Pegasos 2 set to 10 MBit/s?
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 539 from 2007/7/29
    Hello,

    when I show the env settings with printenv on my Peg2 it has these lines:
    nvramrc
    1: devalias net /pci@80000000/ethernet@D:speed=10,duplex=half

    Does this mean the firmware is configured to 10MBit and not 100 or 1000? What is the correct value for this and how can I set it? And how can I know if this is the 100 or 1000MBit connector?
  • »19.05.20 - 14:19
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1982 from 2003/2/24
    Did you try to speedtest either interface when booted up in MorphOS and/or Linux?


    Also "devalias" just suggests that anything running IN OpenFirmware would access "net" and get those specs, drivers in an OS wouldn't be effected.
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »19.05.20 - 15:58
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 539 from 2007/7/29
    I don't have Linux. Which one still works? I think most Linuxes have stopped PPC support.
    Has MorphOS a speed tool for this? I sued AmiSpeedTest from aminet. Average download speed = 5042 kilobits/s. Average upload speed = 7923 kilobits/s. That is very slow. I have more than 20Mbps download with Windows.

    The switch says "10M" to the 100MBit port of the Peg and "1000M" to the 1000MBit port.
  • »19.05.20 - 16:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 373 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    connor schrieb:
    I don't have Linux. Which one still works? I think most Linuxes have stopped PPC support.


    Just use Void Linux for PPC. Boots straight into desktop and it got recent kernel and software.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.13 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »19.05.20 - 17:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11012 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Just use Void Linux for PPC.

    Would be interesting to know if it runs on the Pegasos 2 as is.
  • »19.05.20 - 17:49
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11012 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I don't have Linux. Which one still works?

    Debian 8 was the last Debian release with official Pegasos 2 support.

    > Average download speed = 5042 kilobits/s. Average upload speed = 7923 kilobits/s.
    > That is very slow. I have more than 20Mbps download with Windows.

    The MorphOS TCP/IP stack and the driver-sided SANA-II interface are especially slow for WAN connections. Better test LAN speed (preferably low-overhead protocol like FTP) which should be nearer to the theoretical maximum, so you can see whether it's operating in 10MbE or 100MbE mode.
  • »19.05.20 - 18:31
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 539 from 2007/7/29
    It's the same. Not more than 8200 kilobits/s. And expected because the switch says the port is only connected with 10Mb/s. And this is confirmed from the Debian boot. I plugged two network cabels in but it used the 100MBit/s port but only with 10MBit/s. 500MB download from internet - 1MB/s.
    So what do I need to change in open firmware to get 100Mbit/s?
  • »19.05.20 - 22:14
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Flash
    Posts: 20 from 2019/11/1
    Check the cable if it's a cat 5 or newer it could be damaged .
  • »19.05.20 - 23:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 539 from 2007/7/29
    The cable is fine.
  • »20.05.20 - 09:20
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    OffseT
    Posts: 14 from 2019/8/23
    FYI, MorphOS states 10MB but it is actually 100MB. And the speed you have are normal with current TCP/IP stack and drivers. I have the same and my switch states 100BaseTX-FD on this port.

    Please also note that the 1GB port of the Peg2 is currently buggy with MorphOS. It is first faster than the 100MB port, but it shortly becomes laggy and then hugely slower.

    [ Edité par OffseT 20.05.2020 - 13:11 ]
  • »20.05.20 - 13:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 539 from 2007/7/29
    MorphOS Preferences, then System, then Networks do not show the speedd at all if 10 or 100 or 1000MBit. But I trust the switch which says that it is only 10MBit/s on this port and for other devices it shows corerctly 100 or 1000MBit and I switched the cables to check if a cable is wrong or a switch port but they are okay so I am sure that The Peg2 is only 10MBit and not 100. If I change the cable on the Peg from 100MBit port to 1000MBit port and the second calbe the other way round my switch immediately shows that change. And If plug it into another computer it shows 1000MBit in the switch and when I take the cable from another computer to the PEg than it is only 10MBit/s.

    So I am sure now that the printenv display that I wrote in the beginning is the limit so the question is how I can change it. Then maybe at least the switch will show it correctly at 100MBit.

    If MorphOs is slow and buggy then this is very pity because it makes it difficult to use the computer in the network.
  • »20.05.20 - 13:47
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    OffseT
    Posts: 14 from 2019/8/23
    If you only see 10MB on switch side, then you might have an issue with cable, switch or a compatibility issue. I remember I had one at Revision between my PowerBook and a local switch. PB was ok, switch was ok, cable was ok, but all together didn't work as expected ^^.

