Floppy disk on Pegasos2
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    No, it is supported and works well here in my pegasos! (wrote it above). I had in the past 3 Peg2, and all oft them worked well. I'm able to use it in DOSBOX, which is essential for me, because some of my old measurement-equippement only gives data on floppy.
    If it does'nt work in your case, you have a faulty hardware or a softwareinstallation problem.

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 21.03.2021 - 07:10 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »21.03.21 - 07:09
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 66 from 2019/11/1
    I want update thread with latest experience.
    Just yesterday I swapped floppy drive and cable with another one, it’s still non recognised by system.
    I used latest trackdisk.device (sent me by mail from Amigaharry) in devs: latest fat95 binary from aminet in L: using Amigaharry mountlist in Devs:dosdrivers with a project icon named MS0 with a default command to “c:mount”and toooltype “Active=1”
    Result is always the same. Floppy drive is “fakery” mounted and when in a shell I want to access to MS0 I got an assign/mount requester.
    I’m sure there’s something wrong or missed, but at this stage really I don’t know.



    [ Edited by Flash 21.03.2021 - 16:43 ]
  • »21.03.21 - 08:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Move MS0 out of devs/dosdrivers an reboot.
    Than mount MS0 from shell: mount MS0

    Are there any comments?

    What does info-command in shell say?

    Could it be, that you have an additional, old mountlist in MosSYS:Devs/Dosdrivers?
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »21.03.21 - 16:39
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 66 from 2019/11/1
    As said there was something missed.. I have just solved looking snoopium output logs :-)
    On my system missed "openpci.library" so trackdisk.device didn't work!
    Now also trackdisk.device prefs, for noclick and max errors retry, runs ok.

    For openpci you have to download missing library from here: http://bvernoux.free.fr/DevPCI.php#download

    For MorphOS: uncompress the zip and copy the openpci.library.elf to libs:
    later all will work as expected.

    Many thanks to Amigaharry for his support :-D
    I'd like to upload latest trackdisk.device on morphos-storage.
    ..are there any reasons not to do it?

    [ Edited by Flash 21.03.2021 - 21:03 ]
  • »21.03.21 - 19:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Quote:

    ....
    I'd like to upload latest trackdisk.device on morphos-storage.
    ..are there any reasons not to do it?


    Think, thats OK.


    I'll never thougt that openpci.library is missing!! Strange thing, that there is nothing about in trackdisk.device-docs - openpci is third-party...
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »21.03.21 - 20:57
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 595 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Fixed Openpci was included in some previous MorphOS releases so probably checking some 2.x iso would be better.
  • »22.03.21 - 08:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Found it on MOS 1.4.5.......seems that it has survived all the updates on my Peg till yet.......

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 22.03.2021 - 10:07 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »22.03.21 - 08:53
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    My earliest version it 3.5 (beside 1.4.x) I have at home......


    But: Was there any special reason why openpci was removed?
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »22.03.21 - 12:57
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11294 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > My earliest version it 3.5 (beside 1.4.x) I have at home

    All releases are available to download from the MorphOS team web server.

    > Was there any special reason why openpci was removed?

    Also from 3.2 release notes:
    "Devs/Audiomodes/Emu10kx
    Migrated from OpenPCI to pcix.library.
    "

    I guess that this was the last component contained in the MorphOS ISO image to require openpci.library, so that after migration the library was removed due to non-use.
  • »22.03.21 - 16:20
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 595 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    I don't remember correctly but probably openpci can cause some problems and it was easier to rewrite SB ahi driver to stable pcix.library than fixing/debugging OpenPCI.
  • »22.03.21 - 17:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Thank you!
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »24.03.21 - 02:50
    Profile