NetSurf
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    I have uploaded the first development preview of NetSurf to Aminet. It has issues and features but at least works with some sites :-)
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »12.01.09 - 22:52
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Zylesea
    Posts: 2053 from 2003/6/4
    Great thing! Would it be possible to cannibalize code from some other light weight OS browser to add rudimentary JS? AWeb for exmaple (surely not the best JS out there, but quite lightweight and better than none)?
    --
    http://via.bckrs.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »12.01.09 - 23:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    No :-) I wont do anything with the engine :-) AWeb JS could be perhaps used but NetSurf internals must stay platform neutral which means ripping out tons of Amiga specific code from AWeb. Greater problem with NetSurf engine is that it is completely single threaded (since RISC OS does not have pre-emptive multitasking) making it very slow with many sites. But there are so many issues that I could spend my whole life working on it so I am just concentrating on its GUI frontend only.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »12.01.09 - 23:49
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Sir_Lucas
    Posts: 112 from 2006/4/23
    From: Poland
    Nice one. Great job :-D Thx a lot.
  • »13.01.09 - 00:22
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    skipp604
    Posts: 56 from 2003/8/21
    From: United Kingdom...
    Would you say that Sputnik in its current state (will all the annoying bugs) is still more advanced than NetSurf or not?

    [ Edited by skipp604 on 2009/1/13 0:26 ]
    bplan Efika 5200B, ATi Radeon 9250 / 256 MB, MorphOS 2.4
  • »13.01.09 - 01:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 423 from 2005/4/9
    From: magyarorszag/h...
    i dont have visible fonts in netsurf.
    what should i do to fix this?
    anyway, very nice, thanks for the effort!
    DEAD pegII/G4@1000.1gb ram.radeon 9200pro
    240 gigz hd.nec dvdrw.MorphOS 2.4 DEAD
    -=-=-=-
    amiga1200T.blizzardppc@180/040@25.96megz ram
    -=-=-=-=-
    zx.spectrum@3.5
  • »13.01.09 - 01:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    Download ttengine.database, copy it to ENVARC: and reboot.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »13.01.09 - 08:06
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    Quote:


    Would you say that Sputnik in its current state (will all the annoying bugs) is still more advanced than NetSurf or not?



    I would say it is. Sputnik uses WebKit which is far more advanced than NetSurf engine and Sputnik uses native MUI gadgets while NetSurf is using custom drawn gadgets in its browser display. Sputnik supports JavaScript, NetSurf doesnt.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »13.01.09 - 08:09
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    skipp604
    Posts: 56 from 2003/8/21
    From: United Kingdom...
    Thx itix.
    bplan Efika 5200B, ATi Radeon 9250 / 256 MB, MorphOS 2.4
  • »13.01.09 - 11:52
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MorphDelf
    Posts: 274 from 2004/2/20
    From: Oslo, Norway
    Very nice itix. I have installed ttengine.database into ENVARC: but there is also ttengine2.database file in my ENVARC: aswell.

    After the reboot I get fonts on the navigation buttons and in URL string. But webpages doesn't show text.

    I use Bitstream Vera Sans/14 as the main font. Is this a unicode font or not?

    Other than this. Really nice to see such effort.


    Thanks itix!
  • »13.01.09 - 12:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    CountRaven
    Posts: 566 from 2007/12/11
    From: Greece
    Great news. Thanks. Will check it soon!
  • »13.01.09 - 13:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    SixK
    Posts: 72 from 2004/11/16
    Since when do we need to reboot to get changes on an amiga !!!???

    Simply copy the file in envarc: and env: (eventually flush memory) then restart netsurf ....

    SixK

    [ Edited by SixK on 2009/1/13 17:07 ]
  • »13.01.09 - 14:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Frostwork
    Posts: 302 from 2003/4/18
    if someone has troubles with fonts, although ttengine.database is in env: and envarc:
    here's a paste from #morphos irc of golem's solve:

    "<Golem>run the download script in the sputnik folder should get you the needed fonts"
  • »13.01.09 - 18:57
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    mobydick
    Posts: 179 from 2004/2/26
    From: Mordor, capita...
    It works, but fonts are toooo smalllll :(
    Pegasos II/G4@1GHz, 1 GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9
    Efika MX Smartbook, Ubuntu 12.04
    peguser.narod.ru
  • »13.01.09 - 19:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jcmarcos
    Posts: 1178 from 2003/3/13
    From: Pinto, Madrid ...
    AROS_OWB10_thumb.pngForget NetSurf and, worst of all, perhaps even Sputnik (!): I've just stumbled upon Stanisław Michał Szymczyk's port of Origyn Web Browser to AROS, and I'm starting to think it has already overtaken every other web browser for Amiga-like operating systems...
    He's chasing a Power2People bounty, and I believe he's going to get it easily. Please check his project documentation, it's also an excellent read about programming nowadays. Of course, it also contains the mandatory screenshost for immediate drool.
    I understand that AROS' MUI implementation (called Zune) is weaker than MorphOS' native MUI 4. So Stanisław's work can only be better in our system?
    One last question: Why are there so many computer geniuses in Poland?

