Pegasos 2 HDD/SSD SATA options
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 279 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    I've yet to read about any pre-2B5 board that works reliably (i.e. also tested successfully with Linux, because that works harder on the memory than MorphOS) with 2× 1 GiB, and even with 2B5 it's hit or miss. Theoretically, all boards from 2B1 on should work with 2× 1 GiB, because that's what the official mainboard specs claim ;-)


    here is succesfull 2GB with rev 2B1 2GB on Pegasos 2 rev 2B1
    And as I gave him some advices when he installed and tested MintPPC it looks that it works with linux.

    But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.
    AmigaOS: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »05.06.19 - 09:04
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11725 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > here is succesfull 2GB with rev 2B1 2GB on Pegasos 2 rev 2B1
    > [...] it looks that it works with linux.

    Thanks for the link. Interesting read.

    > But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.

    It's even the only pre-2B5 board with reliably working 2 GiB *I* know about ;-)
  • »05.06.19 - 09:24
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 279 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.

    It's even the only pre-2B5 board with reliably working 2 GiB *I* know about ;-)

    sometimes miracle happens, Prober is lucky man.
    AmigaOS: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »05.06.19 - 11:12
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 133 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.
    It's even the only pre-2B5 board with reliably working 2 GiB *I* know about ;-)

    sometimes miracle happens, Prober is lucky man.



    I have exactly the same 2x1GB memory as the one pictured in the thread you linked.
    It works nicely on my Pegasos 2 too.
  • »08.06.19 - 08:23
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11725 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I have exactly the same 2x1GB memory as the one pictured
    > in the thread you linked. It works nicely on my Pegasos 2 too.

    What's your board revision?
  • »08.06.19 - 08:45
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 133 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > I have exactly the same 2x1GB memory as the one pictured
    > in the thread you linked. It works nicely on my Pegasos 2 too.

    What's your board revision?


    How to you know the board revision?
    All I know is about firmware: v1.2 20050808
  • »08.06.19 - 09:01
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11725 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > How to you know the board revision?

    It's printed on the board.
  • »08.06.19 - 11:24
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 133 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > How to you know the board revision?

    It's printed on the board.


    Ok, found it! It is rev 2B5. :)
  • »08.06.19 - 13:26
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11725 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Ok, found it! It is rev 2B5. :)

    So in your case it's no surprise that 2× 1 GiB works :-)
  • »08.06.19 - 17:44
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 133 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Ok, found it! It is rev 2B5. :)

    So in your case it's no surprise that 2× 1 GiB works :-)


    Well, I had several dimm pairs that didn't operate stable before this one (most pairs I tested worked single but not dual).
  • »08.06.19 - 22:15
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11725 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I had several dimm pairs that didn't operate stable before this one

    Yes, see comment #31 :-)
  • »09.06.19 - 06:05
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cego
    Posts: 671 from 2006/5/28
    From: Germany
    Is it possible to boot MorphOS from a sil3114 PCI card completely or do I have to install the boot.img file on a hard disk on the IDE port?
    Does MorphOS 1.4.5 also support SATA PCI cards?

    Thank you
    Pegasos II G4 @1.0GHz, 1GB DDR Ram, Radeon 9200Pro, 160GB+500GB HD, MorphOS 3.13, AmigaOS4.1 FE, MacOS X Panther 10.3.9, Debian 8
  • »14.05.20 - 19:24
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 1057 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I think, PEG OpenFirmware does not support such card. Do a test! If it occours in device-tree, it could work. If no dev-alias is generated, you may have to set full hardwarepath to boot from there.....
    To MOS hardwarecompatibility to MOS1.4 .5 you have to ask MOS-Team.....

    Btw: Why useing MOS1.4.5 on PEG??

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 14.05.2020 - 21:55 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »14.05.20 - 19:51
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11725 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Does MorphOS 1.4.5 also support SATA PCI cards?

    SATA support came with MorphOS 2.5.
  • »14.05.20 - 20:15
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    Sailor: your screenshot in the first message cannot be viewed: Error 451!
    The page is blocked due to the decision of the authorities in your area.

    Can you include it in the text or upload it to another place?

