PowerMAC G5 2.7GHz cooling question
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 236 from 2003/7/28
    From: Canada
    Hi all, I recently acquired a PowerMAC G5, 2.7 GHz. It passed all Apple Hardware Diagnostic tests. No leaks on the liquid cooling.

    I'm running MorphOS 3.18 on it, and the CPU temps are measuring 60-63C for the first CPU and about 80-82C for the second CPU. This is pretty consistent and the fan speed will adjust to keep the temperatures at those levels.

    I am wondering if this is considered normal? I read a post (I think by Geit) on this site that as the coolant travels to the second CPU it is normal for it to be warmer.

    Also, I was wondering (for MorphOS devs) if we can get support for the Thermals App in a future version of MorphOS for the PowerMACs like this one?

    Thanks!

    Darren

    [ Edited by HammerD 08.07.2023 - 21:55 ]
    A4000/060/PPC-200MHz, A4000T/060/PPC-233MHz, CD32, MicroA1, Pegasos 2 G4, AMD Phenom Quad Core 2.5GHz, MacMini 1.5GHz/64MB VRam...mwwmwahhh :)
  • »09.07.23 - 02:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 104 from 2019/11/11
    have you try ifanmacontrl but it certainly imac g5
    you can deactived one processor too with some comand with morphos
  • »09.07.23 - 06:33
    Profile
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 104 from 2019/11/11
    https://library.morph.zone/Shell_Commands/PowerMac7FanControl
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=13494&forum=11#155209
    if that help too
  • »09.07.23 - 06:56
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    It is quite normal, as the cooling liquid goes from CPU0 to CPU1, then to the radiator and back to CPU0.

    If you've acquired the system lately and its cooling has never been refurbished then I'd strongly reccomend tearing the LCS apart and giving it a proper maintenance.
  • »09.07.23 - 08:28
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 236 from 2003/7/28
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    It is quite normal, as the cooling liquid goes from CPU0 to CPU1, then to the radiator and back to CPU0.

    If you've acquired the system lately and its cooling has never been refurbished then I'd strongly reccomend tearing the LCS apart and giving it a proper maintenance.


    Thanks. I doubt it's ever been maintained. I did run the Apple Diagnostics and it has passed all tests. It's quite a job to disassemble and service it. I'd probably make it worse. Since I only paid $30 CAD for this system I am inclined to leave it as it is working.
    A4000/060/PPC-200MHz, A4000T/060/PPC-233MHz, CD32, MicroA1, Pegasos 2 G4, AMD Phenom Quad Core 2.5GHz, MacMini 1.5GHz/64MB VRam...mwwmwahhh :)
  • »09.07.23 - 16:34
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 236 from 2003/7/28
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    man wrote:
    https://library.morph.zone/Shell_Commands/PowerMac7FanControl
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=13494&forum=11#155209
    if that help too


    Thanks I did not know of that command.

    [ Edited by HammerD 09.07.2023 - 11:37 ]
    A4000/060/PPC-200MHz, A4000T/060/PPC-233MHz, CD32, MicroA1, Pegasos 2 G4, AMD Phenom Quad Core 2.5GHz, MacMini 1.5GHz/64MB VRam...mwwmwahhh :)
  • »09.07.23 - 16:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 236 from 2003/7/28
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    man wrote:
    have you try ifanmacontrl but it certainly imac g5
    you can deactived one processor too with some comand with morphos


    Do you know the command to deactivate the second processor?
    A4000/060/PPC-200MHz, A4000T/060/PPC-233MHz, CD32, MicroA1, Pegasos 2 G4, AMD Phenom Quad Core 2.5GHz, MacMini 1.5GHz/64MB VRam...mwwmwahhh :)
  • »09.07.23 - 16:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • man
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    man
    Posts: 104 from 2019/11/11
    setenv boot-args cpus=1
    reset-all
    but i don t know if you can do that
    i never do it before so......
  • »09.07.23 - 17:48
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12073 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >>> you can deactived one processor too with some comand with morphos
    >>> […]
    >>> https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=13494&forum=11#155209

    >> Do you know the command to deactivate the second processor?

    > setenv boot-args cpus=1

    No, that one just works for Mac OS, as is stated in comment #4 in the thread you linked to.
    According to the release notes, MorphOS since 3.10 disables the 2nd G5 CPU on PowerMac7, as is stated in comment #6 in the thread you linked to. There have been some as yet unclarified uncertainties as to what "disabled" means in this context.
  • »09.07.23 - 19:55
    Profile