Atheros 5k MorphOS wifi support
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1213 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    i was wondering if ALL the derivatives of the Atheros 5000 chipset were supported by MorphOS 3.2 ? eg Atheros 5211, 5212, 5213, 5213A ..etc
  • »28.05.13 - 09:27
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3007 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/ath5k#Supported_Chips
  • »28.05.13 - 09:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    pampers
    Posts: 1061 from 2009/2/26
    From: Tczew, Poland
    I think ppl should report what card do they use so if someone is looking for a card, he will be sure that it's fully working. Mine is NetGear WG511T.
    MorphOS 3.x
  • »28.05.13 - 09:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1213 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    thanks !
  • »28.05.13 - 09:50
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3007 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Well... it's pretty easy to verify if a card works by googling the various linux forums for ath5k compatibility.

    I am using a Cisco Aironet AIR-CB21AG-A-K9.
  • »28.05.13 - 10:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1213 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    a driver for the same chipset just got released for AmigaOS 4.... coincidence ? : )
  • »28.05.13 - 13:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > coincidence ?

    "Versions of the driver are already distributed with AROS and MorphOS"
    http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=6772

    Also:
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=11&topic_id=6042&start=108
  • »28.05.13 - 13:49
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 559 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    This page can also be useful: http://wikidevi.com/wiki/Atheros
    It's easier to search for Atheros chipsets, which have the supported chips.
    This is just like television, only you can see much further.
  • »28.05.13 - 17:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    AmigoHD
    Posts: 4 from 2009/10/20
    I am right that there is no built in support in 3.2 for internal AirPort Extreme WiFi in Powerbooks? ://
  • »28.05.13 - 19:06
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3007 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    @AmigoHD:

    Yes, at least for now there's no support for the Broadcom card found in the PowerBooks, iBooks and the mini.
  • »28.05.13 - 19:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Testing on Powerbook 5,6 with WPN511 Netgear Rangemax (connecting to Netgear router ~3m away).

    Configuration is simple, although I use static IPs and haven't tested DHCP yet.

    Unfortunately on my setup, network transfer are painfully slow (max 300kB/s when downloading an ISO, however this is an occasional spike - network sits idle for several seconds at a time).
    Are there any settings/env-variables which could be tweaked? Disabling auto-negotiation might be useful (since both router and card are 108mbps capable, I wonder if this could be causing issues).
    [EDIT: problem solved, see seperate post below]

    Report on how well other cards are working would be most welcome.

    Other points of note:
    1) WLan card must be plugged in before booting - doesn't appear to support card swapping.
    2) If incorrect password for network is entered, wireless driver seems to enter infinite loop - requires reboot to re-enter password.
    3) A title above the list of SSIDs in Network prefs would be welcome (eg 'Available Wireless Networks'). It currently just presents the list of SSIDs without stating what they are. Obvious once you've been through it, but gave me a 'wtf? moment' the first time.

    [ Edited by boot_wb 28.05.2013 - 21:03 ]
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »28.05.13 - 19:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 537 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:


    a driver for the same chipset just got released for AmigaOS 4.... coincidence ? : )



    The MorphOS ath5k driver (as well as the wpa_supplicant port called WirelessManager in MorphOS) has been ported in cooperation with Neil Cafferkey who initially started on that for AROS as far as I can tell.
    He also created the required extensions to the sana2 driver networking infrastructure.
    If it is a coincidence that it is now released for AmigaOS4 just one day after MorphOS 3.2 update has been released ... only Neil might know :D
    It has been ready for quite a while afaik.
    He is also mentioned in the thanks/credits section in the Ambient menu "About MorphOS", btw ... :)
  • »28.05.13 - 19:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Krashan
    Posts: 1107 from 2003/6/11
    From: Białystok...
    Considering also other cards reported to work by team members, we have a short list

    Cisco Aironet AIR-CB21AG-A-K9
    Netgear WG511T
    TP-Link TL-WN310G
  • »28.05.13 - 19:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Quote:

    Unfortunately on my setup, network transfer are painfully slow (max 300kB/s when downloading an ISO, however this is an occasional spike - network sits idle for several seconds at a time).
    Are there any settings/env-variables which could be tweaked? Disabling auto-negotiation might be useful (since both router and card are 108mbps capable, I wonder if this could be causing issues).