    I would be happy if my Pegasos 2 would be as fast as yours. I mean the Pegasos itself is fast but harddrives are always slow when I copy files. I don’t know why but I only get transfer rates of 1MB/s in average when I copy big files like images, sound files, videos. This is on the IDE drive and the SATA drives. Even on SATA drive with the ulsata device you mention I only get this slow speed. This is much worse than USB! What can be wrong? Which settings can I check?

    I have not upgraded my Pegasos 2, it is still G4 at 1GHz.

    > https://www.probers.cz/jak-pretaktovat-procesor-u-pegasose-ii/
    Wow, that’s a monster cooler! Does it not pull out the CPU card because of the big size and heavy weight? I would fear that could damage the CPU card and slot and mainboard.

    You write:
    > Only things what I did against this is new power supply and proper cooling:
    I used oversized passive cooler with fan, passive cooler on RAM, passive coolers on Northbridge and Southbridge.

    But on the pictures I see only active coollers (fans). Do you have other pcitures? And which passive colllers do you use?


    > And if, please can you check the morphos-debug.log, if your drives recognized like UDMA5=100MB/s or UDMA6=133MB/s.

    How can I do this?

    > PCI HD 5450
    Is that the best card for the Pegasos 2?


    > > I cannot find pair of RAMs which have no errors

    > 2× 1 GiB can only work error-free on revision 2B5 boards.

    I have that board. Which RAM do I have to buy?
  • »15.05.20 - 11:08
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11725 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> PCI HD 5450

    > Is that the best card for the Pegasos 2?

    It's the newest one at least. MorphOS doesn't support 3D acceleration or overlay with this card, though. Also, SmartFirmware won't show on this card (or any other card with a bridge chip).
  • »15.05.20 - 11:45
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 279 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    >Sailor: your screenshot in the first message cannot be viewed: Error 451!
    The page is blocked due to the decision of the authorities in your area.

    I see. They changed the rules, obviously.

    >Can you include it in the text or upload it to another place?

    I will do it.

    >I would be happy if my Pegasos 2 would be as fast as yours. I mean the Pegasos itself is fast but harddrives are always slow when I copy files. I don’t know why but I only get transfer rates of 1MB/s in average when I copy big files like images, sound files, videos. This is on the IDE drive and the SATA drives. Even on SATA drive with the ulsata device you mention I only get this slow speed. This is much worse than USB! What can be wrong? Which settings can I check?

    I am sure that default morphos settings are OK. Simply I don't know. Maybe try to increase number of buffers - what is your actual number?

    >I have not upgraded my Pegasos 2, it is still G4 at 1GHz.

    1GHz is not bad, MorphOS is very lightweight, but 1.3 is very good for internet etc..


    >> https://www.probers.cz/jak-pretaktovat-procesor-u-pegasose-ii/
    >Wow, that’s a monster cooler! Does it not pull out the CPU card because of the big size and heavy weight? I would fear that could damage the CPU card and slot and mainboard.

    Yes this one and also my actual cooler (ARCTIC Alpine M1-Passive Socket AM1) are oversized. I calculated that overclocked CPU MPC7447 have less then 30W TDP. You can use some smaller if you want, but it is quite difficult find some which fits on CPU card. And motherboard+cpucard are OK. I will post photo somewhere.

    >You write:
    >> Only things what I did against this is new power supply and proper cooling:
    I used oversized passive cooler with fan, passive cooler on RAM, passive coolers on Northbridge and Southbridge.
    >But on the pictures I see only active coollers (fans). Do you have other pcitures? And which passive colllers do you use?

    I will post photos.

    >> And if, please can you check the morphos-debug.log, if your drives recognized like UDMA5=100MB/s or UDMA6=133MB/s.
    >How can I do this?

    the easiest way is to use builtin Screenbar module: Debug
    You can see here all boot messages

    > PCI HD 5450
    Is that the best card for the Pegasos 2?
    HD 5450 PCI - newest, 2D, no overlay, 19W only
    HD 4350 PCI - 2D, hardware overlay, 20W only
    9800 PRO AGP - 2D, 3D, 47W.
    It depends, what you want to do with your Peg. But I do not tried the PCI cards.