    So, my switch actually detects 100MB for the Peg2 100MB interface as I told you (even if I read 10MB in MorphOS and OF). And yes, the switch is okay because it detects other 10MB card (Amiga ones) and Pegasos/PB 1000MB.

    The speed is poor anyway, but it is far than enough for regular usage :)

    [ Edité par OffseT 21.05.2020 - 00:48 ]
  • »21.05.20 - 00:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 539 from 2007/7/29
    I wrote it above. The cable is fine and the switch is fine. I did all the tests already with other computers and I put other cables to the Peg, too. In all other combinations it is Gigabit, only on the Peg it is 10MBit no matter with which cable or switch port.

    This little speed is enough for you maybe but not for everyone.
  • »22.05.20 - 16:58
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    OffseT
    Posts: 14 from 2019/8/23
    What is strange is that you should really see a 100MB connection like I do (and a 1000MB one with the 1GB interface).

    Maybe your Pegasos 2 is faulty?
    Did you try another switch? (compatibility issue?)
    Did you try a PCI ethernet card on Pegasos 2?
  • »22.05.20 - 18:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 539 from 2007/7/29
    I tried another switch and it also shows 10MBit. I don't have a PCI card.
  • »22.05.20 - 22:05
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Flash
    Posts: 20 from 2019/11/1
    install debian 8.10 ad second os and test with it, if still 10mb there's an hw problem.
    look also inside peg2 rear eth port for dust and presence of all 8 wire connectors.
  • »23.05.20 - 00:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 941 from 2004/9/23
    Just use the gigabit port. It works fine.
  • »23.05.20 - 11:18
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    OffseT
    Posts: 14 from 2019/8/23
    Quote:

    geit a écrit :
    Just use the gigabit port. It works fine.


    Unfortunately, it does not work that fine. There is a issue with the driver I guess.
    After a while, it becomes very laggy and finally totally unusable.
  • »23.05.20 - 11:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 22 from 2020/5/1
    Quote:

    Flash wrote:
    install debian 8.10 ad second os and test with it, if still 10mb there's an hw problem.
    look also inside peg2 rear eth port for dust and presence of all 8 wire connectors.


    4 wires are enough for 10 and 100 Mbit. 8 wires are needed only for 1000 Mbit.
  • »23.05.20 - 14:06
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 84 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    OffseT wrote:
    Quote:

    geit a écrit :
    Just use the gigabit port. It works fine.


    Unfortunately, it does not work that fine. There is a issue with the driver I guess.
    After a while, it becomes very laggy and finally totally unusable.

    I cannot confirm this 1Gb port error.
    I am normally using 1Gb port on my Pegasos2. No problems. On switch it signalizes 1Gb.
    It is faster with MorphOS than AmigaOS on the same machine.

    But I remember, that many years ago - maybe when MorpOS starts to support 1Gb port on Pegasos - I had also problems with 1Gb port. But after e-mailing with Alex from bplan I received new firmware. After patch, all works wery fine.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »23.05.20 - 21:17
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 84 from 2019/5/9
    sorry - previous text "It is faster with MorphOS than AmigaOS on the same machine." it not exact.
    AmigaOS have no 1Gb port driver yet, so:
    1Gb port with MorphOS is faster than 100Mb port with AmigaOS on the same machine.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »23.05.20 - 21:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11012 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > e-mailing with Alex from bplan

    I know Thomas, Gerald and Nicolas from bplan, but who is Alex? :-)
  • »24.05.20 - 08:25
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    OffseT
    Posts: 14 from 2019/8/23
    Quote:

    sailor a écrit :
    But I remember, that many years ago - maybe when MorpOS starts to support 1Gb port on Pegasos - I had also problems with 1Gb port. But after e-mailing with Alex from bplan I received new firmware. After patch, all works wery fine.


    That's interesting information, but my Pegasos 2 is already a 2B5 with lastest firmware. Was it some unofficial firmware update?

    What I experimented about this 1GB port issue, is that you won't notice it strongly at the beginnning. It becomes slowly more and more laggy, and then suddently totally unusable after 5 or 6 hours. Maybe some stress tests with intensive network traffic could trigger it faster.
  • »24.05.20 - 12:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 84 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > e-mailing with Alex from bplan

    I know Thomas, Gerald and Nicolas from bplan, but who is Alex? :-)

    Yeah, you are right - Thomas ...
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »24.05.20 - 17:33
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 84 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    OffseT wrote:
    That's interesting information, but my Pegasos 2 is already a 2B5 with lastest firmware. Was it some unofficial firmware update?


    I dont't think unofficial. Simply latest firmware for 2B2.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »24.05.20 - 17:34
    Profile