Last firmware update for pegasos2
  • Moderator
    Doraemon
    Posts: 137 from 2003/7/1
    From: Calella Republ...
    As @brumiga sugested me in another thread I've send and email to bplan asking for the last update for my pegasos2.
    Bplan saidme that some time ago bplan stoped to do the email update support and pegasos2 its a really old hardware.
    Anyone have the last update for peg2?
    If this helps it's a Pegasos2 2B3 motherboard and a G4 cpu board rev 1.2
    The firm its v. 20040010112413
    I have problemas mainly with the ram and the best that I can use its 1x512mb... I will be happy using 2x512 , 1024+512 or 2x1024

    Thanks
  • »11.07.23 - 13:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 10 from 2023/6/24
    I don't know if it's what you are looking for, but there is a link to a Pegasos 2 firmware on the internet archive wayback machine at this site that folks have been using for emulation.
    http://www.amiga-news.de/en/news/AN-2023-04-00086-EN.html
  • »11.07.23 - 14:13
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12110 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > The firm its v. 20040010112413

    I guess that should be 20040810112413. If it is, it's the last public version. Any later versions were either only provided by email to users, or were beta/test versions only available to developers or beta testers, or came pre-installed on boards built into the ODW for business customers. I have no idea how to obtain those later versions, though.
  • »11.07.23 - 14:58
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12110 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > there is a link to a Pegasos 2 firmware on the internet archive wayback machine

    That's an older version than he has installed. The file name "up050404" is in day-month-year format and translates to 20040405 in the year-month-day format that is commonly used to discern Pegasos firmware versions.
  • »11.07.23 - 15:05
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Doraemon
    Posts: 137 from 2003/7/1
    From: Calella Republ...
    Yes, its v. 20040810112413 :(
    If its the last public availible version then I think that I need to search to specific memory or pray to have a DM with an update.
    Thanks


    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > The firm its v. 20040010112413

    I guess that should be 20040810112413. If it is, it's the last public version. Any later versions were either only provided by email to users, or were beta/test versions only available to developers or beta testers, or came pre-installed on boards built into the ODW for business customers. I have no idea how to obtain those later versions, though.
  • »11.07.23 - 15:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1260 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    For 2B3 Boards are no newer FW-versions (I've same board)
    Useing 2 RAM-modules (even 2 identical) is'nt stable in nearly most cases. I heard that someone uses 2x0,5GB, but I don't believe this....
    Only 1x1GB-module or only 1x0,5GB-module will work safe. No more RAM then max 1GB is posible on this boards.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »11.07.23 - 21:06
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1260 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Seems 2B3 is the most sold one. Latest FW available is V1.2, built 2004 08 10 xxxx (as you wrote above), available at November 2004 - no futther update.
    Did many tries to use 2 modules on 2B3 - indentical, mixed manufacturer, mixed size - nothing was sustainable stable. Sometimes 2x1GB modules seems to work, but after a while I had strange behaviour on different programms (eg. OWB, Blender, etc.) and complete crashes. Since years I now only use a 1x1GB-module, which runs very stable.
    Afaik only rev. 2B5 is capable to use more than 1GB, but it's very picky and it must be 2 identical modules.
    Rev. 2B1 I've never seen and it's new for me, that this rev. works with more than 1GB too......
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »12.07.23 - 08:23
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12110 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Afaik only rev. 2B5 is capable to use more than 1GB

    That's what I thought, too, until June 2019 when I read sailor's report about Prober's (who himself reported it as long ago as 2015) 2B1 board.

    > Rev. 2B1 I've never seen and it's new for me,
    > that this rev. works with more than 1GB too......

    I've never knowingly "seen" one either, yet I see no reason to doubt the reports of it working with 2 GiB RAM.
  • »12.07.23 - 09:00
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Stano
    Posts: 7 from 2022/5/2
    Here is interesting article about right memory modules for Pegasos 2.

    TLDR:

    1. You HAVE TO use PC-2100 (266 MHz) memory modules. NOT faster.
    2. 2 GB of memory seems to be unstable on Pegasos 2 and is not recommended.

    [ Edited by Stano 15.07.2023 - 17:34 ]
  • »15.07.23 - 16:26
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12110 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Here is interesting article about right memory modules for
    > Pegasos 2. […] 2 GB of memory seems to be unstable on
    > Pegasos 2 and is not recommended.

    Thanks, that's interesting, because Prober is one of those who according to sailor have been *successfully* using 2 GiB RAM on his 2B1 board. "Successfully" implies "stable" to me. His original statement as linked to by sailor is from 2015, while the article you link to seems to be from 2021. So this would appear as a retraction of his original statement?
  • »15.07.23 - 19:00
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Stano
    Posts: 7 from 2022/5/2
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Here is interesting article about right memory modules for
    > Pegasos 2. […] 2 GB of memory seems to be unstable on
    > Pegasos 2 and is not recommended.

