Efika problem
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    Hi everybody, as you can see this is my first post, I'm a newbie in this community as to the morph os world.
    Unfortunately I didn't have any chance to try this beauty os yet as my Efika won't power on.
    I purchesed a brand new efika few mounths ago (19 february) from pegasos-suisse, and I wait a little to take all the right components and of course cause I was out of money.
    I assembly the motherboard (taking all the electristatic precautions...) with an Ati Radeon 9250, 2.5 hd 5400 RPM (brand new from Samsung),
    a picoPSU 120 (from Vesalia.de) alimented by a 12V power supply, and of course Power-Reset Switch and leds taken from an old case.
    I have no idea why the it won't work.
    Naturally I contacted Pegasos-suisse and the Genesis via mail, as the Efika come with one year warranty, but still waiting for answer.
    I can't believe professional shops like that would ignore a request from a customer....
    ...I really hope not.

    To the Admins: I really apologize as I write and send this message to the wrong section (the news section....).
  • »30.05.09 - 15:07
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Krashan
    Posts: 1107 from 2003/6/11
    From: Białystok...
    I think executing the warranty is the best option. Better than random experiments anyway. If you have multimeter you can verify that 12 V PSU delivers power and PicoPSU is working too. Alternatively check Efika with some ATX PSU.
  • »30.05.09 - 20:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    I think executing the warranty is the best option. Better than random experiments anyway.

    ########################################

    That's what I think as well, but I feel a little worried as I'm still waiting for reply from Genesis or Pegasos-suisse.
    Is this regular?
    Is there some of you out there that have tried to request the warranty with success?

    Thank you
  • »30.05.09 - 20:25
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2009/5/6
    For what it is worth, I have had some issues with my Efika as well, and after a lot of good info from a lot of folks on this board it is running fairly well now. As for your issue with it not powering up, Krashan had mentioned to me in a different thread that the PCI/AGP slot that the video card is plugged into can be very finicky. Make CERTAIN that the card is fully inserted and correctly inserted and that it is mounted secure. (Just letting it hang in the slot may cause it to lose connectivity and your Efika will appear to not power on... )

    (You can review the good info I have received by checking out the thread called GREETINGS from a Morph newbie...)

    Good luck!
    "Pride is a poor substitute for intelligence." Quote from Rambo...
  • »30.05.09 - 22:08
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ausPPC
    Posts: 543 from 2007/8/6
    From: Pending...
    Just in case you don't already know, the Efika takes about 8 to 10 seconds after power is applied to put out a video signal. However, the small LEDs next to the ethernet port should light up briefly as soon as you apply power and, assuming there's one installed, you may hear the internal hard drive spin up.

    Not too long ago, I sent an Efika overseas in a fairly tight fitting case but, along the way, the graphics card still managed to get loose from it's slot. This prevented the system from putting out a video signal until the new owner opened the case and pushed the card back in.

    I don't know how long ago you contacted your supplier and Genesi but bear in mind that it's the weekend and that international time zones may also stretch that out.
    PPC assembly ain't so bad... ;)
  • »30.05.09 - 23:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    CountRaven
    Posts: 557 from 2007/12/11
    From: Greece
    Quote:

    Not too long ago, I sent an Efika overseas in a fairly tight fitting case but, along the way, the graphics card still managed to get loose from it's slot. This prevented the system from putting out a video signal until the new owner opened the case and pushed the card back in.


    This was my Efika.

    I was just ready to propose what the other folks already pointed: check all the connections, check if the graphics card fits well in the slot, try to hear if the hard disk spins up.
  • »31.05.09 - 00:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    Thank you guys, many people have answered me so far and I really appreciate it.
    The only sign of life come from the led near the ethernet port (the orange one).
    No sign of life come from the Hard disk, so I tried with the one that I'm currentely using for my laptop, and even the ethernet led doesn't light on.
    Then I tried with an exernal usb HD, it spin up and the ethernet led light on, but still won't power up.
    It's really a pain in the ass.
  • »31.05.09 - 11:22
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    Thank you guys, many people have answered me so far and I really appreciate it.
    The only sign of life come from the led near the ethernet port (the orange one).
    No sign of life come from the Hard disk, so I tried with the one that I'm currentely using for my laptop, and even the ethernet led doesn't light on.
    Then I tried with an exernal usb HD, it spin up and the ethernet led light on, but still won't power up.
    It's really a pain in the ass.
  • »31.05.09 - 11:23
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    CountRaven
    Posts: 557 from 2007/12/11
    From: Greece
    The external usb hard disk spins up and the orange ethernet led powers up so the Efika lives. Does this USB external HD takes Power from the USB or from its own PSU? If it powers up form the USB then it is another sign that your Efika works cause it gives power via the USB to the hard disk.
  • »31.05.09 - 12:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    @CountRaven

    The external usb take power from the USB, it doesn't have its onw PSU, so of course that's a clear sign that the motherboard is somehow alive, but still I can't recognize what the problem is, and also I don't understand why the 2.5 HD won't spin up.
  • »31.05.09 - 13:51
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    I have to say that at Pegasos-suisse are very professional.
    I received a RE: mail from one employee today (wow, it's sunday....), which tell me that they will check my request tuesday (right now they are in spring holidays).
    They will possibily send a new card if test would go wrong.
    Well I just feel a little impatient to try my machine and this OS.
  • »31.05.09 - 17:56
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Zylesea
    Posts: 1900 from 2003/6/4
    @siverf0x0

    You definitely should hook up a serial and monitor the efika debug output.
    You need a null modem serial cable and another maschine with rs 232 interface and a terminal software. Hook it up, tell the terminal to listen to the rs 232 and watch what Efika tells you after power up.
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »31.05.09 - 22:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    @Zylesea

    That's a good idea, I'll try to do that once I get some time.
  • »01.06.09 - 10:28
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    CLS2086
    Posts: 168 from 2005/8/25
    From: West of PARIS
    Hi,
    replace the $2 battery coin (CR2032 ?), and enjoy...
    but if you are unlucky, it could be an incompatible Radeon (AGP 3.0/8x mode only !).

    [ Edited by CLS2086 on 2009/6/4 13:04 ]
    Keep the Faith !
    VG 5000/A1000/500/500+/600/2000/1200PPC-GREX/1200PPC-ATEO/1200+1230-IVFPUSCSI/CD32/Pegasos 1 April1 G3/Pegasos 2 G4/ Ahtlon/K6-3/various funny machines too :-)
    Maybe one day a G4 AmigaONE when they will be debugged and without April...
  • »04.06.09 - 12:03
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    I know about graphic card problems, but I would not imaged that the battery could prevents the system from power on.
    Anyway I'll never know that, as I did send my Efika back to the store in change for a new one.
    My ati shouldn't be a problem, but just to be sure I will purchase a 128mb PCI, as I'm preatty sick to spend days looking info for 3.3 V 1x agp ati radeon 9250; neither ebay or google has been much of help and major hardware houses don't give full details.
    A full list of manifactures which had produced such card could be of help, but I can understand that no one could pretend it at this time.
  • »10.06.09 - 12:03
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10542 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I'm preatty sick to spend days looking info for
    > 3.3 V 1x agp ati radeon 9250

    If you really looked for "1x agp" it's no wonder your search failed.
  • »10.06.09 - 16:17
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    silverf0x0
    Posts: 21 from 2009/5/30
    > If you really looked for "1x agp" it's no wonder your search failed.

    Of course...
  • »10.06.09 - 17:21
    Profile