New questions and problems with 3.12
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    I have multiple times tried to install 3.12 on two different devices. I have found the following and wonder if there is a fix.
    3.12 installs fine on a powerbook g4, but unlike in 3.11 OWB no longer supports web based gmail, so I moved back to 3.11.
    3.12 starts to install fine on a powermac hooked up to a 4k display, with 3.11 it shows a "out of range" message and I can change the resolution and then complete the install. 3.12 just has a black screen with occasional flashes of white.
    So...
    What do I need to do to get the browser working with gmail again in 3.12?
    What do I need to do to show the install screen with 3.12?
    Thanks in advance...
    Rob
  • »05.11.19 - 15:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Stevo
    Posts: 828 from 2004/1/24
    From: #AmigaZeux
    For what its worth, web based gmail works fine here with OWB 1.26 (the one supplied with MorphOS 3.12).
    ---
    http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/logs/its_only_football.txt
  • »05.11.19 - 15:59
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1574 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    robbhar wrote:
    What do I need to do to get the browser working with gmail again in 3.12?

    Have you added/enabled the Google_Accounts_Fix.js script from Windows->Scripts?

    Quote:

    What do I need to do to show the install screen with 3.12?

    Try booting with the Ctrl key pressed to force it to a standard vesa screenmode?
  • »05.11.19 - 16:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    Thanks for the reply.
    The CTRL does nothing when booting, I tried with a standard and a a Mac keyboard. Of course I have to hold the C key to boot from the CD as well...
    I did find the googleaccountfix.js on warmup so I can try that if I ever got to a booted up 3.12.
    Are there other key presses I can try during bootup?
    Also since on one machine I don't want to loos my 3.11 files, does this page still show true for how to upgrade MorphOS?
    https://distrita.com/morphos-upgrade-guide-on-ppc-macs/
    Thanks,
    Rob
  • »06.11.19 - 22:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1873 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    robbhar wrote:
    The CTRL does nothing when booting, I tried with a standard and a a Mac keyboard. Of course I have to hold the C key to boot from the CD as well...


    You need to press CTRL after MorphOS has already started booting from CD. So once you hear the CD being read, release C and press CTRL. CD boot should give you a few seconds to do this.

    Another thing you might try is to boot without DVI connected. Connect it after the system has already booted - that'll ensure it uses a lower resolution.

    Quote:


    https://distrita.com/morphos-upgrade-guide-on-ppc-macs/



    It'll work, but since you can boot from CD, why not update from there?
  • »07.11.19 - 06:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1574 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    robbhar wrote:
    I did find the googleaccountfix.js on warmup so I can try that if I ever got to a booted up 3.12.

    No need to download it elsewhere, it already comes bundled with MorphOS 3.12. Just open the Scripts window in OWB and click Add to select the script. Restart OWB to take the new script(s) in use.


    Quote:

    Are there other key presses I can try during bootup?

    The Shift key should take you into a graphical MorphOS boot menu where you can also select few different standard screenmodes. If you have difficulties to get anything work by pressing the keys, you could also try to activate this bootmenu by booting from the Open Firmware prompt. See the instructions here: Boot Arguments


    Quote:

    Also since on one machine I don't want to loos my 3.11 files, does this page still show true for how to upgrade MorphOS

    The Update option in the MorphOS installer has worked very well always. It doesn't matter if you do it easy way by booting from the CD or little more harder (but faster filecopying) way by booting from the ISO file, which ever way you want (or works for you) until you use the official installer and select the Update option there.
  • »07.11.19 - 08:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    Thank you both, I was able to update, retain my files, and get gmail again.
    Rob
  • »07.11.19 - 18:17
    Profile Visit Website