Running Lightwave 5.0 on MorphOS 2.5
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    clusteruk
    Posts: 47 from 2010/6/24
    I am trying to get Lightwave v5 running on MorphOS but have a number of problems, I have heard that v5.1 works ok but I do not have that one. So questions are.

    1. Whilst the main Lightwave app runs the Make Preview crashes, and normal file requesters do not work properly and cannot see file text box, plus they have yellow background.

    2. When I render frame I cannot escape from the black info screen and Amiga M does not take me to morphos screen.

    3. Modeler failes with error "Startup Failure 403: Requested display mode not found."

    As usual any help will be greatfully received.

    I will be doing one of my videos with my MorphOS experiences after I have Lightwave running.
  • »12.07.10 - 09:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    I've never used, but if I remember correctly, a screen promoter (like modepro) was needed for some parts (like the preview or renderer, maybe).
  • »12.07.10 - 12:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    clusteruk
    Posts: 47 from 2010/6/24
    Yes, mode promote is what I use on Aros through Janus and it works a treat. I will try that on MorphOS, be interesting if it works.

    However, if anybody has got 5.1 is there a fix for "make preview".
  • »12.07.10 - 13:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    clusteruk
    Posts: 47 from 2010/6/24
    Well tried NewMode which I have always used and it runs when I select Lightwave and will promote it, although get buttons disappearing, but Modeler fails with the error mentioned earlier.

    Perhaps if somebody out there has Lightwave 5.1 they could tell me if it works ok and is worth trying to upgrade or not.

    Real shame because GUI of Lightwave on MOS is fastest I have ever seen it and I am more of a Lightwave fan than Blender, as good as Blender is.
  • »12.07.10 - 13:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    clusteruk
    Posts: 47 from 2010/6/24
    I am real close, Lightwave is fine as standard as long as you disable the amiga render modes and just output rgb image. The only problem now is the modeler not able to open display. Mode Promoting does not work.

    So near yet so far :-)
  • »12.07.10 - 14:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Best of luck Steve, I'd be interested in a how-to guide if you do get it working.

    All the best



    Rich
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »12.07.10 - 14:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11572 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Maybe interesting, maybe not:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=1499&forum=9
  • »12.07.10 - 15:44
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Condor
    Posts: 94 from 2005/9/1
    From: Zagreb/Croatia
    In dir toaster:programs/utilites start changemode. After that program will ask for MOD-config, so you must point to programs/lightwave_support where is that file. After that you can choose one of default MOS resolutions for MODELER. In Lw always render in file, without preview screen.
  • »12.07.10 - 16:14
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Condor
    Posts: 94 from 2005/9/1
    From: Zagreb/Croatia
    In dir toaster:programs/utilites start changemode. After that program will ask for MOD-config, so you must point to programs/lightwave_support where is that file. After that you can choose one of default MOS resolutions for MODELER. In Lw always render in file, without preview screen.
  • »12.07.10 - 16:16
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    clusteruk
    Posts: 47 from 2010/6/24
    @Andreas_Wolf

    Thanks tried there but no joy still fails.
  • »12.07.10 - 16:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11572 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Thanks tried there but no joy still fails.

    It seems we need something like this:

    http://www.os4depot.net/?function=showfile&file=graphics/raytrace/lightwave_rtg_patch.lha
  • »12.07.10 - 17:10
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    pampers
    Posts: 1061 from 2009/2/26
    From: Tczew, Poland
    As far as i remember there was some patch for lightwave for promoting screen for cgx modes:

    http://aminet.net/gfx/3d/lightwave_rtg_patch.lha

    meaby that will do?
    MorphOS 3.x
  • »12.07.10 - 18:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11572 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > As far as i remember there was some patch for lightwave for promoting
    > screen for cgx modes:
    > http://aminet.net/gfx/3d/lightwave_rtg_patch.lha
    > meaby that will do?

    Huh? That's the one I linked to. And it's for OS4 (P96).
  • »12.07.10 - 18:41
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2645 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    MorphOS has screenmode promotion built in, so it should just work. Sadly, I do not have Lightwave, so I cannot check what is going on myself. Posting crash logs could help get us some clue at least about the crashes you mentioned.
  • »12.07.10 - 19:25
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    pampers
    Posts: 1061 from 2009/2/26
    From: Tczew, Poland
    Andreas: damn, sorry mate I haven't seen your post. Horrible day at work 2day :/
    MorphOS 3.x
  • »12.07.10 - 19:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Piru
    Posts: 524 from 2003/2/24
    From: finland, the l...
    Quote:

    1. Whilst the main Lightwave app runs the Make Preview crashes

    LightWave is doing some rather dirty tricks (reading and writing the screen->BitMap directly). From Options/Layout Interface, choose 4 color mode. This should workaround the crash in preview. It doesn't change the fact that the generated preview will be empty, however.
  • »15.07.10 - 16:33
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Hmmm I had LW 5.x running on 1.4.5 havent tried it on morphos2 yet... I did have some sort of "patch" for cgx if I recall i'll investigate when I get my peg2 back on the kvm
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »16.07.10 - 02:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    MikeBrantley
    Posts: 4 from 2010/8/8
    I now run a three-OS shop here when it comes to next-generation Amiga or Amiga-like systems, with MorphOS on an eMac, AmigaOS 4.1u2 on a Sam440 and now AROS on an iMica Silent (thanks for the cool machine, Steve!).

