HELP: PowerMac G5 halts at grey screen...
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 877 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Well, I guess you have nothing to lose. Swap the CPUs. Just make sure they're seated properly. If there's an inadequate contact between CPU module and socket the machine won't power on.
  • »10.06.19 - 06:44
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 758 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    I'd be interested to know the result of that ..... in fact I should have tried that when my 2.3 DP PwrMac had the same issue, but I just assumed you had to have both CPUs working/functional, so maybe that's why I never thought to try this option. ;-)
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB RAM,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x USB2,MorphOS 3.11,Mac OSX 10.4/10.5,A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.11,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz (DP)
  • »10.06.19 - 07:24
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 343 from 2003/2/25
    From: Berlin
    Ok, I just swapped the cpu modules and made sure to really to tighten the screws real hard.
    And the G5 fires up again!

    I'm writing this with my G5, yeah!

    What I noticed it that the fans were blowing like hell when I boot into the bootmenu and while I'm in the firmware!?
    This wasn't before, but when booting into MorphOS, the fans spins down.

    Do I need to calibrate the fans?

    I have the files "asd.2.6.3 (2005).dmg" and "ASD 2.5.8.dmg", but I can't burn them under MorphOS, right?
    Does anyone have an .iso of these archives?

    I found a dmgtoiso converter in Aminet, lets try it...

    Lets see how long it last this time...

    BTW:
    The cpu modules look different from below!
    Could it be that one cpu got burned?

    G5_both_cpu_modules.jpg
  • »10.06.19 - 14:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 877 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    igracki wrote:
    What I noticed it that the fans were blowing like hell when I boot into the bootmenu and while I'm in the firmware!?
    This wasn't before, but when booting into MorphOS, the fans spins down.



    You're lucky you didn't overtighten the screws (you can do that!), but I'm glad everything works fine.

    As for the loud fans - the computer noticed that CPU serial numbers are different now and turned on "safe mode" (that means the fans blow at full speed). MorphOS switches everything back to normal, but that's simply annoying. Yes, you need to perform a thermal calibration. With ASD 2.5.8 - the 2.6.3 is for late G5's.

    Quote:

    The cpu modules look different from below!
    Could it be that one cpu got burned?



    You mean the colour difference between the radiators of (I believe) the power section? They may differ. I've seen both copper-ish (more often in earlier models) and silver-ish ones (the newer ones). Or maybe something else drew your attention?
  • »10.06.19 - 15:21
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 343 from 2003/2/25
    From: Berlin
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    You're lucky you didn't overtighten the screws (you can do that!), but I'm glad everything works fine.

    As for the loud fans - the computer noticed that CPU serial numbers are different now and turned on "safe mode" (that means the fans blow at full speed). MorphOS switches everything back to normal, but that's simply annoying. Yes, you need to perform a thermal calibration. With ASD 2.5.8 - the 2.6.3 is for late G5's.



    I tried the 2.6.3 (OF), but a requester said, this machine is not supported, although the corresponding pdf says its also for late G5s.
    I'm trying the v2.5.8 in some minutes...

    Quote:


    Quote:

    The cpu modules look different from below!
    Could it be that one cpu got burned?



    You mean the colour difference between the radiators of (I believe) the power section? They may differ. I've seen both copper-ish (more often in earlier models) and silver-ish ones (the newer ones). Or maybe something else drew your attention?


    Yes, I meant the color.
  • »10.06.19 - 15:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 343 from 2003/2/25
    From: Berlin
    The ASD 2.5.8 supports my G5, and the log says that my memory DIMM 4, 5, 6 and 7 are bad!

    I have 8 DIMMs installed, if I understand it correct DIMM 4-7 are the outmost two of each bank, right?

    I think the dimms are out of MorphOS's reach, because memtest says my memory is good.

    Then I calibrated my cpus, cpu0 passed the test, for cpu1 I got an error, and I should "replace the cpu1".

    Now the fans are quiet(er) in the firmware! Thank you all!



    [ Edited by igracki 10.06.2019 - 18:03 ]
  • »10.06.19 - 16:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 877 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    igracki wrote:
    The ASD 2.5.8 supports my G5, and the log says that my memory DIMM 4, 5, 6 and 7 are bad!

    I have 8 DIMMs installed, if I understand it correct DIMM 4-7 are the outmost two of each bank, right?



    The banks are named:

    J44 (DIMM7)
    J42 (DIMM5)
    J14 (DIMM3)
    J12 (DIMM1)

    J11 (DIMM0)
    J13 (DIMM2)
    J41 (DIMM4)
    J43 (DIMM6)

    and should be populated in pairs: J11 with J12, J13 with J14 and so on.
  • »10.06.19 - 18:55
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> you need to perform a thermal calibration. With ASD 2.5.8 - the 2.6.3 is for late G5's.

    > I tried the 2.6.3 (OF), but a requester said, this machine is not supported,
    > although the corresponding pdf says its also for late G5s.

    Yes, it is, but your G5 is no "late G5" :-)
  • »10.06.19 - 23:40
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 758 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    That's an interesting result, so if a Dual Processor G5 PowerMac suffers a failed CPU then if you swap the bad CPU into the other CPU slot 0 you should be able to get the machine back working for MorphOS at least, which will be good for most of us I suppose. 8-)

    Thanks for reporting back Thomas Igracki on your CPU swapping results.

    Out of interest, now that you've re-calibrated and swapped over the CPUs, and even though one of the CPUs has failed, does your PowerMac also work in Mac OSX?
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB RAM,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x USB2,MorphOS 3.11,Mac OSX 10.4/10.5,A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.11,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz (DP)
  • »11.06.19 - 02:23
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 877 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    OSX will work, but it will show only 1 CPU in System Profiler.
  • »11.06.19 - 05:28
    Profile