Git OAuth Tokens on GitHub?
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Samurai_Crow
    Posts: 129 from 2009/12/10
    From: Minnesota, USA
    I just tried out the new Git executable from the 3.16 development kit. After I committed my changes to my Hollywood scripts I got an email pointing me to a Github.blog post. Will future versions of Git or FlowStudio support Git with the OAuth2 protocol?
  • »31.12.20 - 23:50
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2269 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    You just need to configure your SSH pubkey on github and use that with git - normally automagic.
  • »01.01.21 - 00:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Samurai_Crow
    Posts: 129 from 2009/12/10
    From: Minnesota, USA
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    You just need to configure your SSH pubkey on github and use that with git - normally automagic.


    Thanks for the tip!
  • »01.01.21 - 15:23
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    emeck
    Posts: 115 from 2014/7/15
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    You just need to configure your SSH pubkey on github and use that with git - normally automagic.


    Thanks. Changed for my repos at bitbucket and github. Seems to be ok.

    For those interested, this helped me.
    PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.15
    PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.15
    Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE
  • »01.01.21 - 18:55
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Samurai_Crow
    Posts: 129 from 2009/12/10
    From: Minnesota, USA
    Quote:

    emeck wrote:
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    You just need to configure your SSH pubkey on github and use that with git - normally automagic.


    Thanks. Changed for my repos at bitbucket and github. Seems to be ok.

    For those interested, this helped me.


    I was able to generate a key but the ssh-add command doesn't seem to be present on MorphOS. I tried "ssh --add" and so on with a space in between but it didn't ask for my pass phrease. The key is added to GitHub though.
  • »01.01.21 - 22:22
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Piru
    Posts: 469 from 2003/2/24
    From: finland, the l...
    ssh-agent isn't available as for now. Luckily ssh keys work without ssh-agent, too. It's not as convenient as it could be, since you need to enter the key passphrase a lot then.
  • »01.01.21 - 23:03
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    emeck
    Posts: 115 from 2014/7/15
    Quote:

    Samurai_Crow wrote:

    I was able to generate a key but the ssh-add command doesn't seem to be present on MorphOS. I tried "ssh --add" and so on with a space in between but it didn't ask for my pass phrease. The key is added to GitHub though.


    As Piru wrote, ssh-agent is not available so we need to enter the passphrase everytime. But not a big deal for me. Right now I have just a single beginner's Hollywood project, so I don't push commits every day. The other option would be to create the key with a blank passphrase.

    @Piru
    Is ssh-agent in the To-do list?

    [ Edited by emeck 02.01.2021 - 02:18 ]
    PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.15
    PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.15
    Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE
  • »02.01.21 - 01:18
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Piru
    Posts: 469 from 2003/2/24
    From: finland, the l...
    Quote:

    emeck wrote:

    @Piru
    Is ssh-agent in the To-do list?


    I just got it working last night, so you can expect ssh-agent to be included in future SDK release. Due to some limitations Code:
    eval `ssh-agent`
    use pattern won't work, but Code:
    ssh-agent sh
    one does.
  • »02.01.21 - 13:04
    Profile