Scandal and Mustek Bearpaw probs...
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 130 from 2013/8/25
    Hello,

    I'm using Scandal 1.9 under MorphOS 3.12 on a PowerBook G4 17", with a Packard Bell Diamond 1200 Plus (a re-badged Mustek Bearpaw). This sort-of works, with probably about 1 in 3 scanning attempts successful. The other 2 out of 3 times though, it starts to move the scanning head before failing with a "Bad Parameter" error from Scandal.

    I've tried to hone down the error to see if certain setting combinations were causing it (e.g. certain resolutions or colour/line art/greyscale settings the scanner didn't like). I've also tried to see if any errors were being flagged by Snoopium, but to no avail. I've even opened the scanner up and carefully greased the scanning rail - as I wondered if this was sticking on these occassions and causing some safety stop mechanism.

    Has anyone had any similar issues to this with Scandal? Would be great to have a reliable scanning solution under MorphOS.

    Many thanks
  • »06.05.20 - 05:14
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 709 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Yes, same issue here with Epson-scanner. This only accours on Apple-Computers - on Pegasos or Efika are no problems.
    This issue seems to accurs first with MOS3.10. I made a ticket about some time ago.
    I don't know whether this only applies to USB-connection, or SCSI too (have a SCSI-Card but no SCSI-Scanner to test).
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »06.05.20 - 07:49
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 130 from 2013/8/25
    Ah, interesting. Ok. Thanks. At least that prevents me sourcing another scanner for it. Might try different software.

    Cheers
  • »07.05.20 - 05:16
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 873 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Quote:

    Amigaharry2 wrote: Yes, same issue here with Epson-scanner. ...] I don't know whether this only applies to USB-connection, or SCSI too (have a SCSI-Card but no SCSI-Scanner to test).

    The Epson 1640SU scanner has both SCSI and USB ports and is a fairly reliable scanner on MorphOS, and has support for the ADF adapter as well. It works OK for me on MorphOS, but I find when it is disconneted/switched off after doing a bit of scanning that you cannot add another USB device/not recognised/mounted until you reboot. I have raised this with Zukow in the past, but not seen/heard back that this issue has been addressed as yet. :-(
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »07.05.20 - 06:17
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 709 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I've also a 1640SU, but SCSI-Port seems damaged....won't work, even with A3000 (SCSI-device not recognized), so no test possible.

    @newsense: are you useing a Mac with MOS?
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »07.05.20 - 08:24
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 873 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Quote:

    Amigaharry2 wrote: I've also a 1640SU, but SCSI-Port seems damaged....won't work, even with A3000 (SCSI-device not recognized), so no test possible.

    I know the Epson 1640SU was going to be named the GT8700 scanner, but as Epson (Seiko) were renaming that series of scanner designs it was never named that officially, as far as I know, though on some sites the model is recognised.

    That said, I know the SCSI port on mine works OK, as I used to use it with my Classic Amiga setup, when I used ScanQuix with it, which is actually a better, fuller featured program IMHO than SCANdal, though SCANdal does have some benefits over ScanQuix.

    I just wish ScanQuix 3, 4 and 5 worked on MorphOS, as I'd swap back to that program if I could when using MorphOS.
    Quote:

    Amigaharry2 wrote: @newsense: are you useing a Mac with MOS?

    See my 'signature' - it's a 'dead' giveaway. 8-D

    [ Edited by NewSense 07.05.2020 - 22:22 ]
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »07.05.20 - 22:21
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 130 from 2013/8/25
    Is there any other easily sourced scanner software which works on MorphOS?
  • »08.05.20 - 05:10
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 873 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Actually I think Scanquix will initiate on MorphOS, it's just the practical part of there not being a direct support for SCSI on some of the Apple hardware, in particular as far as it concerns me, as I use a MacMini mainly, so there is no way to add-in a SCSI card or use parallel or serial leads, which are the primary devices it was intended/developed for it to be connected to Amiga hardware, not specifically to the Mac Mini - I only wish it had been.

    Andreas Gunther, author of ScanQuix did create a USB driver for some of the scanners of the time, and probably the Epson one he did work on would support the 1640SU scanner, but I don't have that USB add-in software.

