Powermac 2.0 DOES have Sata 6gb aka Sata3 support but
  • Just looking around
    macphreak4evr
    Posts: 4 from 2019/12/28
    From: Dallastown , P...
    as we all know, the powermac G5 series is a Sata 3gbs aka "Sata II" device. however, in some recent testing with my latest G5 2015 2.0 port "A" is indeed sata2, whereas port "B" is Sata3 6gbs. i tested this like 4 times with SSD's and rotationals. Matt3K confirmed this on his 2005 dual also. I do have two other G5 1.8 DP machines i need to test, but for you pci express users. you can boot and use modern sata3 ssd's on port B.

    if someone reported this alredy i appologise. i just got here, i searched and it didnt turn up this result.


    cheers

    Chris
  • »12.02.24 - 17:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12027 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > as we all know, the powermac G5 series is a Sata 3gbs aka "Sata II" device.

    Official specs say it's SATA 1.5Gbps aka SATA1.

    > in some recent testing with my latest G5 2015 2.0

    2015?

    > port "A" is indeed sata2, whereas port "B" is Sata3 6gbs.

    While SATA2 (released 2004) is theoretically possible in a computer from 2005, SATA3 is from 2009 and thus cannot be in it.

    > you can boot and use modern sata3 ssd's on port B.

    Interesting find. Yet, this doesn't mean it's a SATA3 port (or SATA2 for that matter). SATA protocol family has good backwards compatibility, although usually only one generation back, so SATA3 devices usually work in SATA2 ports, and SATA2 devices usually work in SATA1 ports. Some SATA3 devices working in SATA1 ports are not unheard of, though.
  • »12.02.24 - 18:19
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2218 from 2003/2/24
    Don’t know the exact specs of PCIe G5 but I do remember drives working in one bay but not the other on my AGP G5.

    The issues with SATA3 drives also only seem to exist on SATA2 ports not SATA1.
    My guess is that your drive is being operated at SATA1 speed an hence works without issue.
  • »12.02.24 - 19:40
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 541 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    The PMac 11,2 (PCIe) is SATA1 only, just like the AGP 7,3 and 7,2 ones.

    It depends on the drive whether it reliably works with SATA1 or not. Had similar experiences as Kronos.

    An NVMe driver would be nice. ;-) I got an PCIe-NVMe adapter in my G5 11,2 which works fine Linux-wise. Comes to my mind the X5000 would also profit from this.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »12.02.24 - 21:09
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12027 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> The issues with SATA3 drives also only seem to exist on SATA2 ports not SATA1.

    > It depends on the drive whether it reliably works with SATA1 or not.
    > Had similar experiences as Kronos.

    Reads somewhat different to me ;-)
  • »12.02.24 - 21:21
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 351 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    @macphreak4evr
    All G5 Powermac types has only SATA I ( 150 MB/s) controller.

    You can use SATA II and SATA III devices here, but only with SATA I speed. And as was said here, not all SATA III devices works with SATA I controller, but vast majority yes.

    You can use additional SATA II controller compatible with MorphOS:
    - PCIe SiI3132 SATA II - I tested one in my G5 Quad, for me not worked, but it is in list of MorphOS compatible devices
    - PCI Promise SATA II - I tested on Pegasos 2, works fine, but you cannot boot from this

    I don't know any SATA III MorphOS compatible controller. Not to say, that PCIe in Powermac G5 is ver 1.0, i.e. max bandwith 250 MB/s per line, i.e. not capable of SATA III speeds.

    So if you matched SATA III speed with some of your devices, you probably have Intel MAC, not PowerPC Mac.
    Or you are measured complete filesystem speed, with buffers ( like DiskSpeed benchmark). Speed here can be much higher than bus speed ( buffers ;-) )
    To measure bus speed, use utility SCSI speed instead - you will receive speeds upto SATA I only.

    [ Edited by sailor 13.02.2024 - 07:45 ]
    AmigaOS3: Amiga 1200
    AmigaOS4: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »13.02.24 - 06:41
    Profile