ARM for the future?
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 84 from 2015/8/23
    obviously, we need unix base for software with out gui, and future version of qt will be easier to port to mos if mos will be unix based.
  • »10.01.17 - 15:37
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 826 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    obviously, we need unix base for software with out gui, and future version of qt will be easier to port to mos if mos will be unix based.




    Why do we need Qt?
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »10.01.17 - 15:49
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 84 from 2015/8/23
    Why not?
  • »10.01.17 - 15:55
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 826 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Why not?



    You made the claim, support it.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »10.01.17 - 16:33
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    minator
    Posts: 349 from 2003/3/28
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > the CPU cores are modded ARM cores (IIRC A73s).

    I've never read or heard from a reliable source that cores which are created on the base of an ISA license (like Qualcomm's Kryo is) are modified ARM Ltd. cores. This doesn't sound plausible to me, even when the ISA licensee is a core licensee at the same time (like Qualcomm is).


    Using an ARM core as a basis for a custom design isn't entirely unusual, but companies don't usually make this public.

    I believe Qualcomm usually do their own from scratch but they are being quite public about this one:
    http://semiaccurate.com/2017/01/03/qualcomm-opens-bit-10nm-snapdragon-835-soc/

    It's also mentioned in a Microprocessor report who are usually a rather more reliable source.
  • »10.01.17 - 19:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 8911 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I believe Qualcomm usually do their own from scratch but they are being quite
    > public about this one:
    > http://semiaccurate.com/2017/01/03/qualcomm-opens-bit-10nm-snapdragon-835-soc/
    > It's also mentioned in a Microprocessor report who are usually a rather more
    > reliable source.

    I wasn't aware of this, so thanks for the link.

    According to the Microprocessor Report authors, the original Kryo core as used in the Snapdragon 820 and 821 is a from-scratch design, whereas the new Kryo 280 core as used in the Snapdragon 835 has been derived from the Cortex-A73:

    http://www.linleygroup.com/newsletters/newsletter_detail.php?num=5647

    > Using an ARM core as a basis for a custom design isn't entirely unusual,
    > but companies don't usually make this public.

    From the above link:

    "Qualcomm cut a unique deal allowing it to modify and rebrand ARM CPUs."

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 19.01.2017 - 23:02 ]
  • »10.01.17 - 22:01
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 84 from 2015/8/23
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Why not?



    You made the claim, support it.


    Try to port some software and you get why.
  • »11.01.17 - 03:51
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 826 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Why not?



    You made the claim, support it.


    Try to port some software and you get why.





    Which Qt software would I want to port?
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »11.01.17 - 08:48
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 84 from 2015/8/23
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Why not?



    You made the claim, support it.


    Try to port some software and you get why.





    Which Qt software would I want to port?


    Try to port some software and you get why.
  • »11.01.17 - 23:45
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 826 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Why not?



    You made the claim, support it.


    Try to port some software and you get why.





    Which Qt software would I want to port?


    Try to port some software and you get why.


    No software to port, no point in trying.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »12.01.17 - 00:19
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    In_Correct
    Posts: 231 from 2012/10/14
    From: DFW, TX, USA
    Quote:

    minator wrote:
    While I'm here, there's a new board made their kickstarter:

    It's a new version of the Firefly:

    https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1771382379/firefly-rk3399-six-core-64-bit-high-performance-pl


    One problem with doing any sort of alternative boards is they tend to have weird embedded ports or older PC stuff.
    This one is way more modern than most: PCIe, SATA, USB 3.0, DDR3 etc.

    You'd almost think they were looking at doing a laptop with it.


    It needs a numeric keypad.
    :-) I Support Quark Microkernel. :-D
  • »12.01.17 - 03:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 84 from 2015/8/23
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    No software to port, no point in trying.



    Try to port anything with more than 2000 lines of code, and you get where is problem.
  • »16.01.17 - 03:43
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 826 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    ppcamiga1 wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    No software to port, no point in trying.



    Try to port anything with more than 2000 lines of code, and you get where is problem.



    You really need to try harder. Take Shaun the bus arch troll or Mipsproc as examples, they perfected the art.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »16.01.17 - 12:34
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    minator
    Posts: 349 from 2003/3/28
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:

    In what can be called a stealth operation, Cavium acquired Vulcan from Broadcom last year and confusingly renamed it ThunderX 2 CN99xx (ThunderX2T99):


    I couldn't possibly comment...


    However in the land of ARM SBCs I've just seen this:

    http://www.lemaker.org/product-hikeysecond-specification.html

    The SBCs tend to be a bit behind in what chips they use but this has the current top end ARM parts:
    Quad A73 @ 2.4GHz, Mali G71 MP8 and 3GB LPDDR4.
  • »26.04.17 - 20:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 3859 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    >Seems they can't get PCIe to work on this board:

    "If you need the PCIE, we should refund for you or you can choose to select the latest HiKey960. If you choose HiKey 960(the price is 239USD plus shipping fee), we will refund the balance for you."

    Weird, since the HiKey 960 only has a compact PCIe M.2 slot.

    SO, thus far, there don't seem to be any ARM boards with full sized PCIe expansion slots.
    I guess X64 WAS the right choice.


    [ Edited by Jim 29.04.2017 - 13:22 ]
    "Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll'd / Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc."

    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »29.04.17 - 18:20
    Profile