id Software to release Doom 3 source code
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 117 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    Here is some more progress being made...here's a video of the mod feature (Resurrection of Evil - expansion pack) i.e. dhewm3 3dxp.so implementation. Video by flexcat2:

    https://youtu.be/c0m6BSzFWyo
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »26.04.22 - 20:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 351 from 2003/4/11
    Just to let you guys know: With the release of MorphOS 3.17, at least one issue causing stuttering in Doom 3 has been fixed, so after updating you'll hopefully have a better experience playing the game.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »02.05.22 - 14:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 117 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    Yes indeed! I was stuck on a particular level and shortly after updating I made it past that area because of smoother gameplay! Keep up the great work!

    Here's a Video:

    https://youtu.be/GWUSFIh4Gkc

    [ Edited by IKE 02.05.2022 - 18:39 ]
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »02.05.22 - 15:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1161 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Here's a quick preview of how it currently looks on a Power Mac G5 QUAD with X1950GT:

    Oh, and sorry for the poor audio quality. Had some trouble recording it.

    https://youtu.be/EkTSuJEi4UM

    The game runs in 1920x1080 quite well although it's worse in the fight sequences.
    The VRAM seems full when game is running (the gauge is red) so I guess some slowdowns may come from swapping the data back and forth from VRAM to RAM.

    [ Edited by koszer 17.05.2022 - 07:54 ]
  • »17.05.22 - 06:30
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 52 from 2020/12/24
    @koszer

    Good observation about the VRAM.
    It is the old 4 release or a new recompile ?

    For your information: There's a problem with new SDL2 that has to be sorted out (old SDL2 library is OK). Don't know if the VRAM stuff is affected by that.

    On my low system is very obvious that something is wrong.

    Found out that OpenAL library (a really old is used) is not up to task in the audio department. Newer OpenAL needs a fix by means of SDL2 or inside the library: Doesn't work as it is now.

    Meanwhile I'm testing different builds of (new and working) OpenAL for this project.

    Game runs quite fast with audio disabled (s_noSound option): While being obvious it could be a testing situation for the gfx rendering.



    [ Edited by Cowcat 17.05.2022 - 10:38 ]
  • »17.05.22 - 08:49
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1161 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Cowcat wrote:
    @koszer

    Good observation about the VRAM.
    It is the old 4 release or a new recompile ?



    I got it from MorphOS Storage (called r4).
    There's a newer r4 than that?
  • »17.05.22 - 09:20
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 52 from 2020/12/24
    Quote:

    I got it from MorphOS Storage (called r4).
    There's a newer r4 than that?


    Nope. Working on that, but new problems to be addressed make me focus on other things.

    [ Edited by Cowcat 17.05.2022 - 10:05 ]
  • »17.05.22 - 10:05
    Profile
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 117 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Cowcat wrote:
    @koszer

    Good observation about the VRAM.
    It is the old 4 release or a new recompile ?



    I got it from MorphOS Storage (called r4).
    There's a newer r4 than that?


    You can try some new changes if you recompile the sources from GitHub.

    [ Edited by IKE 17.05.2022 - 07:26 ]
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »17.05.22 - 15:25
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 52 from 2020/12/24
    Uploaded a new release.

    No special config or icon launcher provided: For now game can be started from shell as it has a 4000000 stack in it.

    Added also a "rogue" doom3 binary version that has changes in audio and has a newer openal library in it.

    As always, no garanties and still a "Proof Of Concept".
  • »18.05.22 - 10:12
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 420 from 2013/5/29
    Gracias cowcat! Ill try that this evening!
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »18.05.22 - 13:05
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 52 from 2020/12/24
    Forgot to say that for testing d3xp you need to start it with:

    doom3 +set fs_game d3xp

    Mod doesn't show in the regular doom3 menu.

    Talking about d3xp, there's some problem with visual effects specially when using the "hearth" weapon to slow things down: Things look upside down and very slow.

    "Grabber" weapon has the effect of being up-side down too but no slowdown. Same happens with the regular "base" mod with doublevision effect. Could be an endian issue but I don't know for now.
  • »18.05.22 - 13:15
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1161 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Cowcat wrote:
    Uploaded a new release.

    Added also a "rogue" doom3 binary version that has changes in audio and has a newer openal library in it.



    Big thanks for your hard work!

    I did just a quick test and the "rogue" version does give me some graphic glitchches here and there (also, mouselook did not work). I'll try to upload a video with comparison of both versions later.
    I was trying to switch to Ambient (Left "Amiga" + M) too see how much VRAM is free, but the game refused to let me do that.

    But that was just a quick test. I'll do more later.

    [ Edited by koszer 18.05.2022 - 16:27 ]
  • »18.05.22 - 15:26
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 52 from 2020/12/24
    @koszer

    The "rogue" version is just for testing purposes. I'm not aware of particular changes in the graphic department as I was adding sound changes from dhewm3 and testing new openal libs (still buggy at least when closing).

    Other than that, either versions could act weird as is not fully stable and one moment could run ok and other day tells that it can't load any texture, enables debug options on screen or whatever. A curse is what it is :)
  • »18.05.22 - 15:45
    Profile
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 117 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    Great! I'll give it a try tonight. I've completed every level of the base game on MorphOS. I am currently stuck at the "bluish green death balls" part of RoE Level 3: Erebus Labs due to the graphics issues mentioned by CowCat. Keep up the good work!
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »18.05.22 - 16:53
    Profile Visit Website