Is it possible to close the Ambient screen?
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    I'm looking for a way to close the Ambient screen or quit from it completely, (permanently or not) right before or after the execution of a big program, to free some memory. Is this possible?
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »09.11.09 - 08:21
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    tokai
    Posts: 1289 from 2003/2/25
    From: binaryriot
    Should be. Depends on how many applications are Lock'ing the screen though.

    To quit Ambient itself:
    SetENV AMBIENTQUITHACK 1 SAVE
    (might work first after a reboot; not sure right now)

    Then you just go to Ambient's "Ambient" menu and choose "Quit" (will not pop up a requester anymore; so be careful. :-) )

    If you need to do it from a script/ shell: "Break PORT AMBIENT" should do the trick. Maybe also requires a "WaitForPort AMBIENT LOOP 10 DISAPPEAR" if you immediately want to launch your application afterwards.
  • »09.11.09 - 09:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    There is not "quit" option in the Ambient menu. There is "shut down" which still pops a requester after i set the enviroment variable and rebooted.
    The options that the requester gives are "shutdown" which does nothing, "reboot" which freezes my Amiga and cancel.

    "Break PORT AMBIENT" also brings this requester.
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »09.11.09 - 12:07
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Henes
    Posts: 498 from 2003/6/14
    Try http://aminet.net/package/util/cli/CloseWorkBench
  • »09.11.09 - 12:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    CloseWorkbench works. Thanks.
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »09.11.09 - 15:36
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Motosampy
    Posts: 199 from 2004/8/14
    From: Järvenp&a...
    Setting this env variable does not bring any Quit option on Ambient 1.43 (10/10/2009)
  • »09.11.09 - 18:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    @Tokai
    Quote:

    Next time mention which Ambient do you use.

    Ambient 1.43 (Thursday 31 January 2008)
    I can't download a newer version from morphosambient.sourceforge.net because all nighty build links aren't working anymore. They lead to the "Czech PowerPC User Group" site instead of a tgz file.

    Quote:

    Sounds like you're using some old Ambient from PowerUP 1.4 release.

    Yes. That's why i opened the thread in the PowerUP forum.
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »10.11.09 - 02:31
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    tokai
    Posts: 1289 from 2003/2/25
    From: binaryriot
    Ah right, didn't noticed that. Aww. Well, morphzone usability strikes back. ;-)


    BTW. nightly builds were just straight compiles from CVS. So if you have a SDK installed you should be able to build an Ambient yourself rather easily. Basically you just enter "make". Two issues could arrive: first you need a properly build png2c (ixemul version) and second if you don't have a compiler with AltiVec support you might need to disable Ambient's AltiVec support in the makefiles and the config.h's (for Ambient and it's sub-libraries). But that's easy, too.

    Don't think anyone else will bother making new MorphOS 1.4 compatible builds (at least I don't ;-) ). So better do it yourself. It's really not that hard, just might sound scary! :-)
  • »10.11.09 - 05:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    tokai
    Posts: 1289 from 2003/2/25
    From: binaryriot
    @Motosampy:

    Right, it seems that this feature needs to be explicitly compiled in. I remembered wrongly that we had it enabled by default at some point.

    See line 98 and following:
    http://morphosambient.cvs.sourceforge.net/viewvc/morphosambient/ambient/main.c?view=markup
  • »10.11.09 - 05:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10535 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I can't download a newer version from morphosambient.sourceforge.net
    > because all nighty build links aren't working anymore.

    You can get a version from March 2009 from geit's home server:

    ftp://ambient:ambient@geitathome.dyndns.org/betas/Ambient/MorphOS_1.4.5_only/
  • »10.11.09 - 11:22
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    Cool. Thank you all.
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »10.11.09 - 13:23
    Profile