PowerMac G5
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1985 from 2003/2/24
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:


    Why keep the Voodoo?




    A Voodoo is the only way to get a dual monitor setup with MorphOS 3.11.

    But AFAIK noone has ever succeeded in getting a Radeon+Voodoo working in a G5 (no probs on PMacG4) and the real news here is that the Voodoo will work if it's the only (supported) GFX card.
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »18.08.19 - 11:29
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 901 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    I still have a Radeon 9200 128MB (Mac) PCI GFX card that I used when I had only got a Nvidia AGP card in my PowerMac G5 and that worked OK in the PCI slot, now whether that will also work in combination with a Radeon 9600 AGP card that I've since acquired I don't know, but it might - one of these days I might try it, but I'm far too busy ATM to try that out, sadly.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »23.08.19 - 00:17
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11051 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I still have a Radeon 9200 128MB (Mac) PCI GFX card that I used [...] in my PowerMac G5 [...] PCI slot,
    > now whether that will also work in combination with a Radeon 9600 AGP card [...] I don't know, but it might

    MorphOS cannot use more than one Radeon card at a time. That's a driver restriction.
  • »23.08.19 - 06:10
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11051 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Addendum:

    >> I still have a Radeon 9200 128MB (Mac) PCI GFX card that I used [...] in my
    >> PowerMac G5 [...] PCI slot, now whether that will also work in combination
    >> with a Radeon 9600 AGP card [...] I don't know, but it might

    > MorphOS cannot use more than one Radeon card at a time. That's a driver restriction.

    ...or can it?

    "If legacy W3D support is important [...], you can also stick R9xxx card in G5 machines to have both raw speed and classic compatibility. One of my friends did this kind of solution."
    https://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=43689&forum=45#832416


    Edit: On the other hand, "raw speed" may very well not refer to a primary R300+ AGP graphics card but to the G5 CPU, which would mean the R200 graphics card is actually the only graphics card in the system.

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 10.04.2020 - 20:33 ]
  • »10.04.20 - 19:23
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1677 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Edit: On the other hand, "raw speed" may very well not refer to a primary R300+ AGP graphics card but to the G5 CPU, which would mean the R200 graphics card is actually the only graphics card in the system.

    Yes, this is what I meant. Having an older graphics card that supports W3D as the only card on a (powerful) G5 machine, even though they were sold with newer graphics cards. I was thinking Radeon 9000-9250 (R200) and wrote it a wrong there.
  • »10.04.20 - 20:43
    Profile Visit Website