A-EON AmigaOne X5000/20 works great with MorphOS!
  • Just looking around
    Skateman
    Posts: 4 from 2020/10/11
    I see some of the cards are already supported. I will check what chipset my R7 250 is using.
    Then again, 3D etc support would be very welcome.
  • »13.10.20 - 10:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 559 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    @Skateman

    The best card for X5000 with MorphOS is X1950XT. It supports 3d, overlay, 2d acceleration. it is quite cheap but powerfull. It is also supported by AmigaOs4.x although without 3d.
  • »13.10.20 - 12:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Skateman
    Posts: 4 from 2020/10/11
    @zukow

    Thanks but for me that`s just not the way to go for now.
  • »13.10.20 - 18:34
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11095 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> I would be nice if [...] a MorphOS driver for the AMD Radeon SI and RX cards
    >> would appear

    > I believe some of the HD 7xxx and RX 200 series are supported already

    What would have to be supported are HD77xx (GCN1) and newer cards. MorphOS support currently ends with HD76xx (TeraScale 2). The R5 2xx cards currently supported are all TeraScale 2 also. These are not to be confused with the OS4-supported RX 4xx/5xx cards, which are GCN4 (Polaris).
  • »13.10.20 - 18:53
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11095 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > The other Rx or 7xxx cards listed on the page are no Polaris cards.

    Even worse than not being Polaris/GCN4 cards, they are not even GCN1 cards ;-)

    > Radeon R5 230 is a relabeled HD6450 which is a minimally improved
    > HD5450 itself. All 3 sharing the same chipset

    Both R5 230 and HD6450 use Caicos (RV910), but HD5450 uses Cedar (RV810). They are certainly not the same.

    > which is certainly not the same the other Radeon Rx cards (being Polaris).

    There are also many Rx cards between TeraScale 2 and GCN4/Polaris:
    - GCN1: R5/R7/R9 240/250/265/270/280/330/340/350/370/430/435/450/520
    - GCN2: R7/R9/RX 260/290/295/360/390/455
    - GCN3: R9 285/380/Fury/Nano/530
  • »13.10.20 - 19:38
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11095 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I see some of the cards are already supported.

    I don't think so.

    > I will check what chipset my R7 250 is using.

    It's Oland, which is GCN1.

    > Then again, 3D etc support would be very welcome.

    2D support for GCN1 or GCN4 would be a good start ;-)
  • »13.10.20 - 20:08
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11095 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > The best card for X5000 with MorphOS is X1950XT.

    X1950XTX should be a tad faster, but probably also more expensive.
  • »13.10.20 - 20:13
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2152 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    @Epsilon,

    you can fix most of the 'browser unsupported' warnings by changing the User Agent from the menu.
  • »16.10.20 - 16:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Skateman
    Posts: 4 from 2020/10/11
    @Epsilon

    Nice article on your Blog. Good to see morphos an wayfarer running Google Apps on the X5000.
    For now i have to stick with donating the developers. Hope that one day my X5000 will be running morphOS as well with a graphicscard that fully supports both OSes.. (OS4.x - MorphOS)
  • »16.10.20 - 17:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2660 from 2003/2/24
    @ Epsilon

    Very thorough and full article that you obviously have spent lots of time writing. Very nice, thanks! :-)

    Wayfarer does indeed not support media playback, which is a well known fact. Uncertain if it ever will AFAIK. I hope it will, since it's part of a contemporary HTML5+ web experience.

    Maybe speed will improve slightly, but I don't think you should expect miracles in this regard, I think much of it comes down to WebKit and the rest of the world having moved very far away from our 1.5 decade old HW. There is no way around ancient and slow CPU performance for applications simply requiring high performance. The experience should be slightly faster on 2004-2005 level Mac's, but they are no speed daemons either in a contemporary context. MorphOS needs a platform migration urgently.
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »16.10.20 - 19:34
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2660 from 2003/2/24
    @ jacadcaps

    Maybe a "first run" welcome page (after new install of a new version), loaded from the wayfarer.icu site that can be updated quick and easy (with local basic fallback), with tips and tricks for configuration etc? :-)
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »16.10.20 - 19:37
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 259 from 2003/7/26
    From: Chicago, IL
    Looks really nice! I wish I had a GPU on my X5000 that supported MorphOS and AmigaOS 4.1
    DiscreetFX
    Making your
    Digital Films
    More Effective!
  • »19.10.20 - 15:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2660 from 2003/2/24
    That must be terrible...
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »22.10.20 - 17:23
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Flash
    Posts: 28 from 2019/11/1
    Quote:

    xeno74 wrote:
    No, it’s fast and stable. I am surprised.


    Good job!
    Did you use KVM-PR for QEMU? Is there any way to enable tthis?
  • »23.10.20 - 05:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11095 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > it’s fast [...]. I am surprised.

    This would come as a surprise for me too. How fast is 'fast' (in terms of CPU benchmarks like dnetc, for instance)? I assume that despite both cores being Book III-E, the PPC440H6 core is running fully emulated on the e5500 core, rather than using KVM-PR to emulate just the supervisor instructions.
  • »23.10.20 - 07:43
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Flash
    Posts: 28 from 2019/11/1
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > it’s fast [...]. I am surprised.

    This would come as a surprise for me too. How fast is 'fast' (in terms of CPU benchmarks like dnetc, for instance)? I assume that despite both cores being Book III-E, the PPC440H6 core is running fully emulated on the e5500 core, rather than using KVM-PR to emulate just the supervisor instructions.


    Indeed QEMU is quite fast in CPU/Memory related tasks.
    With TCG dinamic compiler all powerpc code is translated in host native asm code, with instruction cache support to avoid to repeat the same work again and again..
    Tested it with various software on OS4 and MOS, some written/ported by myself :-)
    Big slowdown appears on GFX task, at least on OS4.1 emulation.
    This specific issue is, at least partially, due the SM501 emulated board and it's internal 32bit mode VS only 16bit screenmodes support on amiga side.

    Balaton Zoltan is developing an ATI vga alternative for both MOS/OS4 that shouild be faster and more compatible, even for 3d stuff.
    He is also planning a Pegasos2 virtual board for QEMU and possibility to run MOS/OS4 in KVM mode on powerpc machines like Powermacs G4/G5.
  • »23.10.20 - 09:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 259 from 2003/7/26
    From: Chicago, IL
    @Flash

    Do you have a link to setup MorphOS in this VM like environment?
    DiscreetFX
    Making your
    Digital Films
    More Effective!
  • »23.10.20 - 12:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Flash
    Posts: 28 from 2019/11/1
    Look at Xeno74 post #40
    Open the png image link an use the same QEMU launch string used in its terminal window.

    I have never launched MOS on QEMU, I used only Sam460ex OS4.1fe, so I can't give you a direct support.

    Maybe Xeno74 can give some tips about
  • »23.10.20 - 14:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11095 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Indeed QEMU is quite fast in CPU/Memory related tasks.

    Thanks.

    > Balaton Zoltan is developing an ATI vga alternative for both MOS/OS4
    > [...]. He is also planning a Pegasos2 virtual board for QEMU

    Yes, we talked about those projects some months ago :-)
  • »23.10.20 - 23:49
    Profile