How to run MorphOS on unsupported iMAC G5
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    sailor
    Posts: 44 from 2019/5/9
    Hello,

    inspired by zukow thread about powermac G5 here is some info about MorphOS 3.12 on unsupported iMac G5/2.1 (PowerMac12.1):

    + installation works out of the box from instalation CD
    + builtin graphics (Radeon X600 XT) supported
    + sound is supported
    + ide is supported
    + sata is supported
    + usb is supported
    + temperature sensors are supported
    + onboard lan is supported
    + onboard wifi is supported
    + firewire is supported (at least for HDD connection)

    - no bootlogo
    - fans runs all the time at 100%
    - graphics sometimes crashes (GraphicsSpeed, SDLBench, SDL game 1941), but except these three other tested works - for example Quake 3, Tower57, DOSBox(=SDL), OWB with youtube videos.
    - camera not supported ;-)

    Majority of OS works with no problem. Fluently and quickly.
    See SystemMonitor and GraphicBoards.
    Now I have my iMacG5 MorphOS registered and after addition of NIC I will register also PowermacG5 Quad.

    I made some tests and compares speed of machines:
    Pegasos is overclocked to 1.33GHz. AmigaOne X1000 runs AmigaOS 4.1FE, all others MorphOS 3.12
    Dhystone+Whetstone and games
    Exact numbers are in tables in this article (CZ).

    Today iMacG5 is suitable for web surfing and gaming and other joy - with small gfx limitations. For me the biggest problem is loud fans.

    Generally I am very satisfied with support of "unsupported" computers from MorphOS Devs. Many thanks again.
    MorphOS support for unsupported is better then some other OS support for supported.

    I have one question - how to debug via firewire?
    iMAC firevire port works OK with external HDD. After graphics crashes I want to debug iMAC, but with no success.
    I have SDK installed (3.14)
    firewire connected with Pegasos2 (SDK 3.12?)
    if I set iMAC/logtool prefs: ohci1394_mon SM, on Peg2 nothing visible
    if I try run ohci1394_mon SM from shell there is allways error.
    Pls, what is correct settings? Is it SN on one side and DPO on other - like here?
    There is also info:"Added Firewire debugging to bootargs on the Macs", but I don't find exact bootarg in docs.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »29.11.19 - 08:27
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10681 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > games

    The ≈60 FPS figures for Quake 3 on Pegasos, iMac G5 and AmigaOne X1000 suspiciously look like they might be the result of enabled vertical sync with the 60 Hz monitor refresh rate. It may be coincidence, though.
  • »29.11.19 - 09:29
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    sailor
    Posts: 44 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    The ≈60 FPS figures for Quake 3 on Pegasos, iMac G5 and AmigaOne X1000 suspiciously look like they might be the result of enabled vertical sync with the 60 Hz monitor refresh rate. It may be coincidence, though.


    Pegasos & iMAC vertical sync was disabled - acc. to this post.
    AmigaOne X1000: I don't know exactly, for testing I use ioquake3. I used the same settings like for MorphOS, but "setenv TGLSYNC 0" maybe have no effect on AmigaOS.
    Also relatively poor results of powerbookG4 and iMacG5 can be caused by running the test in resolution (1600x1200) bigger then native resolution of their displays.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »29.11.19 - 10:09
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10681 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > "setenv TGLSYNC 0" maybe have no effect on AmigaOS.

    Yes, that's for sure. OS4 does not use TinyGL, after all.
  • »29.11.19 - 11:39
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1944 from 2003/2/24
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:

    - no bootlogo
    - fans runs all the time at 100%
    - graphics sometimes crashes (GraphicsSpeed, SDLBench, SDL game 1941), but except these three other tested works - for example Quake 3, Tower57, DOSBox(=SDL), OWB with youtube videos.





    I have the same iMac running 3.12/3.13 betas for several months now and can't confirm any of these.

    Well, to be honest not 100% sure bout the bootlogo (would only be displayed for a splitsecond with my SSD) and I haven't really pushed it in the GFX department.

    Unit is pretty silent with reasonable temps even when pushing the CPU (and no, no secret-handshake fan control active).
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »29.11.19 - 12:25
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 441 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Might need to open up your Imac and make sure it ain't clogged up or maybe clean and reapply the thermal paste. :)

    On Quake 3 under MorphOS, be sure to /r_primitives 2 and then /timedemo 1 .
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »29.11.19 - 13:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 10 from 2019/10/15
    I run the same iMac and I also don't experience those issues. Mine is silent.
  • »29.11.19 - 16:19
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1593 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    I have one question - how to debug via firewire?
    iMAC firevire port works OK with external HDD. After graphics crashes I want to debug iMAC, but with no success.
    I have SDK installed (3.14)
    firewire connected with Pegasos2 (SDK 3.12?)
    if I set iMAC/logtool prefs: ohci1394_mon SM, on Peg2 nothing visible
    if I try run ohci1394_mon SM from shell there is allways error.
    Pls, what is correct settings? Is it SN on one side and DPO on other - like here?
    There is also info:"Added Firewire debugging to bootargs on the Macs", but I don't find exact bootarg in docs.

    I don't know about Peg2, but I recently did some debug via FireWire between two different Mac setups. First between two PowerMac G5 machines and then between Mac mini and Powerbook. It worked in similar way in both cases.