    For the past several days I've been working on getting classic LW 5.0a running on all three. At the moment, it's the MorphOS machine I'm inclined to actually use for LW work, despite generally preferring AOS for, well, being most Amiga like. (What can I say? I love a good screen drag.)

    But the LW interface is just so very fast on MOS 2.5 and my 1.25ghz eMac, and I've now got all the problems solved to my satisfaction on this combination. (On AOS, I thought I was there, but have found executing AREXX scripts from within Modeler will cause a crash. These scripts for doing such things as centering selections work fine on MOS.)

    As Piru mentions, the only way to get around the make-preview bug is to drop the interface down to four colors. The resulting preview is still empty for want of the Amiga custom chips, but the rendering of the preview is so fast that it in itself functions as a real-time preview. You just don't get to loop it.

    The grayscale view of the rendering progress doesn't show for me, but who cares? The actual renders are very fast considering this is 68K code on non-current PowerPC hardware. Much faster than anything I was doing on my two 68060 classics.

    As Condor says, the key to getting Modeler to work on its own in the proper screenmode is the changemode program in toaster:programs/utilites. I'm running it at 1024x768, which looks good on the eMac CRT monitor. I'm using ModePro, another old 68K friend, to promote the Layout screen to 1024x768.

    So, at the moment, my MOS Macintosh is on LightWave duty. Only down side is it will now take me forever to learn Blender because of being distracted with classic LightWave.

    I wonder if I can get VistaPro working on it??? That one is doing very well on my AOS setup.
  • »08.08.10 - 02:51
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Mike Brantley

    So Vista works on OS4 Thats good news... I'd like to try it on morphos as I used to use that program alot. my problem now would be how to get the program installed on my peg since I cant read floppies....

    Is it fully functional on OS4? Eventually I'll run it on the peg..
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »08.08.10 - 06:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Guys I just completed my move and set up my peg2.. I checked my LW with Morphos 2.4.

    I'm running Lightwave 5.1 (.1 is important maybe??) which I got from NewTek at an Amiga con.. I also have the Cybergfx "patch" I can run the modeler screen in 1024x768 in 8 colors on morphos....
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »09.08.10 - 00:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    MikeBrantley
    Posts: 4 from 2010/8/8
    magnetic,

    My latest LW is 5.0a, which as I say is working just dandy under MOS 2.5, except for the empty wireframe previews that is also the case under AOS4.1 on my Sam and when promoting LW with RTG on my classic Amigas. But I wonder now what improvements 5.1 brought to the table??? You think that was the final Amiga version?

    Regarding VistaPro: I haven't made any move yet toward trying to make it work under MOS. But here's how I got it going under AmigaOS 4.1u2 on my Sam and with AOS 3.9 on my 4000 with an RTG card...

    The program is hardcoded to look for the a screen called WORKBENCH, and if it's not in a standard Amiga mode the program will not work. Don't ask me why, but because of this VistaPro would crash on my 4000 with Workbench promoted to an RTG mode. Same problem with AOS4.1u2 on my Sam440 system.

    The answer is to use a hex editor and look for WORKBENCH in the VistaPro executable code and change it to FAKEBENCH. Then use a mode promotion program, such as ModePro, to create a screen called FAKEBENCH and on my 4000 I make it a standard Amiga mode, such as NTSC 640x200 or 640x400. That is enough for VistaPro to be happy and run.

    Using ModePro on my Sam and the latest AOS, I set FAKEBENCH to the mode "P96-0:FAKENATIVE: 640 x 480" and select "Force Planar."

    Then VistaPro works quite nicely, and I set it to render very large images and save them as iff24 files. I use the MakePath utility to generate animation sequences.

    I'm still new to MorphOS, so I don't know exactly what needs adapting in the above instructions to work here or if there's a stumbling block. I would love to get VistaPro working on my MOS/eMac because the program's low-resolution screen will look sharper on my eMac's CRT monitor that it does on the LCD monitor I use with my Sam. Just the nature of running a non-native resolution on an LCD. Also, the eMac will no doubt render faster than my current Sam.

    Let me know if you give it a go and have any success. PM me if you need help getting your VP files from floppy to Pegasos.

    And don't give me any credit for figuring anything out. I read it all in a long, long thread on AmigaWorld.net. User number6 and some others did a lot of figuring out before me.


    [ Edited by MikeBrantley on 2010/8/8 21:19 ]

    [ Edited by MikeBrantley on 2010/8/8 21:20 ]
  • »09.08.10 - 02:17
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    number6
    Posts: 456 from 2008/8/10
    @MBrantley

    Do I have to follow you around the web now? heh.

