WipeOut Port
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 105 from 2019/11/11
    you can only change processor speed
  • »04.09.23 - 14:52
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    DrMaybe
    Posts: 17 from 2018/6/3
    From: Norway
    Ok! I tested by starting WipeOut in user-startup, which did not change anything.
    But I did notice something:

    Window mode:
    VRAM: 78% usage
    CPU: 20% usage

    Fullscreen:
    VRAM: 83% usage
    CPU: 100% usage
    This creates a debug dump as well.
  • »05.09.23 - 13:01
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Zetec-s
    Posts: 192 from 2008/7/10
    From: Cheshire, UK
    Tested this on my G5 Quad so far and works great.

    I'll try the Powerbook and MacMini later.

    Thanks for the port.
    PowerMac G5 Quad 2.5Ghz/2GB MorphOS 3.18 Registered
    Powerbook 1.67Ghz/1.5GB MorphOS 3.18 Registered
    MacMini 1.5Ghz/1GB MorphOS 3.18 Registered
    Efika 5200B 400Mhz/128MB MorphOS 2.3 Registered
  • »05.09.23 - 13:02
    Profile
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 451 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    The game works very well on my PowerBook G4 (A1138). No problems, very fast (in 1440x960 screen).
    I have one question. Can I set limit FPS to frequency of screen refreshing (in my case 60 Hz)? I don't want 150 FPS. I don't need rendering frames which my eyes can't see. :-)
  • »05.09.23 - 16:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 590 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    I think... not sur... FPS display seem wrong....

    Normaly FPS in fullscreen is limited automatically with MorphOS

    but in the source code, we can see force VSync: https://github.com/phoboslab/wipeout-rewrite/blob/master/src/platform_sdl.c#L262C3-L262C25
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »05.09.23 - 17:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 746 from 2011/11/30
    For what is worth, gameplay fps vary between 100-60 fps (closed spaces vs wider scenery) on fullscreen 1280x1024 @ 24bit on a PMAC 1.4GHz 256MB Vram 9800Pro AGP 2x. It's ultra smooth, to say the least, amazing! Old version resulted to system freeze after quitting but latest one is bug free.

    However, I am buffled by my memory, I really don't remember the game being that good, BeWorld, have you used any updated texture pack?

    [ Edited by Cool_amigaN 06.09.2023 - 12:41 ]
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »06.09.23 - 10:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 451 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    I think... not sur... FPS display seem wrong....

    Normaly FPS in fullscreen is limited automatically with MorphOS

    but in the source code, we can see force VSync: https://github.com/phoboslab/wipeout-rewrite/blob/master/src/platform_sdl.c#L262C3-L262C25


    Yes, the game looks like with enabled VSync. So you are probably right - FPS counter is strange. :)
  • »06.09.23 - 10:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 137 from 2010/7/30
    How come even without putting the game files of the dos or playstation version the game works the same?
    I haven't seen the data / common file of the pc version that I have to put from the iso or from the files of the dos version ?
    Do I have to physically install it on the PC and then once installed can the files be recovered?
    another question why is it specified that the version must be NTSC ?
    tried the game with imac g5 isight model 2.1ghz 20 inch version every now and then it has some clicks and freezes for 2 seconds then it restarts very fluid
    What could be the problem ?
  • »06.09.23 - 10:55
    Profile