    [ Edited by jcmarcos on 2009/1/16 11:44 ]
  • »16.01.09 - 10:41
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    if it goes on like this, OWB will probably end as the main browser for all Amiga-ish platforms. It already showed on OS4 what is possible, I will not take long anymore before AROS follows ... With Sputnik MorphOS was one step ahead ... but it seems MorphOS is getting back behind.
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »16.01.09 - 11:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jcmarcos
    Posts: 1178 from 2003/3/13
    From: Pinto, Madrid ...
    Quote:

    luky-amiga wrote:

    what about Fab's OWB?


    Impressive, of course. Fab has recently said here that he is busy on something "big". Perhaps it's this?
    What I feel now is pity for all the hard work Marcik has done in Sputnik. Does anybody know why Origyn progresses much faster than Sputnik? I guess that's because Sputnik is much more a native MorphOS browser than Origyn (although they both share their main engine). Then, I suppose being native has to yield some significative advantage, which I ignore.
    Origyn can render over SDL, which eases a lot the porting effort. Does that mean that it's rendering to some "alien" thing, and so the operating system ignores its contents? For eample, Is it possible to copy text from a web page displayed by Origyn?
  • »16.01.09 - 11:50
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12073 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Does anybody know why Origyn progresses much faster than Sputnik?

    I think it's because Sputnik is a closed source one man show, whereas Stanislaw Szymczyk could build upon the work of Joerg Strohmayer and (to a minor degree) Robert "fce2" Norris (see Stanislaw's project documentation you linked to).
    I don't know though if Fab used/uses any of the Amiga/AROS porting work already done before by others.
  • »16.01.09 - 12:14
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Henes
    Posts: 507 from 2003/6/14
    Maybe you are right but maybe it is also because Sputnik:
    - uses a core derived from some Symbian crap which is not really OS independant and easily portable like OWB. This is because Webkit was not easily portable when he started the project years ago. Personally, I would not touch with a stick some source coming from Symbian or Nokia... and I pity Marcik :)
    - is a real MUI application whereas current OWB ports are just using native toolkit as a display area and all gadgets and stuff are some custom alien implementation stuff drawn using SDL or Cairo.
    - is faster (but this can change), although it is also flickering a lot
    - feel free to complete :)

    If Marcik had time and motivation, he should probably adapt Sputnik to use OWB's or Chrome's core (once this one really became portable).
  • »16.01.09 - 15:34
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    @mobydick

    Quote:


    It works, but fonts are toooo smalllll :(



    That is corrected now. I was using wrong DPI setting in NetSurf. I have uploaded new archive to Aminet. I already got one bug report that it is not working anymore... it works here but if someone is having new troubles please let me know.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »18.01.09 - 20:53
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 642 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    i wrote on #morphos about problems


    http://brain.umcs.lublin.pl/~rzookol/logs/netsurf.log
  • »18.01.09 - 21:13
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    mobydick
    Posts: 179 from 2004/2/26
    From: Mordor, capita...
    New build types "Opening page..." in status line and do nothing. I can type in text fields, but have no reaction. Also, buttons (stop, reload, forvard, back) not active.
    Network statistics said that no any info sent or received.
    Pegasos II/G4@1GHz, 1 GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9
    Efika MX Smartbook, Ubuntu 12.04
    peguser.narod.ru
  • »18.01.09 - 21:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • szt
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    szt
    Posts: 53 from 2004/10/9
    From: Hungary
    @mobydick

    Delete the netsurf.info and then run the program.

    [ Edited by szt on 2009/1/18 22:36 ]
    MorphOS 3.9
    PowerMac 7,3, 1,8GHz,
    Radeon 9600
    300 GB SeagateHDD, 120 GB Samsung SSD
    LGM2382D, Canon MG7550
  • »18.01.09 - 21:33
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    mobydick
    Posts: 179 from 2004/2/26
    From: Mordor, capita...
    Thank you !
    Only Amiga makes it... :) without .info!

    Now fonts looks much better. I can read texts on 1280x1024 screen.
    Pegasos II/G4@1GHz, 1 GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9
    Efika MX Smartbook, Ubuntu 12.04
    peguser.narod.ru
  • »18.01.09 - 22:01
    Profile Visit Website