MorphOS 1.45 on A4k/CSPPC/CVPPC (only black screen)
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    dIGIMAN
    Posts: 273 from 2005/11/7
    Quote:


    aPEX wrote:

    2nd.scsi.device should only appear if you use 2 devices on the internal IDE controller... But I have there only a cd-rom...




    No, its also adressed via units, like on the cybscsi.device
    scsi.device:0 scsi.device:1

    If 2nd.scsi.devices shows up, its usally a second ide port, which like framiga already said, the standard a4k doesnt have. Something must make your machine think, you have a second card.

    Your SFS 1.270 also may causes problems, which is installed on your dh0:

    dh0: caused alot of hits in your logfiles.
    SFS 1.270 may cause havok to MOSPowerup .... Not sure, but just an indea

    [ Edited by dIGIMAN on 2007/5/31 15:00 ]
  • »31.05.07 - 14:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1939 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Yes, it's definietly not good to use those 3rd party sfs builds.
  • »31.05.07 - 16:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    Quote:


    Framiga wrote:
    theres no 2nd.scsi.device in an A4000 internal ide.



    But from where comes this error then?
  • »31.05.07 - 17:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    Quote:


    dIGIMAN wrote:
    If 2nd.scsi.devices shows up, its usally a second ide port, which like framiga already said, the standard a4k doesnt have. Something must make your machine think, you have a second card.


    I have really no IDE card or such device. Do not know which hardware can make this trouble...

    Quote:


    Your SFS 1.270 also may causes problems, which is installed on your dh0:
    dh0: caused alot of hits in your logfiles.



    Yes, but DH0 is my OS3.9 partition and not really for interest for mos. :-)
    MOS is installed on DH11, on an extra harddisk (SCSI, 4GB, on a 1GB Partition) . I use for the first boot the fastfilesystem 40.1 on the mos partition...
  • »31.05.07 - 17:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Framiga
    Posts: 363 from 2003/7/11
    From: Milan-Italy
    have you disabled MapRom in the early CSPPC boot menu?

    are you still using the older module.com1? (the latest doesn't works)

    About the filesystem is could be a problem to find an older SFS partition since the one on Aminet is the latest for 68K and it doesn't works on MOS (and honestly no clue about FFS... i use PFS3)

    and if you run AmigaOS3.9, a simple reset is not enough... you have to cold reboot.

    edit- another couple things that i don't understand about your configuration;

    you can't remove the Algor... not a good thing

    and then you have a CDROM only connected to the internal IDE... how can you boot even on AmigaOS3.9?

    not the best enviroment to see MOS for PowerUP running, if you ask me? ;-)

    [ Edited by Framiga on 2007/5/31 20:37 ]
  • »31.05.07 - 20:25
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    munk
    Posts: 94 from 2006/3/27
    Quote:

    aPEX wrote:
    2nd.scsi.device should only appear if you use 2 devices on the internal IDE controller...


    It appears if there is already a scsi.device present. If its the only device, its called scsi.device. Its a bit surprising that the boot is stopping with the IDE device, I would expect that device to pretty solid.
  • »01.06.07 - 14:24
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    munk
    Posts: 94 from 2006/3/27
    Quote:

    Framiga wrote:
    theres no 2nd.scsi.device in an A4000 internal ide.


    Not in a desktop A4k but, the A4kT might have a 2nd.scsi.device because that machine had a a4091 host adapter _and_ IDE built-in. If both had units (devices :-) attached, the later initialized device driver had to use a different name.
  • »01.06.07 - 14:28
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    munk
    Posts: 94 from 2006/3/27
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    it's definietly not good to use those 3rd party sfs builds.


    Sorry, but this is wrong. Its perfectly possible to use current SFS builds on AOS together with a SFS MOS boot partition. The key to get it work is to know how filesystem.resource works: for a given DOStype it always uses the filesystem with the highest version available. The MOS built-in version is 1.210, thus if the 68k version is installed as 1.209 in the RDB, MOS will always use its native version.
  • »01.06.07 - 14:33
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    munk
    Posts: 94 from 2006/3/27
    Quote:

    aPEX wrote:
    DH0 is my OS3.9 partition and not really for interest for mos. :-) MOS is installed on DH11, on an extra harddisk (SCSI, 4GB, on a 1GB Partition) .

    Tsktsk... Did you notice that all partitions that have the automount flag set, are available immediately at startup? MOS behaves exactly the same way as AOS in this regard. If some of your AOS partitions use SFS, "downgrade" your SFS version in the RDB below 1.210 and try again.

    BTW, are you sure that your MOS partition does _really_ use FFS 40.x? If one RDB has a higher FFS version installed, the system will happily use that higher version. Check the used fs on the MOS partition by booting from it without fs and do a "version full <partitionname>:"
  • »01.06.07 - 14:42
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    dIGIMAN
    Posts: 273 from 2005/11/7
    Quote:


    munk wrote:
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    it's definietly not good to use those 3rd party sfs builds.


    Sorry, but this is wrong. Its perfectly possible to use current SFS builds on AOS together with a SFS MOS boot partition. The key to get it work is to know how filesystem.resource works: for a given DOStype it always uses the filesystem with the highest version available. The MOS built-in version is 1.210, thus if the 68k version is installed as 1.209 in the RDB, MOS will always use its native version.


