Printing multiple pages
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    GMKai
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/7
    Hello,

    I have some PDFs I need to print.
    Printing a single page works fine.
    But printing the whole document at once fails.
    I use VPDF to open the file.
    I select pages 1 - last.
    The gauge is filled for all pages claiming they are processed.
    The printer spins up and only one page gets really printed.
    When going manually through the selection printing one page at a time the output is fine.

    When doing the selection of pages to fast the output gets merged onto a single page.

    My printer is a HP Laserjet Pro 400 M401a, connected via USB.

    As I said printing a single page works fine.

    What option should I check, or what can be configured or reported to get this fine?
  • »01.05.20 - 09:39
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 698 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    What printing-system and drivers are you useing (there are 2 in MOS)? PS via TurboPrint, or direct Postcript? In last case, what .ppd-driverfile do you use?

    Your printer supports pdf-printing. What happens, if you copy your PDF directly to the printer? With certain pdfs, VPDF seems to have strange issues. You may also copy your pdf to a online pdf-converter (https://online2pdf.com/de/) and convert it pdf2pdf. In most cases VPDF will accept these pdf now.

    Your printer is network capable - why are you useing USB instead of ethernet (netprinter.device)? If you do, you have access to the webinterface and all prefs of your printer via OWB.....
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »01.05.20 - 10:40
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    GMKai
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/7
    I am printing with the new System.
    The device to use is USBPAR:

    Code:


    Handler = MOSSYS:L/port-handler
    StackSize = 4096
    Priority = 5
    GlobVec = -1
    Startup = "DEVICE=usbparallel.device UNIT=0 TYPE=parallel"



    PPD:

    "hp-laserjet_4ml"
    should be from here:
    PPDs

    [ Editiert durch GMKai 01.05.2020 - 16:29 ]
  • »01.05.20 - 15:27
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 698 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    ppd should be fit. Have yo tried direct print of your PDF to printer?
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »01.05.20 - 19:00
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    GMKai
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/7
    I tried printing via APDF to have some pages selected which worked fine.
    So I guess it might be something with the document or VPDF... will see what to check next...
    copying PDF to PRT / PRINTER directly would be to paperconsuming I guess...
  • »02.05.20 - 12:53
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 550 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    i'll try to check this today, i see *LanguageLevel: "2" in ppd so only Postscript 2 is supported so please check with setting PS level to 2
  • »02.05.20 - 14:44
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 698 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Quote:

    GMKai schrieb:
    I tried printing via APDF to have some pages selected which worked fine.
    So I guess it might be something with the document or VPDF... will see what to check next...
    copying PDF to PRT / PRINTER directly would be to paperconsuming I guess...


    The technical data says that your printer can directly print pdf (as mine -HP Colorlaserjat PRO 252 - does).

    http://www.google.at/url?q=http://www.web-datenblatt.de/xslt/getDataSheet%3Fmethod%3DgetDataSheet%26iwsKey%3DxhPo4Rt3ek4tP0OsswWxgg%26productId%3D2210775000%26customSheet%3Dtrue%26pdf%3Dtrue%26returnAsFile%3Dfalse&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwi1yoGt3JXpAhUyxosKHWyWDi8QFjABegQIChAB&usg=AOvVaw1oY-rjd0K1SaD2xi2tSRAm

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 02.05.2020 - 19:39 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »02.05.20 - 18:38
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    GMKai
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/7
    PS:
    Was always on Level 2.

    Copying:
    copy test.pdf to PRT:
    copy test.pdf to PRINTER:
    both lines give "plain garbage" instead of the picture/document

    I noticed with APDF that the documentversion is 1.7 which gives logoutput with APDF.
    From APDF I can send the document in one go to the printer via copying to PS: which should be TP.

    Printing within VPDF is still only one page a time.
  • »04.05.20 - 07:26
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 698 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    No, no! I said directly to the printer!!! Copy to USBPAR:


    Why useing Turboprint-translation? APDF can also print Postscript directly: For "File" type USBPAR:


    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 04.05.2020 - 12:45 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »04.05.20 - 11:42
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    GMKai
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/7
    Quote:

    Copy to USBPAR:


    That worked, even for multipage documents.


    Which means, there is something in VPDF preventing mulit-page documents to get printed?
  • »05.05.20 - 09:52
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 698 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I don't know. I never had that problem with VPDF. In my case some PDFs where still not printable with VPDF: the printer tries to start (can here it's running-up noise), but then stops. Interessting: These files can be print in APDF and also in VPDF after converting it in a online-PDF-converter from "PDF to PDF". Seems that something changed during that procedure......

    And think about: Sending a PDF directly to the printer is not the same as converting it to postscript and send it then (as VPDF does). Zukow is reading here too and I think he will find the problem.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »05.05.20 - 11:12
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 550 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Ok, i've checked here and everything seems to be working ok, (although i printed on my HP CP 3525 but using your ppd from the link).

    To check what is wrong:
    please select output path in System Printers preferences to ram:output.ps

    Load and Print SYS:Docs/ModeEdit.pdf

    Send me the file from ram:output.ps

    You can also check how it looks like in Ghostscript
    MOSSYS:Data/Printers/gs RAM:output.ps

    escape and later enter key will move to the next page.

    [ Edited by zukow 12.05.2020 - 22:33 ]
  • »12.05.20 - 21:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    GMKai
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/7
    file.ps
    With my current setup printing is only possible via TP.
    I am digging around for a PPD that works.
    With the above mentioned files the printer does not do anything, while printing via TP works.
    Viewing files with GS works too.


    Is there any other file to check?
  • »04.06.20 - 14:26
    Profile