MorphOS 3.0 RAM 1+ GB
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    pan1k
    Posts: 147 from 2009/1/20
    With this release of MorphOS, can I use 2GB of RAM or am I still stuck with the 1GB barrier on my Peg II?
    MacMini 1.5Ghz / Amiga 4000T Cyberstorm 060, 132MB RAM, Cybervision 64/3D, XSurf-III, MP3@64, Buddha Flash / Amiga 1200 GVP 030, Subway USB, 32MB RAM
  • »30.06.12 - 04:02
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    MorphOS only sees 1.5GB (but it now sees 256MB of my graphics card :insert dancing banana here: ),

    If you're talking about the Peg II, I always had trouble with more than a single 1GB stick of ram, but that may just have been my board.
  • »30.06.12 - 06:58
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    stephen_robinson
    Posts: 745 from 2007/4/22
    Thinking about it, as far as I know, there's nothing capable of running MorphOS that will see more than 2GB of ram...
  • »30.06.12 - 06:58
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11592 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > With this release of MorphOS, can I use 2GB of RAM or am I still stuck
    > with the 1GB barrier on my Peg II?

    You were already told in that thread that the 1 GiB barrier with most (including your) Pegasos II board revisions is a hardware/firmware limitation and has nothing whatsoever to do with MorphOS or any other OS running on the board.
    The 1.5 GiB barrier of MorphOS, which has nothing to do with the aforementioned 1 GiB barrier of the Pegasos II's hardware/firmware, is still there in MorphOS 3.0, regardless of the hardware it runs on.
  • »30.06.12 - 09:10
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MorphDelf
    Posts: 274 from 2004/2/20
    From: Oslo, Norway
    hey mr andreas_wolf

    Can you please calm down! Do you think that everyone follows the threads you follow? Just be nice to users here. Dont expect everyone to know as much as you. Thats bad customer service :) I know you try your best, but now I just had to tell you my opinion.
  • »30.06.12 - 13:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11592 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Can you please calm down!

    Can you please learn how to read?

    > Do you think that everyone follows the threads you follow?

    No, I don't, but I think that people do read *their own* threads and the replies they got in those threads to which they in turn responded again.

    > Just be nice to users here.

    I think my answer was comprehensive and helpful to the asker, quite contrary to your contribution.

    > Dont expect everyone to know as much as you.

    I don't, apart from the fact that I don't think I know much. What I know very well is that the issue at hand had already been explained to the thread opener some months ago, though. He forgot apparently, that's why I reminded him about it.

    > Thats bad customer service :)

    I'm quite confident that I have no customers here on MorphZone, and I don't charge money for anything here (if that's what you believe).

    > I just had to tell you my opinion.

    ...based on false premises, obviously.
  • »30.06.12 - 13:51
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    pan1k
    Posts: 147 from 2009/1/20
    Whoa. Sorry. Thought that it was a software thing. Read in the notes that it was removed. Guess I read it wrong. :-? Thanks for the replies.
    MacMini 1.5Ghz / Amiga 4000T Cyberstorm 060, 132MB RAM, Cybervision 64/3D, XSurf-III, MP3@64, Buddha Flash / Amiga 1200 GVP 030, Subway USB, 32MB RAM
  • »30.06.12 - 18:17
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Yeah with Peg2 it comes down to Firmware version and Board revision. There are ppl running 2gb on Peg2 and some ODWs were run that way. There were also custom OF version for Genesi/Freescale never released to public.

    I see Andreas the Bot is still at his old tricks! That robot needs a reprogram.
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »30.06.12 - 22:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11592 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I see Andreas the Bot is still at his old tricks!

    What "tricks" are you gibbering about?
  • »01.07.12 - 15:40
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Have you made your repogramming appointment yet? Failure to do so may end in your memory banks being deleted.
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »02.07.12 - 00:13
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    zhulien
    Posts: 118 from 2004/8/21
    I used to have a Gigabyte iRam on my Pegasos 2 without problems using all 4GB. If you want specifically the RAM to be seen as system RAM by MorphOS rather than Hard Disk RAM, then consider an iRam or similar and don't use the normal RAM drive of MorphOS.
  • »02.07.12 - 04:11
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Zulien

    What is iRam?
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »02.07.12 - 04:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11592 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >>> I see Andreas the Bot is still at his old tricks!

    >> What "tricks" are you gibbering about?

    > Have you made your repogramming appointment yet?

    Isn't dodging real questions and asking nonsense questions in return more like *your* trick rather than mine?

    > Failure to do so may end in your memory banks being deleted.

    I doubt there's anything true about that, like with almost everything you spout.
  • »02.07.12 - 08:15
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11592 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > What is iRam?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I-RAM
  • »02.07.12 - 08:21
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11592 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I used to have a Gigabyte iRam on my Pegasos 2 without problems using
    > all 4GB.

    That's because i-RAM is used as a hard drive and not as RAM, isn't it?

    > If you want specifically the RAM to be seen as system RAM by MorphOS
    > rather than Hard Disk RAM, then consider an iRam or similar and don't
    > use the normal RAM drive of MorphOS.

    Using i-RAM as system RAM rather than hard drive? How does that work specifically?
  • »02.07.12 - 08:28
    Profile