    As the FireWire support has been enabled in the boot.img since 3.12, I had to disable it on the machine I run ohci1394_mon, because it doesn't seem to work if Helios is running. To disable it I gave "fwdebug" (or shorter "fd") argument to the boot.img. If FireWire support isn't enabled in boot.img on Pegasos2 but only on Macs, then this step can be skipped. But in any case the FireWire support must be turned on on the "source" machine you want to get the log from, and turned off on the "destination" machine you want to get the log to.

    I didn't get ohci1394_mon to work by any other way but in the "interactive mode". So I started it by "ohci1394_mon ia", and then used the "dl" command to view the log in real time, or "dl ram:fwlog.txt" to save the log to a file. Don't use plain "dl" before "dl file" if you want to get the full log, because "dl" clears it to the point it displays it.

    I needed to get the debug at boot time, so I also gave "ed=init" argument to the boot.img. Not related to this case, but I'll document it in this post if needed in the future ;)

    [ Edited by jPV 29.11.2019 - 20:48 ]
  • »29.11.19 - 18:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    sailor
    Posts: 44 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Kronos wrote:
    I have the same iMac running 3.12/3.13 betas for several months now and can't confirm any of these.

    Well, to be honest not 100% sure bout the bootlogo (would only be displayed for a splitsecond with my SSD) and I haven't really pushed it in the GFX department.

    Unit is pretty silent with reasonable temps even when pushing the CPU (and no, no secret-handshake fan control active).


    Bootlogo is minor issue. During boot process on iMac(HDD) I see grey screen and after that ambient screen.
    Booting process with Powermac G5 Quad is faster (SSD), and I see the logo.

    The fans on my iMac runs silently with MacOS and Linux. On full speed with morphos. In means it is probably no mechanical problem.
    tool sensorlist shows CPU temp 48C and other temps are lower.
    Maybe Alert limit ? it's set to 0C for CPU and 80C for others.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »29.11.19 - 19:06
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    sailor
    Posts: 44 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Doffo wrote:
    Might need to open up your Imac and make sure it ain't clogged up or maybe clean and reapply the thermal paste. :)

    On Quake 3 under MorphOS, be sure to /r_primitives 2 and then /timedemo 1 .



    Fans are cleaned. Next time when I will opens iMac I will check again everything. But i think it is no mechanical.

    yes, all tested configurations have /r_primitives 2 and identical all settings.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »29.11.19 - 19:12
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    sailor
    Posts: 44 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    jPV wrote:
    I don't know about Peg2, but I recently did some debug via FireWire between two different Mac setups. First between two PowerMac G5 machines and then between Mac mini and Powerbook. It worked in similar way in both cases.

    As the FireWire support has been enabled in the boot.img since 3.12, I had to disable it on the machine I run ohci1394_mon, because it doesn't seem to work if Helios is running. To disable it I gave "fwdebug" (or shorter "fd") argument to the boot.img. If FireWire support isn't enabled in boot.img on Pegasos2 but only on Macs, then this step can be skipped. But in any case the FireWire support must be turned on on the "source" machine you want to get the log from, and turned off on the "destination" machine you want to get the log to.

    I didn't get ohci1394_mon to work by any other way but in the "interactive mode". So I started it by "ohci1394_mon ia", and then used the "dl" command to view the log in real time, or "dl ram:fwlog.txt" to save the log to a file. Don't use plain "dl" before "dl file" if you want to get the full log, because "dl" clears it to the point it displays it.

    I needed to get the debug at boot time, so I also gave "ed=init" argument to the boot.img. Not related to this case, but I'll document it in this post if needed in the future ;)


    Many thanks! It works.
    Pegasos2 don't need fwdebug argument. The thing is INTERACTIVE mode on iMAC, and not SERVERMODE which I tried before.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »29.11.19 - 19:26
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Flash
    Posts: 5 from 2019/11/1
    Nice to see my released dhrystone and whetstone apps were useful :-)
    There's no doubt PowerMac G5 quad is fastest Amiga ever seen until now.

    I hope it will be fully supported as soon as possible.
    Best strategy to increase MorphOs user base is to support all powerpc macs.
    Even full QEMU MorphOS compatibility could be a great option, virtualized hardware will live forever and in few years it will be the fastest MorphOS powerpc machine :-)
  • »29.11.19 - 19:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10681 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Best strategy to increase MorphOs user base is to support all powerpc macs.

    I hope they won't do this as pre-G4 Macs wouldn't bring anything worthwhile to the table. Likewise, trying to support PPC Macs with non-exchangeable Nvidia graphics would unnecessarily bind too many resources.
  • »29.11.19 - 20:42
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    sailor
    Posts: 44 from 2019/5/9
    FAN ISSUE SOLVED!!!

    - when booting MorphOS via Openfirmware (cmd+alt+o+f) or Startup Manager (alt) fan runs at 100% and after booting to Morphos the fans continue full speed.

    - if I set enviromental variable boot-command + path to morphos boot, then it starts directly to MorphOS, and fans remains quiet.

    Easy.
    Powermac G5 Quad have not this issue - also with boot via OF or StartupManager after booting to MorphOS fan speed goes down.

    [ Edited by sailor 29.11.2019 - 22:23 ]
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »29.11.19 - 20:52
    Profile