    Having said that I haven't fiddled with the settings much over the last few years to see if it will recognise the Epson 1640SU on the usbscsi.device of Poseidon, so that is a possibility I suppose.

    If you've got a PowerMac with PCI slots you might try a SCSI card in those and see if ScanQuix would work that way. I do have a PowerMac G5 with PCI slots, and I have a few SCSI cards, but they are stored away, not easy to get at for the time being so that could be an option to try, and I haven't tried that option either at the moment.

    The issue for you might be getting hold of/buying if from ScanQuix 5 at Vesalia who used to sell it don't seem to have it listed in their product list anymore, though that seems to be a 'holding page' for it.

    FxScan v4 - IOSpirit - no longer available, but weblink info to read was also a possibility, but then again IOSpirit (Felix Schwarz) left the Amiga scene some time ago (2007). If you can get hold of FxPaint CD then I believe there was a free trial version of FxScan on there, though I think it needs a Serial Number to use it, but I'm sure this can be acquired if need be. You can probably get the files for all of these programs from some of the Amiga based websites that hold application software on them.

    [ Edited by NewSense 08.05.2020 - 08:01 ]
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »08.05.20 - 07:58
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 709 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Scanquix (3.8) is working well on my other G5 with an older Artec 6000C Viewstation-Scanner (SCSI). SCSI-Card: PCI with Symbios-Logic SCSI-Chip (see supported hardware: https://www.morphos-team.net/hardware )

    Till USB-problems with Scandal are fixed on Mac-systems, I connected the Epson to my EFIKA, where he does perfect.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »08.05.20 - 08:45
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 553 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Hi all, so ...

    1) Scandal and its drivers are based on Betascan by Svend Daugaard Pedersen, which based his drivers on SANE linux package. 68k version is still available on Aminet with some of the scanners.
    2) FXScan was commercial version of Betascan made by Iospiryt (there was FXScan lite in Genesi bundle for MorphOS). FxScan used the same drivers as Betascan, just has extended gui, ocr abilities etc.
    3) SCANdal, made as simple freeware frontend for Betascan drivers for all who didn't want 29euro for FxScan, uses the same Betascan drivers
    4) Scanquix uses different set of drivers, not compatible with betascan.
    5) There is only one really working USB driver for 68k. It's epsonusb.device, included in FXScan but also in Thylacine package. EpsonUSB driver makes use of usbraw.device, for bulk transfers.
    6) Most of USB Sane drivers does't use bulk transfer so i made nearly correct implenention of USB part of SANE for Poseidon, although disconnection doesn't work properly. Need to be fixed, yes.
    7) Gt68xx scanners are pure shit, they have worst quality.
    8) My list of best scanners are: Epson1640SU, CanonLide 210 and Mustek ScanExpress 600.
    9) I know about usb issues, although i don't have time to check it in this month, if somebody has time, please check if drivers/scandal from any morphos release works with 3.13. It may be a problem with Poseidon itself. My 1640Su also recently refuses to work some time.It's really strange as it has worked for the last 10 years.
  • »10.05.20 - 11:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 709 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Tried MorphOS 3.11 with SCANDAL V1.6 (from MorphoS 3.7): works!
    Tried ist with Scandal V1.9: Doesn't work! - "unknown Error" when start scanning.

    Tried it with MorphOS 3.12/13 (any version of Scandal): Connects to scanner but doesn't start scanning (gives "Unknown Error")

    System: PowerMac G5/2.3 GHz

    Hope, this will help a bit....
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »11.05.20 - 11:18
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 553 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    One question, have you used paired Scandal + driver from one MorphOS release (so MorphOS 3.11 and Scandal 1.6 and scanner driver from MorphOS 3.7)?
  • »11.05.20 - 11:52
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 709 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Used epson2.device V2.36 from MOS 3.11 an Scandal V1.6 from MOS 3.7.

    I booted with MOS3.11 (have a seperate installation on a CF-Card) and started Scandal directly from MOS3.7-iso. Then choose epson2.device from CF-Card and thats it..........
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »11.05.20 - 15:56
    Profile