FS: Power Mac G5 Dual 2,7 GHz
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    I have a Power Mac G5 for sale.

    The specs are:
    - Two PPC970fx (G5) CPUs at 2,7 GHz (water cooled)
    - 8 GB of DDR RAM (PC3200)
    - ATi Radeon X1950 (AGP) - PC version (working with MorphOS, but no Apple BIOS inside so no OSX or Open Firmware available)
    - 250 GB SATA hard drive
    - standard optical drive for this model (aka the "SuperDrive")
    - AirPort and Bluetooth (both with external antennae - seen on photos)
    - An additional 4-port USB 2.0 card (NEC chipset)
    I've also installed a 56k modem board, just for the sake of completeness (as this model doesn't have it by default and even lacks the proper backplate wires AFAIR)

    The water cooling has been refurbished when I got it. Lately it's been refilled and checked for any signs of leak.

    The PowerMac has got MorphOS 3.15 installed and registered.

    One more thing: I've demounted the plastic "deflector" as it collided with Radeon X1950 (the card is quite wide). It will be included with the machine ofc. I might also add an OSX/Open Firmware compatible gfx card (I should have at least one nVidia FX5200 here. If I can find a flashed Radeon 9200 I will include it too).

    You can see some photos here. The "G5" cover is there too, it's just been demounted for the purpose of CPU module inspection.

    I'm asking for 180 EUR plus the shipping cost.
  • »03.01.22 - 06:59
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Daff
    Posts: 239 from 2003/4/5
    Intereted.

    Please contact me on "obligement AT free.fr"
    Obligement - L'Amiga au maximum
    http://obligement.free.fr
  • »03.01.22 - 07:34
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BatteMan
    Posts: 264 from 2003/2/24
    From: France
    Interested too (in second row ^^).
    Proud user of MorphOS since 2003 !
  • »03.01.22 - 10:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BatteMan
    Posts: 264 from 2003/2/24
    From: France
    Received it yesterday and I want to say thank you to Koszer ! Very well package and fast delivery. The computer is in very well condition for his age and it's working perfectly !
    So a good transaction with a great seller ! Thx.
    Proud user of MorphOS since 2003 !
  • »20.01.22 - 18:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    I have a Power Mac G5 for sale.

    The specs are:
    - Two PPC970fx (G5) CPUs at 2,7 GHz (water cooled)
    - 8 GB of DDR RAM (PC3200)
    - ATi Radeon X1950 (AGP) - PC version (working with MorphOS, but no Apple BIOS inside so no OSX or Open Firmware available)
    - 250 GB SATA hard drive
    - standard optical drive for this model (aka the "SuperDrive")
    - AirPort and Bluetooth (both with external antennae - seen on photos)
    - An additional 4-port USB 2.0 card (NEC chipset)
    I've also installed a 56k modem board, just for the sake of completeness (as this model doesn't have it by default and even lacks the proper backplate wires AFAIR)

    The water cooling has been refurbished when I got it. Lately it's been refilled and checked for any signs of leak.

    The PowerMac has got MorphOS 3.15 installed and registered.

    One more thing: I've demounted the plastic "deflector" as it collided with Radeon X1950 (the card is quite wide). It will be included with the machine ofc. I might also add an OSX/Open Firmware compatible gfx card (I should have at least one nVidia FX5200 here. If I can find a flashed Radeon 9200 I will include it too).

    You can see some photos here. The "G5" cover is there too, it's just been demounted for the purpose of CPU module inspection.

    I'm asking for 180 EUR plus the shipping cost.


    Hi!

    I have a Power Mac G5 and an AGP X1950 pro.
    How can I connect external power to the X1950 pro?
  • »11.04.22 - 19:10
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    I have a Power Mac G5 and an AGP X1950 pro.
    How can I connect external power to the X1950 pro?



    My X1950 got two Molex ports. Just in case I powered it from two different wires.
    I got the first one splitting the Molex from the DVD drive, and a second one - routing a SATA power to Molex cable from the hard drive bay.
  • »11.04.22 - 19:45
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    I have a Power Mac G5 and an AGP X1950 pro.
    How can I connect external power to the X1950 pro?



    My X1950 got two Molex ports. Just in case I powered it from two different wires.
    I got the first one splitting the Molex from the DVD drive, and a second one - routing a SATA power to Molex cable from the hard drive bay.




    Thanks, but my MorphOS won't boot :-(.
  • »20.04.22 - 19:57
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    My X1950 got two Molex ports. Just in case I powered it from two different wires.
    I got the first one splitting the Molex from the DVD drive, and a second one - routing a SATA power to Molex cable from the hard drive bay.