    Thanks, that's interesting, because Prober is one of those who according to sailor have been *successfully* using 2 GiB RAM on his 2B1 board. "Successfully" implies "stable" to me. His original statement as linked to by sailor is from 2015, while the article you link to seems to be from 2021. So this would appear as a retraction of his original statement?


    IDK exactly so I PM'ed him about it.
  • »16.07.23 - 09:32
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Stano
    Posts: 7 from 2022/5/2
    So, here is the answer from Prober about using 2 GB in Pegasos:

    1. The stability went down a lot,
    2. There were random crashes while using the system for a long time.

    So technically it works but there is some problem with memory access. But I haven't noticed this with MorphOS so maybe it's just an OS4 bug.


    Prober hasn't his Pegasos anymore (he gave it as a gift to active OS4 user) so he can't check it anymore.

    Thank you, Prober, for fast answer :)
  • »16.07.23 - 18:00
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12110 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > here is the answer from Prober about using 2 GB in Pegasos:
    > 1. The stability went down a lot,
    > 2. There were random crashes while using the system for a long time.


    Thanks for probing (pun intended) into this issue.

    > I haven't noticed this with MorphOS so maybe it's just an OS4 bug.

    Either this, or it's a hardware/firmware bug that's just masked by the way MorphOS does memory accesses, compared to OS4. I once tried 2 GiB in my old Pegasos I that seemingly MorphOS worked fine with (and no errors with 'memtest extensive'), but Linux wouldn't even boot.

    > Prober hasn't his Pegasos anymore […] so he can't check it anymore.

    This leaves us with Fogg_80 and his 2B1 board with 2 GiB RAM, unless he no longer has it either.
  • »16.07.23 - 22:14
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Prober
    Posts: 1 from 2019/9/16
    From: Czech Republic
    I donated my Pegasos 2 system to Pavlor (https://www.amigaportal.cz/member/308-pavlor), who is still actively using it. He may be able to tell you more. But in general, with 2GB of RAM, the system was very unstable.
  • »29.07.23 - 18:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Stano
    Posts: 7 from 2022/5/2
    Quote:

    Prober wrote:
    I donated my Pegasos 2 system to Pavlor (https://www.amigaportal.cz/member/308-pavlor), who is still actively using it. He may be able to tell you more. But in general, with 2GB of RAM, the system was very unstable.


    ... and based on Prober's experiments Pavlor uses 1x1GB memory module in his Pegasos2.
  • »30.07.23 - 20:57
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Bifford
    Posts: 275 from 2003/2/24
    From: Wiltshire, UK
    Firmware
    Pegasos I/G3 "PRE-APRIL", Board: 1A (0.1b73), CPU: 750 CX 1.0, SF: 1.1 (20020814)
    Pegasos I/G3, Board: 1A1 (0.1b112), CPU: 750 CX 1.0, SF:1.1 (20021203121657)
    Pegasos I/G3, Board: 1A1 (0.1b114), CPU: 750 CX 1.0, SF: 1.1 (20030317114750)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.1, CPU: 744X 1.1, SF: 1.2 (20040224)
    Pegasos II/G3, Board: 1.1 (0.2b1), CPU: 750 CX 1.0, SF: 1.2 (20040402193939)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.1, CPU: 744X 1.1, SF: 1.1 (20040405)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.1, CPU: 744X 1.1, SF: 1.2 (20040405)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.2, CPU: 744X 1.2, SF: 1.1 (20040505)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.0 (2B3), CPU: 744X 1.0, SF: 1.2 (20040810112413)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.2, CPU: 744X 1.1, SF: 1.2 (20040810112413)
    Pegasos II/G3, Board: 1.2, CPU: 750 CX 1.0, SF: 1.2 (20040810112413)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.2 (2B2), CPU: 744X 1.2, SF: 1.2 (20040810112413)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.2, CPU: 744X 1.2, SF: 1.2 (20050602111451) <<<<<<<<<<<<<<
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.2 (2B5), CPU: 744X 1.2, SF: 1.2 (20050808153840)
    Pegasos II/G4, Board: 1.2 (2B5), CPU: 744X 1.2, SF: 1.2 (20051216161829)

    I have the 7447/7457 G4 1000 MHz. on a v1.2 2B5.
    I have 500MB in dual heatsinked RAM.
    It reports that I have 20050602111451
    ========
    Bifford the Youngest

    My Website at: www.whiteharegames.co.uk/
  • »08.08.23 - 22:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12110 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Firmware […]

    Yeah, that's the old list from 2006.
  • »08.08.23 - 23:59
    Profile