Brother HL-2132 / HL-2135 Laser Printer
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 55 from 2020/5/1
    Facts:
    Mono laser printer.
    No printer emulation.
    No PCL (Printer Control Language).
    Uses GDI (Graphical Device Interface).

    When adding the PPD (Brother-HL-2135-hl1250.ppd) I'm asked for the foomatic-rip CUPS filter.

    Is foomatic-rip supported in MorphOS?
  • »01.01.21 - 12:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11294 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Is foomatic-rip supported in MorphOS?

    In 2015 it wasn't (see comments #134 and #141 in that thread). I'm not aware of any change in this regard.
  • »01.01.21 - 14:50
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    GDI-Printers are not supported.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »01.01.21 - 15:56
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 55 from 2020/5/1
    Thanks. I might try the Samsung ML-1710 (PPD included with MorphOS) instead.
  • »01.01.21 - 17:10
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 595 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    So, ... I've made a port of brlaser cups driver although i forgot to add it to MorphOS 3.14
    so anyone can check this:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ynbdf352nmEl1U_RhPRhAcC2gtr9LDby/view?usp=sharing

    rastertobrlaser goes to MorphOS:MorphOS/Data/Printers
    PPDs of supported printers included


    I don't know if it works with Brother HL-2132 / HL-2135 as don't have any Brother printers but you can try. Other option is to use Ghostscript direclty to check if GS included drivers (hl1250 and hl7x0 output devices) handles this printer.

    To call gs:
    MorphOS:MorphOS/Data/Printers/gs -sDEVICE=hl1250 -sOutputFile=NETPAR: or USBPAR: filename.ps

    PS can be made in VPDF -> Print-> Postscript/ Profilep (ToFile) and output path to ram:filename.ps

    If it works, i can make some wrapper/ppd to call ghoscript from PRINTER: system.
  • »01.01.21 - 18:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 55 from 2020/5/1
    How do I setup NETPAR: or USBPAR:? This is USB only, no network.

    Devices:
    TRASH AUDIO CON DEBUG IXPIPE
    MUICON NULL PAR PIPE PRINTER
    PRT PS RANDOM RAWDISK SER
    USBRAW ZERO RAM SYSRAW SYSCON
    RAW DH1 DH0


    With Printer (the old system) I could at least get blank papers from the printer via usbparallel.device
  • »01.01.21 - 19:23
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 595 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    From MZone wiki:
    "For network printing please use NETPAR: and for usb printers please use USBPAR:. Usb printing needs USBPAR mountlist copied from Storage/DosDrivers to the DEVS:DosDrivers or add mount USBPAR: somewhere in the S:user-startup file."

    for quicktest just type mount USBPAR: in the shell
  • »01.01.21 - 19:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 55 from 2020/5/1
    Thanks, I've mounted it.

    Ram Disk:> mossys:Data/Printers/gs -sDEVICE=hl1250 -sOutputfile=usbpar: ram:filename.ps
    GPL Ghostscript 8.70 (2009-07-31)
    Copyright (C) 2009 Artifex Software, Inc. All rights reserved.
    This software comes with NO WARRANTY: see the file PUBLIC for details.

    >>showpage, press <return> to continue<<
    GS<1>
    GS<1>showpage
    >>showpage, press <return> to continue<<

    GS<1>


    No success.
  • »01.01.21 - 23:11
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Samurai_Crow
    Posts: 129 from 2009/12/10
    From: Minnesota, USA
    Quote:

    duga wrote:
    Thanks, I've mounted it.

    Ram Disk:> mossys:Data/Printers/gs -sDEVICE=hl1250 -sOutputfile=usbpar: ram:filename.ps
    GPL Ghostscript 8.70 (2009-07-31)
    Copyright (C) 2009 Artifex Software, Inc. All rights reserved.
    This software comes with NO WARRANTY: see the file PUBLIC for details.

    >>showpage, press <return> to continue<<
    GS<1>
    GS<1>showpage
    >>showpage, press <return> to continue<<

    GS<1>


    No success.


    Was RAM:Filename.ps a properly written PostScript file? I think you need to generate a PostScript file from a PDF. Did you follow that part?

    I think PostScript is an ASCII-based printer formatting language. If you type "ed ram:Filename.ps" it should display the printer codes as plain text PostScript.

    [ Edited by Samurai_Crow 01.01.2021 - 16:30 ]
  • »01.01.21 - 23:25
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 55 from 2020/5/1
    Quote:

    Samurai_Crow wrote:
    Was RAM:Filename.ps a properly written PostScript file? I think you need to generate a PostScript file from a PDF. Did you follow that part?

    I think PostScript is an ASCII-based printer formatting language. If you type "ed ram:Filename.ps" it should display the printer codes as plain text PostScript.


    It starts like this:

    %!PS-Adobe-3.0
    %Produced by poppler pdftops version: 20.12.1 (http://poppler.freedesktop.org)
    %%Title: vpdf ps document output
    %%LanguageLevel: 2
    %%DocumentSuppliedResources: (atend)
    %%DocumentMedia: A4 595 842 0 () ()
    %%BoundingBox: 0 0 596 842
    %%Pages: 26
  • »03.01.21 - 22:38
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    _coliN_
    Posts: 62 from 2003/4/30
    From: Hessen, Germany
    Hello!

    Perhaps this helps:
    I am using a Brother HL-2150N printer here with the common HP-Laserjet2 driver of Turboprint.
    The device runs under usbparallel.device.
    The max resolution is 300dpi, but it is okay for b/w-prints...
  • »04.01.21 - 06:51
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    GDI-Printers won't work with MOS! Normaly all calculation to create a printable page are done by printer-firmware. GDI-printer don't do that (because they are low-cost-derivates for Windows) - this work has to be done by (Windows) printerdriver and I don't know any printerdriver on MOS which is capable to do that.
    So, if your printer only understands GDI and nothing else, you can forget it.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »04.01.21 - 08:49
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Trekman
    Posts: 11 from 2020/11/10
    From: Germany
    This is correct. GDI Printers won´t work. Postscript Printers are preferred.
    See here : https://www.morphos-storage.net/?id=1588365

    :)
  • »04.01.21 - 21:25
    Profile