How to run MorphOS on unsupported G5 PCIe
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Ok, got myself a Radeon X1600 Pro (klick) which works perfectly allright in MorphOS. :-) And in contrast to my flashed X1900 XT it allows basic Linux usage (console + Xorg via fbdev). Glamour-accelerated Xorg actually loads without crashing the G5 but the screen output is garbled. Filed a bug about that if someone wants to do further research (klick).

    So it looks like I can finally get this G5 11,2 going! Only missing a network card now, to get it online and register.

    Edit: Realized the X1600 Pro runs well in Linux with xf86-video-ati driver + EXA acceleration. 2D-accelerated desktop & video playback works. So the perfect card for me! :-) OpenGL has glitches however (klick).
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »15.12.19 - 16:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Got this i-tec PCEGLAN network card for 7.60 EUR which works perfectly allright. Posting this on the G5 11,2 right now.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »19.12.19 - 13:25
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 445 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    Got this i-tec PCEGLAN network card for 7.60 EUR which works perfectly allright. Posting this on the G5 11,2 right now.


    I think for the most part, any cheap generic ethernet Realtek PCI-e card will do just fine. :)

    Thanks for reporting it!
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »19.12.19 - 14:18
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4880 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    BTW - None of you are foolish enough to believe that 11,2 and iMac support "just happens" to be included in 10.12, without a lot of work do you?

    Remarkable stuff from guys that have day jobs.







    [ Edited by Jim 21.12.2019 - 20:49 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »22.12.19 - 01:32
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 22 from 2017/8/6
    I have to check my inventory for any other Radeon supported by MorphOS, otherwise there is not much i can contribute, having the wrong 1900XT and a white screen.

    Edit
    I found another Radeon, unfortunately unsupported as well.
    Its a R7 250 1GB.

    [ Edited by amifrog 22.12.2019 - 11:49 ]
  • »22.12.19 - 10:25
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Tried out the G5 11,2 now for a while, playing a few games, browsing, emails, copying many files around, etc. Seems to run rather decent. Most of the time I hit the 30min time limit. ;-) One time a hard crash, another time fans went 100 % and afterwards a hard freeze. Apart from that I noticed some things in the debug logs:

    Code:
    Radeon: Don't know how to initialise the memory controller of this Radeon
    Radeon: Memory size adjusted to 256MB
    rtl8168_eth.device: Int: RX error
    r300.library: Performance warning for task "Tower57_MOS": Bitmap does not have BMF_3DTARGET set

    Several (all?) games show this r300.library error but seem to run fine apart from that. Tower57 runs really well, but every 2-3 minutes the gameplay 'locks' for 2 seconds. Also some graphical glitches in Virtual GP 2. But nothing really bad. Is my card is (Radeon X1600 Pro) not fully supported?
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »31.12.19 - 00:00
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 445 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    but every 2-3 minutes the gameplay 'locks' for 2 seconds. Also some graphical glitches in Virtual GP 2. But nothing really bad. Is my card is (Radeon X1600 Pro) not fully supported?


    I noticed some corruption in the video when I went to playback some videos. I went to play Quake 3, and yep... Pixels were color flashing. GPU definitely the problem. :/ This was the x1900 xtx I got last month, and im sure its on its way out. Either then that, my x1900 XT works out great. :)
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »31.12.19 - 03:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    I generated a MorphOS bug report about my Radeon X1600 Pro issues.

    What I noticed too is that MorphOS is rather picky about the PCIe slot my i-tec r8168 network card is in. Old config was Nvidia GF6600 in 1st slot, r8168 2nd, Radeon X1600 Pro 3rd. There the r8169 gets reckognized by MorphOS but has freezing issues when reconfiguring network stack (when I got no connection via static or DHCP). Now I have Nvidia GF6600 in 1st slot, Radeon X1600 Pro 2nd, r8168 4th (1 free slot between Radeon and r8169). There the r8169 runs reliably so far, at least it did not freeze the G5 yet.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »01.01.20 - 21:35
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    Doffo schrieb:
    I went to play Quake 3, and yep... Pixels were color flashing. GPU definitely the problem. :/ This was the x1900 xtx I got last month, and im sure its on its way out. Either then that, my x1900 XT works out great. :)

    Really good card then! As long as you don't miss OpenFirmware. ;-)
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »01.01.20 - 21:40
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel schrieb:
    [...] Now I have Nvidia GF6600 in 1st slot, Radeon X1600 Pro 2nd, r8168 4th (1 free slot between Radeon and r8169). There the r8169 runs reliably so far, at least it did not freeze the G5 yet.

    I take that back. Having put the NIC in another PCIe slot only did make it work one time. Now I got the same issue again... :-( Still works in Linux though.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »01.01.20 - 23:05
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    BTW, does it make any difference MorphOS-wise whether I use a RTL8111C, RTL8111E, RTL8111F or whatever revision a RTL chipset has on a NIC?
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »01.01.20 - 23:25
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1600 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    Radeon: Don't know how to initialise the memory controller of this Radeon
    Radeon: Memory size adjusted to 256MB

    I get these too, but IIRC they're harmless.


    Quote:

    rtl8168_eth.device: Int: RX error

    This seems to be a bug with gigabit connection. For me the line appears directly after a reboot, but doesn't seem to cause any problems in network tranfers. For some others it can happen in the middle of the transfers and making network to fail. It doesn't seem to happen with 100Mbps connection, so if it's an issue for you, a non-gigabit switch could help until it gets fixed.


    Quote:

    r300.library: Performance warning for task "Tower57_MOS": Bitmap does not have BMF_3DTARGET set

    I get this kind of performance warning even with r200 on Mac mini with Tower57. I asked about it once, but the reply from the MorphOS team was that it should be fixed in the game itself. As the error describes, it makes the game run a bit slower than it could run.


    [ Edited by jPV 02.01.2020 - 07:11 ]
  • »02.01.20 - 05:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    jPV schrieb:
    This seems to be a bug with gigabit connection. For me the line appears directly after a reboot, but doesn't seem to cause any problems in network tranfers. For some others it can happen in the middle of the transfers and making network to fail. It doesn't seem to happen with 100Mbps connection, so if it's an issue for you, a non-gigabit switch could help until it gets fixed.

    Hmm, interesting... would not have thought about that! Is this an old bug and/or r8169 only? Hope it gets fixed. 100Mbps would be a tad slow for my other machines... Heck, this is slower than USB2.

    But I might look for a 100Mbps switch as non-working ethernet is really annoying. Today it worked one time (as I powered on the G5 for the 1st time), but non-working again...

    Quote:

    I get this kind of performance warning even with r200 on Mac mini with Tower57. I asked about it once, but the reply from the MorphOS team was that it should be fixed in the game itself.

    Ah mkay. I will tell Daniel then. In general he cares for his code and especially Tower57 has been updated several times.

    Thanks for your hints!
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »02.01.20 - 16:25
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 325 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Ah well, worked around this rtl8168_eth.device issue by getting one of these PCIe Atheros 5xxx WLAN cards. At last, this works reliably now! Finally it may be the time to register and for my other G5 7,3 to step down into retirement. ;-)
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.12 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »14.01.20 - 20:19
    Profile