Recent Video Drivers and PCIe cards on PowerMac 11,2.
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 545 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Sapphire HD 5450, 512 MiB, SKU: 11166-01, VGA/HDMI/DVI-I, Generation: Evergreen
    Does not work on MorphOS 3.18 (screen stays blank).

    Code:
     # lspci -vv -s 0001:06:00.0
    0001:06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
    Subsystem: PC Partner Limited / Sapphire Technology Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series]
    Device tree node: /sys/firmware/devicetree/base/ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/pci174b,e164@0
    Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 65
    Region 0: Memory at 90000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
    Region 2: Memory at 80140000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K]
    Region 4: I/O ports at 0000 [size=256]
    Expansion ROM at 80120000 [disabled] [size=128K]
    Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
    Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    Capabilities: [58] Express (v2) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
    DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited
    ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
    DevCtl: CorrErr- NonFatalErr- FatalErr- UnsupReq-
    RlxdOrd+ ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
    MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
    DevSta: CorrErr+ NonFatalErr- FatalErr- UnsupReq+ AuxPwr- TransPend-
    LnkCap: Port #0, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Exit Latency L0s <64ns, L1 <1us
    ClockPM- Surprise- LLActRep- BwNot- ASPMOptComp-
    LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes, Disabled- CommClk-
    ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
    LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x8 (downgraded)
    TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
    DevCap2: Completion Timeout: Range ABCD, TimeoutDis+ NROPrPrP- LTR-
    10BitTagComp- 10BitTagReq- OBFF Not Supported, ExtFmt- EETLPPrefix-
    EmergencyPowerReduction Not Supported, EmergencyPowerReductionInit-
    FRS-
    AtomicOpsCap: 32bit- 64bit- 128bitCAS-
    DevCtl2: Completion Timeout: 50us to 50ms, TimeoutDis- LTR- 10BitTagReq- OBFF Disabled,
    AtomicOpsCtl: ReqEn-
    LnkCtl2: Target Link Speed: 2.5GT/s, EnterCompliance- SpeedDis-
    Transmit Margin: Normal Operating Range, EnterModifiedCompliance- ComplianceSOS-
    Compliance Preset/De-emphasis: -6dB de-emphasis, 0dB preshoot
    LnkSta2: Current De-emphasis Level: -6dB, EqualizationComplete- EqualizationPhase1-
    EqualizationPhase2- EqualizationPhase3- LinkEqualizationRequest-
    Retimer- 2Retimers- CrosslinkRes: unsupported
    Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
    Address: 0000000000000000 Data: 0000
    Kernel driver in use: radeon
    Kernel modules: radeon
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »24.09.23 - 16:19
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 545 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    So, after I tested 4 cards on my PCIe G5 11,2 for the r600 driver the only working one was the Sapphire HD 4550 HyperMemory, SKU: 11141-06 (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/sapphire-hd-4550-hypermemory.b348).
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »24.09.23 - 16:22
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    ThePlayer
    Posts: 1068 from 2003/3/24
    From: Hamburg/Germany
    That's a little bit disappointing.
    I am about to get an HD 5870 for my 11.2 G5.
    And I have a working HD 4550 since last year displaying Ambient through HDMI in 3440x1440 in 32bit.
    And Mplayer is working and playing videos up to 1080p in window and full screen.
    PowerMac G5 Quad 2.5 running UWQHD Resolution
  • »25.09.23 - 16:57
    Profile
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 116 from 2019/11/11
    5450
    5870
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=12785&forum=53&start=7
    you certainly see that before
  • »25.09.23 - 17:38
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=12785&forum=53&start=7
    > [...] 5450

    While comment #9 in that linked thread says that HD 5450 works, comments #17 and #26 in this very thread say it doesn't. So compatibility seems to depend on the specific card, not just the Radeon GPU, as has been outlined there.

    > 5870

    HD 5870 is not mentioned in the linked thread.
  • »26.09.23 - 00:50
    Profile
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 116 from 2019/11/11
    5450
    it was the same card i don t know
    5870
    why make this choice if not sure
    thanks
  • »26.09.23 - 02:20
    Profile
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 116 from 2019/11/11
    that doesn't matter
    in fact (it's a develloper i think) tells that only the x1950 xt is the best card for the moment for powermac g5
    and not hdxxxx
    thanks
  • »26.09.23 - 05:34
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 545 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf schrieb:
    > https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=12785&forum=53&start=7
    > [...] 5450

    While comment #9 in that linked thread says that HD 5450 works, comments #17 and #26 in this very thread say it doesn't. So compatibility seems to depend on the specific card, not just the Radeon GPU, as has been outlined there.

    Yes, I had a HD 5450 that worked once. Unfortunately I sold this card years ago when bigfoots r600-3D driver was not in sight.

    The two Sapphire HD 5450 I tried recently do not work. Also does not seem to be a simple memory size related issue to prevent r600-capable cards from working on the G5 11,2... The one HD 5450 got 512 MiB only and still does not work (despite my HD 4550 with 512 MiB works).
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »26.09.23 - 10:52
    Profile
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 116 from 2019/11/11
    ok it s more clear now
    thanks for answers
  • »26.09.23 - 11:13
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 665 from 2004/2/10
    I'm pretty sure the results on a X5000 and PowerMac PCIe PPC will be different since:

    1. Bigfoot is developing on a X5000.
    2. The way PCIe is handled by both systems is different.

    Perhaps we can purchase Bigfoot a local PowerMac for him to test his drivers and donate to the MorphOS team to encourage the official support of these PowerMacs.
  • »26.09.23 - 12:16
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12086 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I'm pretty sure the results on a X5000 and PowerMac PCIe PPC will be different

    Yes, it's been well established that the PCIe graphics cards that don't work on PowerMac11,2 usually do work on X5000. ernsteiswuerfel (and others?) are in the process of finding a pattern regarding what it is that makes cards fail on PowerMac11,2.
  • »26.09.23 - 20:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 665 from 2004/2/10
    Recently either the little DVI to DP device failed (not showing green) or the DVI port in my new monitor failed.

    So I went back to a DVI to HDMI cable and it works perfectly.

    Is there a better standard to use? DP or HDMI?
  • »07.10.23 - 21:04
    Profile