PowerMac G4 3,1 hanging during installation
  • Just looking around
    From what I understand, this PowerMac G4 I have here should be able to run MorphOS. However, it continues to hang during the copying phase of the installation. I thought it might be the DVD drive so I tried a known-good device. The machine is running an ATI Rage 128 Pro, has been upgraded to 512MB RAM and I have tried both on a 40GB hard drive and a 120GB SSD.

I have no experience with Mac hardware so I am stuck here. I was hoping to sell this system with a working install of MorphOS. It came with a working installation of MacOS9 so I am certain the hardware is good.

Anyone have any pointers to help?
  • »31.07.21 - 01:06
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    1st of all - what's the model of the Power Mac G4?
    2. Is the CD a tried and tested installation disc? Not faulty/incomplete writing of all necessary data to disc.
    3. If the Power Mac G4 is a supported model then I'd consider checking the RAM as I've had incompatible "pairs" that caused issues in some systems, and of course they need to be fitted in the correct order for their pairing, and seated well/contacts clean.
    4. As it's a G4 then using an SSD might be an issue unless it's got supported SATA or IDE interface/hardware for MorphOS.

See if that fixes what is not completing for now, and if I or others can offer any further insight once you supply the hardware model details.

If it only had Mac OS9 on it who knows how long it has been since it was last seriously used/cleaned/upgraded/serviced.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,64MB VRAM, PowerBooks A1138/9 (Model 5,8/9),PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP), iMac A1145 2.1GHz 20", all with MorphOS v3.18+,Airport,Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL,MiniMax,Firewire/USB2 & MacOSX 10.4/5
  • »31.07.21 - 02:27
  • Just looking around
    Quote:

NewSense wrote:
    1st of all - what's the model of the Power Mac G4?