USB Floppy drive
  • rNx
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    rNx
    Posts: 35 from 2010/10/26
    From: Finland
    Anyone used one in a PowerMac? I have Iomega usb floppy drive and It's regogniced as a X1DE-USB in prefs, whenever I insert a disk, I get "Warning massstorage.class Simple SCSI: START_STOP_UNIT command" and "massstorage.class Trying to mount unit 0 via Morphos mount.library" but nothing after that. Is there a way to get this thing working?
  • »17.11.10 - 18:34
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 133 from 2007/3/11
    I have the same iomega floppy drive.
    I use it on a Pegasos2 (with a NEC USB 2.0 Card); it is actually recognized as a X1DE-USB.

    It works fine with already formated discs (and I have the same warning as yours). But with unformated discs I have to mount them manually before I can format them.


    [ Edited by Jeckel on 2010/11/17 20:21 ]
  • »17.11.10 - 19:17
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/29
    From: USA
    Works fine.
    I use a standard usb floppy drive for a laptop.
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »18.11.10 - 01:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    hi jeckel read only right? What about amiga 880k? its 1.44 only?
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »18.11.10 - 04:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    spirantho
    Posts: 23 from 2003/4/25
    I would be very surprised if it supported Amiga formats....

    You need a Catweasel for that. :)
    Ian Gledhill
    ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (but it's a nEt, not a nIt)
  • »18.11.10 - 07:45
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 133 from 2007/3/11
    It works for MS-DOS 1.44M and 720K floppy disks (in read, write and format)... but it is slower than a real internal drive.

    No other format (such as Amiga 1.76M or 880K) will work. You actually need a Catweasel to handle them (but it doesn't work reliable -yet?- on MorphOS).
  • »18.11.10 - 08:04
    Profile
  • rNx
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    rNx
    Posts: 35 from 2010/10/26
    From: Finland
    Ok, I tested more disks, and apparently some of them do work (all preformated dos disks). Unfortunately not all. They work on Windows though. I also noted, "Free" and "Total" are calculated wrong, first I didn't even know it wast the floppy, since it said it was 975MB :)
  • »18.11.10 - 09:52
    Profile