    > > I cannot find pair of RAMs which have no errors
    > 2× 1 GiB can only work error-free on revision 2B5 boards.
    I have that board. Which RAM do I have to buy?
    you can try this-modules or this - they works each at least on one Pegasos2. But you have no guarantee, you have to try them.
    AmigaOS: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »15.05.20 - 12:56
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 279 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    Sailor: your screenshot in the first message cannot be viewed: Error 451!
    The page is blocked due to the decision of the authorities in your area.
    Can you include it in the text or upload it to another place?


    See here:
    Peg2(1.33GHz) Controllers Comparison

    [ Edited by sailor 18.05.2020 - 09:37 ]
    AmigaOS: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »18.05.20 - 07:36
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 279 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    > https://www.probers.cz/jak-pretaktovat-procesor-u-pegasose-ii/
    Wow, that’s a monster cooler! Does it not pull out the CPU card because of the big size and heavy weight? I would fear that could damage the CPU card and slot and mainboard.



    Here some photos of ARCTIC Alpine M1-Passive Socket AM1 ( with fan ;-))
    Previously used Thermalright HR-05 SLI blocked IDE connectors.
    00-arctic1.jpg 01-arctic2.jpg 02-arctic2a.jpg 03-arctic3.jpg 04-arctic4.jpg 05-arctic5.jpg
    AmigaOS: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »18.05.20 - 08:07
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    Sailor: your screenshot in the first message cannot be viewed: Error 451!
    The page is blocked due to the decision of the authorities in your area.
    Can you include it in the text or upload it to another place?


    See here:
    Peg2(1.33GHz) Controllers Comparison


    Thank you. So for this byte aligned (what ever it is) transfers you also get only low data rate like 1 or 2 MB/s. Maybe all my copy processes (ambient or CLI) from one partition to another are byte aligned and it is so slow on my Peg because of this?
  • »18.05.20 - 16:53
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    > https://www.probers.cz/jak-pretaktovat-procesor-u-pegasose-ii/
    Wow, that’s a monster cooler! Does it not pull out the CPU card because of the big size and heavy weight? I would fear that could damage the CPU card and slot and mainboard.



    Here some photos of ARCTIC Alpine M1-Passive Socket AM1 ( with fan ;-))
    Previously used Thermalright HR-05 SLI blocked IDE connectors.
    00-arctic1.jpg 01-arctic2.jpg 02-arctic2a.jpg 03-arctic3.jpg 04-arctic4.jpg 05-arctic5.jpg


    Wow, thats a huge block! I don't have the tools to cut this in the right size. And in the end you also need a fan on top of the cooler. So it still makes noise. But impressive cube :-)
  • »18.05.20 - 16:55
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 545 from 2007/7/29
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    >I would be happy if my Pegasos 2 would be as fast as yours. I mean the Pegasos itself is fast but harddrives are always slow when I copy files. I don’t know why but I only get transfer rates of 1MB/s in average when I copy big files like images, sound files, videos. This is on the IDE drive and the SATA drives. Even on SATA drive with the ulsata device you mention I only get this slow speed. This is much worse than USB! What can be wrong? Which settings can I check?

    I am sure that default morphos settings are OK. Simply I don't know. Maybe try to increase number of buffers - what is your actual number?



    It is 64 on all partitions. This is the default that HDConfig sets.

    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    >> https://www.probers.cz/jak-pretaktovat-procesor-u-pegasose-ii/
    >Wow, that’s a monster cooler! Does it not pull out the CPU card because of the big size and heavy weight? I would fear that could damage the CPU card and slot and mainboard.

    Yes this one and also my actual cooler (ARCTIC Alpine M1-Passive Socket AM1) are oversized. I calculated that overclocked CPU MPC7447 have less then 30W TDP. You can use some smaller if you want, but it is quite difficult find some which fits on CPU card. And motherboard+cpucard are OK. I will post photo somewhere.


    I would want to have it silent :-)
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    >You write:
    >> Only things what I did against this is new power supply and proper cooling:
    I used oversized passive cooler with fan, passive cooler on RAM, passive coolers on Northbridge and Southbridge.
    >But on the pictures I see only active coollers (fans). Do you have other pcitures? And which passive colllers do you use?

    I will post photos.


