Two dead G5 in one day! Must be a record.
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1416 from 2003/4/13
    I use my MorphOS G5 2.7 almost daily. It is my "modern" computer in the retro cave. This morning out of the blue, it will not turn on. It shows zero life. Most likely the psu failed.

    "Sucks" I thought, but no worries. I have my backup G5 2.3 to use for the time being I thought. Took down the 2.7, put the 2.3 on the desk, NOPE! The 2.3 won't turn on either!

    The 2.7 had a known good battery. The 2.3 battery tested low (bad), so moved the good battery over. No change. The 2.3 psu is likely completely dead too. Failed sitting in conditioned storage? That's a bit rough.

    I have one spare G5 psu somewhere. Hopefully I can get one of the 2 going with it, then I can go about rebuilding or replacing the 2 bad psu.

    What kind of BS luck is this?
  • »19.07.20 - 21:05
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2058 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Did you check the leds on the mobo once power is on? The service manuals have long checklists that you can try to diagnose the source of the problem. Anyway, hope you get them back to working order...
  • »19.07.20 - 21:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1416 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Did you check the leds on the mobo once power is on? The service manuals have long checklists that you can try to diagnose the source of the problem. Anyway, hope you get them back to working order...


    There were no lights anywhere on either computer. I did look for MB LEDs, but nothing. Just plain death.
  • »19.07.20 - 22:41
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1416 from 2003/4/13
    I located my spare psu. Luckily my memory was correct, and it was a 600W psu. I just swapped it out in the 2.7, and I am back cooking with gas. Was scary there for a little today.

    Now I need to look into rebuilding the failed 2.3 psu, and the now spare bad 2.7 one. I'm hoping it is just recapping. Anyone here rebuild a G5 psu before?

    -Edit-
    Naah, Google tells me the G5 PSU fails in more sinister ways than simple caps.

    [ Edited by redrumloa 19.07.2020 - 17:55 ]
  • »19.07.20 - 22:43
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1416 from 2003/4/13
    I am thinking of doing something like this to rebuild the PSUs. I wonder if I can get a 700W atx psu that would fit? 550W would be enough for the 2.3 psu. I'm not worried about the 25V because I'll never use an Apple cinema display. Just trying to think if there are any other downsides? I doubt it?
  • »19.07.20 - 22:53
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1003 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Well, let us know if you succeed. I have a 2,3 GHz G5 stashed in the closet that is most probably having PSU problems too (turns on once in 10-15 tries).
  • »20.07.20 - 09:42
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 886 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote: I am thinking of doing something like this to rebuild the PSUs....]

    That's a great fix for abandoned Apple hardware to keep these systems going, as long as the CPU doesn't go "belly-up" 8-D
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »20.07.20 - 23:57
    Profile