    Thanks, but my MorphOS won't boot :-(.


    Are you sure your Radeon is OK?

    I had a Sapphire one (like this).

    Also it's worth mentioning that some cards (like the one I got) is too wide to fit in G5 together with plastic deflector. If you force the deflector in, the card bends downwards and may fail (or cause a short and burn some power cable - that happened to me).
  • »25.04.22 - 08:30
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    My X1950 got two Molex ports. Just in case I powered it from two different wires.
    I got the first one splitting the Molex from the DVD drive, and a second one - routing a SATA power to Molex cable from the hard drive bay.




    Thanks, but my MorphOS won't boot :-(.


    Are you sure your Radeon is OK?

    I had a Sapphire one (like this).

    Also it's worth mentioning that some cards (like the one I got) is too wide to fit in G5 together with plastic deflector. If you force the deflector in, the card bends downwards and may fail (or cause a short and burn some power cable - that happened to me).

    I have the same video card. It works with PC.
    MorphOS boots with the original Radeon.

    The boot-device env is sd1:,\\bootinfo.txt
  • »30.04.22 - 06:54
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    I have the same video card. It works with PC.
    MorphOS boots with the original Radeon.

    The boot-device env is sd1:,\\bootinfo.txt



    Then I have no idea why it wouldn't work for you.
    Let's sum it up:

    1. You're booting from a hard drive with MorphOS pre-installed, right? Not from CD live image (trying that will surely fail)?
    2. Both Molex power connectors are connected?
    3. The plastic deflector is out?
  • »30.04.22 - 12:22
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Then I have no idea why it wouldn't work for you.
    Let's sum it up:

    1. You're booting from a hard drive with MorphOS pre-installed, right? Not from CD live image (trying that will surely fail)?
    2. Both Molex power connectors are connected?
    3. The plastic deflector is out?


    Absolutely right.

    The fan roars, but nothing happens. As if OF does not start.
  • »30.04.22 - 17:41
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    The fan roars, but nothing happens. As if OF does not start.


    Correct, the Open Firmware wouldn't start without Mac-compatible gfx card. But MorphOS boots nevertheless. Still nothing if you leave it for a while? Does the main fan go full swing or does it operate normally?
  • »01.05.22 - 07:01
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Correct, the Open Firmware wouldn't start without Mac-compatible gfx card. But MorphOS boots nevertheless. Still nothing if you leave it for a while? Does the main fan go full swing or does it operate normally?


    After 3 minutes the main fan go full swing. The caps lock key does not work.
  • »04.05.22 - 09:04
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    After 3 minutes the main fan go full swing. The caps lock key does not work.


    And MorphOS is working normally on the same computer but with another gfx card?
  • »04.05.22 - 12:07
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    After 3 minutes the main fan go full swing. The caps lock key does not work.


    And MorphOS is working normally on the same computer but with another gfx card?



    Just replacing gfx card(original from Apple) makes MorphOS normally working.
  • »04.05.22 - 13:04
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    Just replacing gfx card(original from Apple) makes MorphOS normally working.


    Then my best bet would be that either the gfx card doesn't get enough power to operate, or that it's some kind of unsupported revision (I have a PCIe X1950 that runs just fine with PC motherboard but refuses to initialize when in Power Mac QUAD with MorphOS).
  • »05.05.22 - 06:13
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Then my best bet would be that either the gfx card doesn't get enough power to operate, or that it's some kind of unsupported revision (I have a PCIe X1950 that runs just fine with PC motherboard but refuses to initialize when in Power Mac QUAD with MorphOS).


    Could you show the output of your printenv command?
  • »19.05.22 - 07:54
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1163 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Newcgen wrote:
    Could you show the output of your printenv command?


    You mean - the printenv command on a Power Mac G5 Dual Processor 2,7 GHz with Sapphire Radeon X1950 that I don't own anymore (post #4, Batteman confirms he got the machine in January)?
  • »19.05.22 - 08:08
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Newcgen
    Posts: 10 from 2022/4/11
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    You mean - the printenv command on a Power Mac G5 Dual Processor 2,7 GHz with Sapphire Radeon X1950 that I don't own anymore (post #4, Batteman confirms he got the machine in January)?


    Of course you don't have it anymore. I forgot :-).
  • »19.05.22 - 13:59
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BatteMan
    Posts: 264 from 2003/2/24
    From: France
    We don't have access to openfirmware with a non mac gfx card, so we don't have access to printenv...
    Sorry...
    Proud user of MorphOS since 2003 !
  • »19.05.22 - 22:20
    Profile Visit Website