    (1)The patch is no longer required, as you well know. The fact that is still listed on OS4depot is unfortunately misleading.

    (2)Greyscale rendering? Not here. Ham8 on screen.

    (3)VistaPro - You confused me on another site. I thought you had 24bit preview on screen, so I said nothing. You should have Ham8 preview in huge size, if you wish to.

    I see you accepted mixing "screens" (OS4PPC) with "modepro" (68k). As long as you accept the usage of modepro, there are far easier ways to achieve your goals. I reached the point after promoting this program with 3 different methods, that modepro alone offered the flexibility to perform certain tricks.

    To all unfamiliar with the threads in question that MBrantley refers to, I would be happy to supply links. I had posted, amongst other things the idea of having at least one member OS4/MorphOS/AROS form irc channel to co-operate on getting some old favorites running, when so possible.

    #6
  • »10.08.10 - 18:01
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    MikeBrantley
    Posts: 4 from 2010/8/8
    Quote:


    number6 wrote:
    Do I have to follow you around the web now? heh.


    He's after me! I can't get away! (grin) I couldn't make up my mind which next-gen Amiga-like platform to pick, so I got all three -- so silly me is trying to get the same suite of old programs running on three different operating systems. Don't ask me why... I'd probably be better trying to learn more about Blender or PhotoShop or something. LOL!

    Quote:


    (2)Greyscale rendering? Not here. Ham8 on screen.


    Are we talking LW or VP here? On My MorphOS setup, the LW "render in progress" screen, which has always appeared in grayscale for me on various Amigas, isn't showing any graphics at all -- just two lines of text reporting progress on a black background. That's fine for me.

    Quote:

    (3)VistaPro - You confused me on another site. I thought you had 24bit preview on screen, so I said nothing. You should have Ham8 preview in huge size, if you wish to.


    Sounds like I've got more to work on the get things set up as well as you have. Need to get with you when I get WookieChat set up properly. I mentioned the modes for "FAKEBENCH" I used on AOS (3.9 and 4.1), but I don't see any modes like that available on my MorphOS. They're all larger resolution, so not sure if the same trick will work. Would love it if it would, but I'm still learning the ins and outs of MorphOS. AOS seems very familiar, but MorphOS has a few improvements and changes that have me feeling slightly out of phase at times. Just a matter of me getting used to the environment.

    Quote:

    I see you accepted mixing "screens" (OS4PPC) with "modepro" (68k). As long as you accept the usage of modepro, there are far easier ways to achieve your goals. I reached the point after promoting this program with 3 different methods, that modepro alone offered the flexibility to perform certain tricks.


    Yeah, that long, long thread we've referenced can be confusing because of the various methods listed and the fact the some methods went awry for some people but worked perfecly for others. The ModePro method worked for me for VistaPro, and the Screens route worked for me for LW on AOS4.1. Will be interesting to see what might work for VP on MOS. As it is, classic LW is a pleasure on MOS with my eMac. I can't get over how snappy it is to move models around, etc. in both Layout and Modeler.

    Quote:

    To all unfamiliar with the threads in question that MBrantley refers to, I would be happy to supply links. I had posted, amongst other things the idea of having at least one member OS4/MorphOS/AROS form irc channel to co-operate on getting some old favorites running, when so possible.


    Wish we could have an old-fashioned user group meeting!
  • »11.08.10 - 00:16
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    number6
    Posts: 456 from 2008/8/10
    @MBrantley

    Quote:

    (2)Greyscale rendering? Not here. Ham8 on screen.

    Are we talking LW or VP here?


    Both

    Quote:

    Yeah, that long, long thread we've referenced can be confusing because of the various methods listed and the fact the some methods went awry for some people but worked perfecly for others.


    The people with clean systems got it working without a hitch, afaik.
    Also could be some failure to understand the step-by-step, which would be my fault.

    As to your comments about MorphOS, well...hence the suggestion to get together and compare notes. And let's not forget the numerous versions of programs that might also have been a reason for lack of success for some folks. Yet another reason to get real specific before issuing any instructions.

    Quote:

    Wish we could have an old-fashioned user group meeting!


    You don't know how many times I've heard that...

    #6
  • »11.08.10 - 01:35
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2792 from 2006/3/21
    From: Northern Calif...
    Quote:


    number6 wrote:
    @MBrantley

    ...

    To all unfamiliar with the threads in question that MBrantley refers to, I would be happy to supply links. I had posted, amongst other things the idea of having at least one member OS4/MorphOS/AROS form irc channel to co-operate on getting some old favorites running, when so possible.

    #6



    Yes, please provide those links and if you have, or will write a step-by-step procedure for getting LightWave and Vista Pro working on MorphOS2.x, I would love to publish them here in the MorphZone Library.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »11.08.10 - 04:56
    Profile