powerbook 1.67 crashes when I download something
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Powerbook 1.67 cracht if I dowload something with OWB.
    Totally unusable. With both large and small files.
    Don't bother with all other programs.
    I can play perfect games, stream radio, watch photos, youtube also goes. Only when downloading the computer freezes completely.
    New installation done from 3.13
    I have 2 X 1 Gig memory in it.
    I have already taken out the memory. Changed, blown clean with air pressure.
    I also did MemTest in the shell. Memory OK.

    Someone good advice for me?

    [ Bewerkt door dirkzwager 06.04.2020 - 22:26 ]
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »06.04.20 - 21:23
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2451 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    It would help to specify the way you use to connect to the net. We're aware of an issue like that in the driver for the built-in wireless card. Unfortunately we have no access to hardware (AP) that would let us reproduce it.
  • »06.04.20 - 22:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    just via wireless internet, but I guess you didn't mean this by your question?
    I'll connect the computer to the cable and see if the problem is solved
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »06.04.20 - 22:41
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    It would help to specify the way you use to connect to the net. We're aware of an issue like that in the driver for the built-in wireless card. Unfortunately we have no access to hardware (AP) that would let us reproduce it.


    I have switched off wirelessly at the network settings and of course switched on with the wire.
    Then the computer immediately crashes completely, as soon as I click use or save.
    I have tested this several times and each time a total crash.
    I don't remember this giving you a problem with Morph 3.8? Would this have changed? Or it could of course also be the hardware. This makes the computer unusable, of course.

    [ Bewerkt door dirkzwager 07.04.2020 - 09:14 ]
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »07.04.20 - 08:12
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Quote:

    jPV wrote:
    Can you boot from the MorphOS 3.13 installation CD (or image) and have it connected by a wire. Then open the Network settings, click Use, and then try to launch OWB and see if you can browse? Just to make sure there isn't anything wrong in the HD.



    This works perfect !!!
    Boot from cd, wired and it runs good.

    what is the conclution?
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »07.04.20 - 10:18
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1781 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Then it could be that you have something wrong in your installation on HD. I don't know what it could be, so it's just guessing and trying.

    Maybe some config file is corrupted? Try to remove some network related config files? Start with these, but keep them backupped somewhere in case you need restore them.
    SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/sys/interface.prefs
    SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/sys/interfaces
    SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/sys/netconfig
    SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/sys/wireless.prefs

    And after removing them from use, reboot and then try to configure network again from the Network settings. Try with the wired cable and default settings first?

    Or maybe your OWB installation is corrupt? Try to copy it from the CD if it helps?

    Or if you don't have anything important in the system, maybe a completely clean install of the OS would do too (so that drives get formatted).
  • »07.04.20 - 10:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2451 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    The wireless crash issue is, again, a known problem. You could try to modify the 2.4GHz advanced settings in your access point and see if it makes any difference. Let us know what access point you're using too.
  • »07.04.20 - 12:57
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    The wireless crash issue is, again, a known problem.


    Is this problem only with 3.1X or also with 3.8 and 3.8 ?
    i can not remenmber that the problem was so big.

    don't remember that this used to be so bad ( 3.9 ). although I've always had crashes.
    It seems this has gotten worse and worse over time.
    But maybe it's just a thought.

    I want to see if I am at 2400 HZ with the wireless network, but I have to ask for help from my nephew. I don't know about that.
    Only the strange thing is that the computer with wire also freezes.
    My powerMac G5 with Morph 3.13 IS SUPER stable ( no wirles )
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »07.04.20 - 19:25
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2451 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    Only the strange thing is that the computer with wire also freezes.


    Are you sure you've switched to wired internet in Network preferences? What access point/router do you own? Make a photo that shows model number or so, please.

    The wireless cards we support all use only the 2.4GHz band, by the way.
  • »07.04.20 - 19:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 885 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    You're right - with older MOS-versions it was a bit better (but never perfect).
    The wireless-problem depends also to the used router. I'm useing here a Pirelli-Router and 2 Powerbooks without any problem. Internal Airport works well (if router is not to far away) and Atheros Cardbuscard works well too. Same constellation with a Huawei-router crashes at logging or after a short while transfering data. Airport crashes always and Atheros very often. Unfortunately there is no suitable possibility to change internal parameters on Huawei-router (switch back to older standarts), so it's not useable for MOS and WIFI for now.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »07.04.20 - 19:52
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Quote:

    Only the strange thing is that the computer with wire also freezes.


    Are you sure you've switched to wired internet in Network preferences? What access point/router do you own? Make a photo that shows model number or so, please.

    The wireless cards we support all use only the 2.4GHz band, by the way.


    I sent you the photos by email. I haven't this for very long and we have this "free" from the provider "
    I am very sure that I have turned off without wires and turned on with wires. Tested 3 times.
    I will test it again by booting the CD.
    I also have an old apple airport (+10 years old) here and go see if it is a difference.
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »07.04.20 - 20:19
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Test 123 Test 123
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »08.04.20 - 16:55
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Quote:

    dirkzwager wrote:
    Test 123 Test 123


    I I have been using my old apple airport for 2 days now. This is much slower but apparently works without problems with my powerbook.
    So apparently the problem is with my router giving a conflict as mentioned in one of the top posts.
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »11.04.20 - 09:50
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    It would help to specify the way you use to connect to the net. We're aware of an issue like that in the driver for the built-in wireless card. Unfortunately we have no access to hardware (AP) that would let us reproduce it.


    Can I help you with more information about the router that is causing problems?
    Otherwise I ask my nephew to take a look at it and he'll help me with this.
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »11.04.20 - 09:52
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2451 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Hi. Yes, we know this is related to the device on the other end. We'll try to obtain the router you have and test that. Problem is none of the devices we currently have would let us repro the issue. For now, please continue to use a config that works for you.
  • »11.04.20 - 19:05
    Profile Visit Website