Powerbook USB troubles
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    My PB 17" seems to go crazy! USB messages about a "dead device" are popping on every few seconds - even if there is no USB-device attatched. If this occours, a "Ghost-Device" is shown in Poseidon (see pic). Never seen that on any MOS-machine before!
    Did a new sys-install, but after a while this starts again..

    What's happening here? Could this be a hardware issue at PB-Usb-controller?

    46638616ul.jpg


    Edit: Seems to be port1 of USB-controllers, which is the Keybord! Disactivating port 1 stops that behaviour (and the keybord from working). But there are no missfunctions on keybord, when port and keybord is active (writing at moment this text, while errormassiges are continuously popping up).



    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 16.11.2023 - 23:06 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »16.11.23 - 22:38
    Profile
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 113 from 2019/11/11
    not a virus?
    format the disk and reinstall perhaps
  • »17.11.23 - 12:12
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Stano
    Posts: 7 from 2022/5/2
    Is the problem persist under Mac OS X (Linux, Open Firmware) or only under MorphOS?
  • »17.11.23 - 13:07
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3003 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Problem with one of the ribbon cables perhaps?
  • »17.11.23 - 13:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I thought at first also about the ribbon cable (is only one). Dismounted and cleaned it, but after a while it starts again (but not always and if, not so long).

    What I found out meanwhile:
    The device binded to port 1 is device "USB Receiver". No glue what that class is doing....has to do with HID.
    see pic. There you can also see the error messages.
    46643356oi.jpg

    I'm not at home till monday. Then I'll test it with OSX and with external keyboard too. And, I think I have an older PB-QWERTY-Keybord to test - have to search for it.....
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »17.11.23 - 18:37
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2243 from 2003/2/24
    Not sure, but could that be the BlueTooth_2_USB passthrough?

    In this case a broken antenna cable in the hinge or something like that may be the issue.
  • »17.11.23 - 18:45
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2243 from 2003/2/24
    Just checked on my iMac and "USB Receiver" does point to the Logitech universal receiver for my mouse and I'd guess that the "HID (Apple Computer.Inc/1000)" is the BT pass through.

    So are you 100% sure that there is no USB dongle plugged in?
  • »19.11.23 - 14:23
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    No nothing. I even removed the wireless mouse. Does'nt change anything.
    The strange thing is: Even during this issues, HID-interface (Keyboard/Mouse/Trackpad works completely normal. You'll never recognize anything, if there won't be these Posidon-messages poping up.......
    I have no BT equippement, so BT is'nt active too.

    What is this "ghost" interface, Posidon shows?
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »19.11.23 - 22:50
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3003 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    It basically happens when the controller detects a presence of a device, but then the initialisation packets fail. I guess you can disable the popups if things are working OK...
  • »19.11.23 - 22:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    The only thing running on USB is the internal Keyboard and the Touchpanel - nothing else. I'm afraid, one of them causes this...
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »20.11.23 - 09:19
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Now I tried MAC OSX. No problems occoured. Hardwaretests says everything is OK. Then I saw something strange: MacOS shows only 1GB RAM, while MOS shows 2GB (1.7....GB)!! I checked RAM-Simms and cleaned contacts of both Simms and after that MACOS shows also 2GB. Back booting MOS it seems to run stable - since now 1h with no popups...... ("fingers crossed"). Hope that this was the issue.
    One thing does'nt change: "Ghost-device" is shown furthermore....
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »20.11.23 - 20:07
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Unfortunately today it popped up one time at first boot, then till now nothing more........maybe a temperture problem?
    Im not sure, but it seems to be the touchpad (if I interpret poseidon-log right)
    Btw: It is a 17"PB 5.,7

    Edit: Did now tests in MAC OSX and with Service Diagnostics (ASD): No errors detected - everything OK. These seems only to be a MorphOS issue! Timing problem?
    PB is now running since morning well, except this first popup after turning on.


    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 22.11.2023 - 10:22 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »22.11.23 - 09:00
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Now it starts again (sporadic)! I've now disabled the popups in poseidon-prefs (Popup on disconnect). Does'nt solve the problem itself, but these errors does'nt influence anything on Kbd or mouse, so I can work...

    The error is allways (Device: HID (Apple Computer, inc./1000):

    10-hid.class: Interrupt pipe failed: response timeout (6)!

    Whatever that means.......
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »22.11.23 - 11:40
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2243 from 2003/2/24
    Quote:

    Amigaharry2 wrote:

    The error is allways (Device: HID (Apple Computer, inc./1000):




    Which now would really be that BT passthrough.

    If you got OSX installed, look if it still has some BT devices listed and make it forget those.
    Or find a way to disable BT in OF.

    It could be as bad as some neighbor's BT device pinging everything that is in reach....
  • »22.11.23 - 13:50
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    OSX does'nt show any BT-Device........
    I thougt BT range is only a few meteres - here is no other device nearer than 60m (next neighbour).
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »22.11.23 - 15:53
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2243 from 2003/2/24
    Seems like a HW issue, removing the BT/WLAN module might do the trick (if it really is to blame) but you would need to resort to PCMCIA for wireless.

    528.3 other possible points of failure in 18 year old HW, but thats the best guess I have.
  • »22.11.23 - 16:08
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I don't use Airport, because of very poor performance.
    Therfore I use from beginn a Atheros WLAN-Card (Netgear), which works well and has a rel. wide range.
    Second reason: Envoy has big problems with Airport and looses allways connection.

    Now the PB runs since 3h stable - it's crazy! I cannot simulate the conditions, when this phenomenon occours.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »22.11.23 - 17:27
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I'm not sure, whether it has to do with MOS-Version too. I tested yesterday a previous version (3.1) and had no popups at all during 3 hours.
    Now, at moment, PB is running with 3.18 again - will see what happen.

    Because of Kronos hint yesterday, I looked at BT-devices under OSX - there where none. For experimental I tried to connect my Smartphone, only to check functionality - it works flawless. After closing BT-link on Mac-side I rebooted to MorphOS and had no popups any more yesterday.....maybe it has also to do with this issue.

    Does your friend also use a WLAN-card? This is the only additional equippement on my PB.

    BTW: My PB is a A1139 with 1.67GHz.

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 23.11.2023 - 09:17 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »23.11.23 - 09:07
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1243 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Seems Kronos was right. Since playing with BT in OSX, as writen above, no more popups have occoured. Hope, this was ist now.......
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »24.11.23 - 13:17
    Profile