    Yes, and this may explain his problems with MOS.
    When booting, the dh0 gets mounted. It has a higher version (1.270), so it gets loaded and may crashes MOS.


    Oh yeah an its not that hard finding a MOS Compatible Version.
    Look here, link inside:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=4886&forum=42

    [ Edited by dIGIMAN on 2007/6/1 15:46 ]
  • »01.06.07 - 15:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Crumb
    Posts: 703 from 2003/2/24
    From: aGaS & CUAZ Al...
    @jacadcaps

    After trying out Prometheus with GREX RTL8029 drivers I wonder what's stopping gfx card support for Prometheus on MorphOS? Is there any kernel parameter I can try out and/or logs I can send you to help to improve the Prometheus support?
  • »02.06.07 - 13:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    Quote:


    Framiga wrote:
    have you disabled MapRom in the early CSPPC boot menu?


    Yes.

    Quote:


    are you still using the older module.com1? (the latest doesn't works)


    I use the one from Release 3.
  • »03.06.07 - 16:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    I can simply disable all other SCSI harddisks in the ppc bootmenue. Then I will have only the disk with MOS...

    Feedback will follow...
  • »03.06.07 - 16:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1939 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    @Crumb

    At this point in time we are not interrested in Prometheus support. Even though we have Prometheus' designer working with us, we have neither time or hardware to support this pci solution.

    Sorry, but MorphOS PUP can only support G-REX. Period.
  • »04.06.07 - 08:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1939 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    Sorry, but this is wrong. Its perfectly possible to use current SFS builds on AOS together with a SFS MOS boot partition.


    OK, my wording wasn't very good. It's possible, sure. It's just not very smart.
  • »04.06.07 - 08:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    Hello,

    I disabled all scsi devices in the ppc-bootmenue, except the harddisk for mos. After turning on the amiga, MOS is booting directly, I see the bootloader... but after that, black screen again. :-(

    I tried different module.com1, filesystem, release 3 and release 4, disabled all other devices with sfs, used mos bootloader, nothing helped.
  • »05.06.07 - 10:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    dIGIMAN
    Posts: 273 from 2005/11/7
    Quote:


    aPEX wrote:
    Hello,

    I disabled all scsi devices in the ppc-bootmenue, except the harddisk for mos. After turning on the amiga, MOS is booting directly, I see the bootloader... but after that, black screen again. :-(

    I tried different module.com1, filesystem, release 3 and release 4, disabled all other devices with sfs, used mos bootloader, nothing helped.


    To bad :/ i really thought i may help.
    Would be interesting, if MOS still throughs hits with 2nd scsi device, like it did with ur dh0 (sfs), if its dissabled.

    Mhh
  • »05.06.07 - 13:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    Quote:


    dIGIMAN wrote:
    To bad :/ i really thought i may help.
    Would be interesting, if MOS still throughs hits with 2nd scsi device, like it did with ur dh0 (sfs), if its dissabled.



    Maybe I can try to get a new log...

    Will there be a new Classic Version?
    Is here a MOS developer that understand my logs?
    If yes, I would be happy to help with testing a newer version on my strange system :-)
  • »06.06.07 - 11:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    Now everything works fine. ;-) Yeah!!! My A4k is blue infected. :-)
  • »30.09.07 - 15:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Henes
    Posts: 501 from 2003/6/14
    So, what was causing your problem?
  • »30.09.07 - 18:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ausPPC
    Posts: 543 from 2007/8/6
    From: Pending...
    I second that! What did it take to get your system working?

    btw Congrats!
    PPC assembly ain't so bad... ;)
  • »30.09.07 - 22:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    It was SmartFileSystem... after changing all my harddisks to SFS 1.276 and flashing again the "Algor MOS Permanent" bootloader everything is working fine...
    It even works with real 3.9 Roms (I saw it on an A3000T last weekend). ;-) :-)
  • »01.10.07 - 10:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Sir_Lucas
    Posts: 112 from 2006/4/23
    From: Poland
    Great to hear that. 8-)

    Hope you'll like it !
  • »01.10.07 - 20:27
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    aPEX
    Posts: 33 from 2007/5/22
    Quote:


    Sir_Lucas wrote:
    Great to hear that. 8-)
    Hope you'll like it !


    Thank you.

    Seems to be nice. :) Networking seems to be impossible, hope for news till this evening. Will test today some tools.

    Any optimization hints or must-have tools that I should test at beginning?
  • »02.10.07 - 12:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    dIGIMAN
    Posts: 273 from 2005/11/7
    Quote:


    aPEX wrote:
    Quote:


    Sir_Lucas wrote:
    Great to hear that. 8-)
    Hope you'll like it !


    Thank you.

    Seems to be nice. :) Networking seems to be impossible, hope for news till this evening. Will test today some tools.

    Any optimization hints or must-have tools that I should test at beginning?



    Nice to hear that its working now, except the network thing.
    Atleast u could track down the first problem. It looked quite hopeless a while :)
  • »02.10.07 - 13:37
    Profile Visit Website