WTS: Radeon 9250 Mac
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Dreamcast270mhz
    Posts: 152 from 2009/12/9
    From: Virginia,USA
    Have this, converted by forum member Jim. I'm upgrading very soon, and considering the infrequency of my PowerMac usage, I won't be missing it. It works 100%, but may need a driver.

    $35 + Postage to CONUS (All others free to ask). I will ship after hurricane Irene runs through. Open to best offer.
    My Macs:
    Powerbook G4 ALU 1.5GHZ 15" 1.5GB OSX.5.8
    Powermac G4 MDD 1.5GHZ OSX.5.8 MOS2.7

    Want a part for a Mac? Let me know, I'll see what I can do.

    Amithlon is amazing, questions and help I can provide.
  • »25.08.11 - 01:47
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2737 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    What is the amount of VRAM on this card, 64mb (unlikely, but I don't know if the 9250 was ever made with 64mb of VRAM), 128mb, or 256mb?

    To my knowledge, MorphOS2.x can still only use up to 128mb of VRAM, but IIRC, there was some discussion about some programmer trying to take advantage of extra VRAM in some way, but I don't know if that idea was ever turned into a project and completed, or not.

    I have been so busy this Summer, I have not kept up to date on all the MorphOS news.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »25.08.11 - 07:47
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11055 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > To my knowledge, MorphOS2.x can still only use up to 128mb of VRAM

    According to pega-1, MorphOS can use 256 MiB VRAM as long as the gfx card maps it as a linear 256 MiB aperture instead of mapping it as two physically separated 128 MiB apertures:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7135&forum=11&start=48

    And in fact, apart from R300 based cards there are also Radeon 9250 cards with linear 256 MiB aperture mapping:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7135&forum=11&start=64

    On OS4, which has the same limitation as MorphOS in this regard (i.e. only supporting one aperture), such cards can be used with their full 256 MiB VRAM:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7135&forum=11&start=67

    So I think it should work with MorphOS as well, although I've never read of anyone who actually uses a Radeon 9250 with linear 256 MiB VRAM aperture with MorphOS. General problem is that you can't see how many apertures the card uses from just looking at the physical card so it's hard to know before actually testing the card.

    > there was some discussion about some programmer trying to take
    > advantage of extra VRAM in some way

    Yes, pega-1 said he might put efforts into mapping the full VRAM range for usage from within MorphOS at some point in the future (see my first link) so that MorphOS can see the full 256 MiB VRAM range on cards with two physically separated 128 MiB apertures.

    > I don't know if that idea was ever turned into a project and completed, or not.

    I'm not aware of any new information since what pega-1 said over a year ago on that matter.
  • »25.08.11 - 10:59
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Dreamcast270mhz
    Posts: 152 from 2009/12/9
    From: Virginia,USA
    My G4 recognized only 128MB of RAM. Analog, you have a PM :)
    My Macs:
    Powerbook G4 ALU 1.5GHZ 15" 1.5GB OSX.5.8
    Powermac G4 MDD 1.5GHZ OSX.5.8 MOS2.7

    Want a part for a Mac? Let me know, I'll see what I can do.

    Amithlon is amazing, questions and help I can provide.
  • »25.08.11 - 14:21
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Dreamcast270mhz
    Posts: 152 from 2009/12/9
    From: Virginia,USA
    Sold to Analogkid.
    My Macs:
    Powerbook G4 ALU 1.5GHZ 15" 1.5GB OSX.5.8
    Powermac G4 MDD 1.5GHZ OSX.5.8 MOS2.7

    Want a part for a Mac? Let me know, I'll see what I can do.

    Amithlon is amazing, questions and help I can provide.
  • »27.08.11 - 19:58
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11055 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Addendum:

    >> To my knowledge, MorphOS2.x can still only use up to 128mb of VRAM

    > According to pega-1, MorphOS can use 256 MiB VRAM as long as
    > the gfx card maps it as a linear 256 MiB aperture instead of
    > mapping it as two physically separated 128 MiB apertures:
    > https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7135&forum=11&start=48

    Seems like with Radeon 9600 and 9800 MorphOS 2.7 only uses 128 MiB VRAM even on cards with a linear 256 MiB aperture:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7339&forum=11&start=34
  • »29.08.11 - 21:03
    Profile