    Problem seemingly solved: disabling 108mps auto-negotiation (setting to standard 'G' mode only) on the router seems to have solved the issue. I've tried re-enabling and disabling 108mbps mode and it is definitely not happy with the 108mbps setting.

    Excellent speeds so far- limited only by internet connection speed when browsing/downloading (haven't tested LAN speed yet).

    Thanks to Neil Cafferkey and everyone involved, much more convenient than that damn wireless dongle hanging off the Lan port!
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »28.05.13 - 21:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    ncafferkey
    Posts: 38 from 2006/1/6
    SoundSquare,
    Quote:

    i was wondering if ALL the derivatives of the Atheros 5000 chipset were supported by MorphOS 3.2 ? eg Atheros 5211, 5212, 5213, 5213A ..etc


    In theory, yes (unless there are CardBus-handling issues that only the MorphOS devs would be aware of).

    EDIT: BTW, compatibility with the Linux madwifi driver is more relevant than the ath5k one, as madwifi and atheros5000.device are both based on the official Atheros HAL.

    [ Edited by ncafferkey 29.05.2013 - 13:47 ]
  • »29.05.13 - 13:35
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1110 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    I can also confirm WG511T works in my Powerbook 5,8.

    I had to change the channel in my router settings from 13 to Auto as it wouldn't see the SSID.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »29.05.13 - 16:01
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    @Krashan

    Just to be sure before I buy. It's this one right?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/TP-Link-TL-WN310G-54Mbps-Wireless-G-Cardbus-Adapter-Brand-NEW-/111081620100?pt=US_USB_Wi_Fi_Adapters_Dongles&hash=item19dcfb0284
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »29.05.13 - 21:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Krashan
    Posts: 1107 from 2003/6/11
    From: Białystok...
    @Yasu

    Yes. It has been reported working. It should be noted however that current driver does not control LED-s on the card, so they are just off all the time. Anyway data transfer is unaffected.
  • »29.05.13 - 22:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Cool! Great to know!

    It does seem however that getting wifi to work on MOS is quite the hassle. Unlike on AROS where it's easy. How come?
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »29.05.13 - 22:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Henes
    Posts: 507 from 2003/6/14
    @Yasu

    Do you have an URL showing people having difficulties getting WiFi to work?
    I mostly see people looking for a supported card...
  • »29.05.13 - 23:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    There was one thread here about that topic, but now I can't seem to find it ...
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »29.05.13 - 23:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 958 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    What about other cards beside networking?
    Will other types of cards work on pcmcia?
    :-)
    Mac G5 ISight 21" 2.5 gb of ram 233gb hd matshita dvd-r uj-846
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »29.05.13 - 23:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Tarnak
    Posts: 6 from 2011/7/10
    I've 2 pcmcia netgear cards.

    netgear 108mbps , 32-bit cardbus wg511T - working flawlessly,

    netgear 32-bit cardbus wg511, 2,4 ghz 54mbs - doesn't work under mos, working on macosx.
  • »30.05.13 - 08:50
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Krashan
    Posts: 1107 from 2003/6/11
    From: Białystok...
    @Yasu

    It does seem however that getting wifi to work on MOS is quite the hassle.

    I've bought Cisco card and waiting for delivery now. Then I will see myself how difficult it is.
  • »30.05.13 - 11:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > netgear 32-bit cardbus wg511 [...] doesn't work under mos

    Obviously true, as it doesn't have the supported Atheros chipset but either Marvell 8335 or Prism54 instead.

    http://wiki.ubuntuusers.de/WLAN/Karten/Netgear
  • »30.05.13 - 11:25
    Profile