSX, it sets the volume up again. But if you mute the volume from main volume control in OSX and do next boot from MorphOS CD, then it's gone forever.

    And if you want to keep dualboot system with OSX, then you can install StartupSound.prefPane program to OSX, which keeps chime down always.
  • »05.06.13 - 05:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1074 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    I've burned four or five different flavours of Linux and none of them boot past the kernel dmesg output, I can't burn Leopard until I find a a dual layer disc and I can't find a torrent that works for Tiger so I'm stuck with the chime for now. :/

    [ Edited by Intuition 05.06.2013 - 11:35 ]
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »05.06.13 - 11:34
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Tcheko
    Posts: 436 from 2003/2/25
    From: France
    hooligan,
    Quote:

    I wonder who was the brilliant mastermind at Apple thinking a power on jingle would be awesome.. hope he dies a slow and painful death as he deserves it :)



    Notice that some A1000 had a melody at boot which is no better than apple chime... :)

    For history : http://dallashodgson.info/sounds/a1000boot.wav
    Quelque soit le chemin que tu prendras dans la vie, sache que tu auras des ampoules aux pieds.
    -------
    I need to practice my Kung Fu.
  • »05.06.13 - 12:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Ingo
    Posts: 103 from 2004/3/20
    From: #AmigaZeux
    hooligan,
    Quote:

    I wonder who was the brilliant mastermind at Apple thinking a power on jingle would be awesome.. hope he dies a slow and painful death as he deserves it :)


    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Did-You-Know-The-Story-Behind-the-OS-X-Chime-Startup-Sound-98713.shtml

    [ Edited by Ingo 05.06.2013 - 15:41 ]
  • »05.06.13 - 14:40
    Profile Visit Website