    So the new pictrures all all active cooled, I think. A passive cooler with a fan isn't that active? Because the fan is active.

    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    >> And if, please can you check the morphos-debug.log, if your drives recognized like UDMA5=100MB/s or UDMA6=133MB/s.
    >How can I do this?

    the easiest way is to use builtin Screenbar module: Debug
    You can see here all boot messages


    It says:
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@0: PIO Mode 4
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@0: UDMA Mode 5
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@2: PIO Mode 4
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@2: UDMA Mode 5

    One is the CD-ROM and the other is the hard disk. So they both use 100MB/s.

    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    > PCI HD 5450
    Is that the best card for the Pegasos 2?
    HD 5450 PCI - newest, 2D, no overlay, 19W only
    HD 4350 PCI - 2D, hardware overlay, 20W only
    9800 PRO AGP - 2D, 3D, 47W.
    It depends, what you want to do with your Peg. But I do not tried the PCI cards.


    3D I don't need (I think) because I don't run 3D games. Overlay is only for MPlayer important?
    PCI is slower than AGP. Can you feel it?

    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    > > I cannot find pair of RAMs which have no errors
    > 2× 1 GiB can only work error-free on revision 2B5 boards.
    I have that board. Which RAM do I have to buy?
    you can try this-modules or this - they works each at least on one Pegasos2. But you have no guarantee, you have to try them.

    I try to find them.
  • »20.05.20 - 10:55
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    OffseT
    Posts: 19 from 2019/8/23
    Yes. Graphics card on PCI are noticeably slower than on AGP. You can feel it.

    I even tested PCI-express card through a PCI to PCIe adapter, And I switched back to my Radeon 9700 Pro which is much faster and have full 3D support. It also can handle 2K resolutions with no issue.

    [ Edité par OffseT 20.05.2020 - 13:16 ]

    [ Edité par OffseT 20.05.2020 - 13:17 ]
  • »20.05.20 - 12:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 279 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    It is 64 on all partitions. This is the default that HDConfig sets.

    I use more, 200 or 300. But if you have low speed with read/write big files, I think it is not the case. Look for max tansfer value - it it limited somehow?

    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    I would want to have it silent :-)
    ...
    So the new pictrures all all active cooled, I think. A passive cooler with a fan isn't that active? Because the fan is active.

    It is up to you. If you have big case with good airflow, you can use this cooler without fan.
    CPU MPC7447(A):
    6.5W @ 900 MHz
    7.5W @ 1066 MHz
    19W @ 1420 MHz
    ARCTIC Alpine M1 Passive RECOMMENDED FOR TDP UP TO: 35 W

    I have nearby bigger cooler of graphics card and I want also have some airflow around northbridge - thus I used the fan. And yes, is is active now. But the name of cooler itself stays "M1 passive" ;-)

    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@0: PIO Mode 4
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@0: UDMA Mode 5
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@2: PIO Mode 4
    PCI ATA/ATAPI Driver@2: UDMA Mode 5
    One is the CD-ROM and the other is the hard disk. So they both use 100MB/s.


    OK - same values like me. But these numbers are OK for internal IDE. For SiI SATA cards you can (in theory) have 133MB/s, but MOS sata.device is show stopper here.

    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    > PCI HD 5450
    Is that the best card for the Pegasos 2?
    HD 5450 PCI - newest, 2D, no overlay, 19W only
    HD 4350 PCI - 2D, hardware overlay, 20W only
    9800 PRO AGP - 2D, 3D, 47W.
    It depends, what you want to do with your Peg. But I do not tried the PCI cards.
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    3D I don't need (I think) because I don't run 3D games. Overlay is only for MPlayer important?
    PCI is slower than AGP. Can you feel it?


    Yes, overlay is for playing videos.
    As a said - I do not used any PCI card, I simply don't know.
    In theory - if you succeed to find (or make) some AGPx1->PCI riser ( something like reversed riser for efika) you can try PCI card in AGP slot - in such case it will have double speed - 66MHz ( compares to 33MHz of other PCI slots).
    AmigaOS: Micro A1-C, AmigaOne XE, Pegasos II, Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, Mac Mini, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »20.05.20 - 12:44
    Profile