FPSE and joysensors plugin issues
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1840 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Scroll back to
    post 16
  • »12.09.19 - 14:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I know about it, but did that fix the waitandhid utility? AFAIK that one had the same issue as the plugin.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »12.09.19 - 14:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1840 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    It does work in waitandhid.
  • »12.09.19 - 15:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    It wasn't clear the posts that the 3D stick support fixed Kazuki's gamepad. He didn't confirm it either, so I thought this was just a missing feature, rather the solution to his problem. I'll add the 3D stick support to the plugin later, but be aware that I can't test it myself at the moment.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »12.09.19 - 17:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2630 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    BSzili wrote:
    It wasn't clear the posts that the 3D stick support fixed Kazuki's gamepad. He didn't confirm it either, so I thought this was just a missing feature, rather the solution to his problem. I'll add the 3D stick support to the plugin later, but be aware that I can't test it myself at the moment.


    Seems that jacadcaps bought the Manta game pad that Solo Kazuki has, but it was dead on arrival, and when they sent him a replacement, it was a different pad from a different manufacturer, so jacadcaps can't test anything for Solo Kazuki. Solo Kazuki just needs to get rid of the faulty game pad, or buy a 2nd game pad for MorphOS use, IMHO. jacadcaps can speak for himself, but I'm hoping that he doesn't need to spend his valuable coding time answering these kinds of questions on forums.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »13.09.19 - 08:34
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    Now I'm more confused about whether or not the 3D stick support will fix Kazuku's gamepad or not. Either way I'll get to adding it to the plugin eventually, but if this won't solve his problems, then I can't help him either with the incompatible gamepad either.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »13.09.19 - 14:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 123 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    It's not faulty pad, everything other working fine. Moreover i bought second and it's still same ID as first one. Probably Manta have few part suppliers.

    3D stick is working proper in jacadcaps util, so it's probably this case.

    I mention once again: Every other apps working fine, system recognise pad correctly (except classifying as 3D stick), just FPSE plugin don't work.
  • »17.09.19 - 06:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1840 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Solo_Kazuki wrote:
    (except classifying as 3D stick)


    This is how the pad classifies the input in its hid descriptor.
  • »17.09.19 - 13:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    This is the only thing I was confused about, so thanks for clarifying. I also have to say this again: classifying a a D-pad with no Z axis as 3D input means the pad is faulty, regardless of if "Every other apps working fine". D-pads are supposed to be 2D input (digital or analog) this is what the plugin supports currently.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »18.09.19 - 09:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1840 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    BSzili wrote:
    classifying a a D-pad with no Z axis as 3D input means the pad is faulty


    Welcome to the beautiful and well thought through world of Device Class Definition for Human Interface Devices (HID) version 1.11.

    There's quite a lot of devices that ship with totally bogus descriptors which are then overloaded by Windows drivers. Microsoft even provides cool samples explaining how to do this (see Microsoft's github)

    [ Edited by jacadcaps 18.09.2019 - 11:03 ]
  • »18.09.19 - 10:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    What a mess. I assume the situation is no better on the audio side either. If I add sensors.library support to anything again, I'll be prepared for the worst.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »18.09.19 - 11:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1840 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    BSzili wrote:
    What a mess. I assume the situation is no better on the audio side either. If I add sensors.library support to anything again, I'll be prepared for the worst.


    There's good reason why games all let you re-map inputs. Just don't assume that if something says is a 3D joystick always provides all possible inputs. Or that an analogue joystick provides values other than 0 and 1 ;)

    If I find the time (ha ha) I'll add a mode that always maps inputs onto a xb360 pad. The missing inputs would simply always read as neutral (0.0).

    Let me also reiterate that I recommend using either a XBox 360 or the 360 wireless pad with PC adapter, XBox One pad or the Playstation4 pad with MorphOS.

    [ Edited by jacadcaps 18.09.2019 - 12:19 ]
  • »18.09.19 - 11:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I put the sources in a git repo for easier handling. When you have time, could you check this commit? If it looks good I'll compile a new dll and upload it for Kazuki to test.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »20.09.19 - 18:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1840 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    Looks fine at a first glance.
  • »21.09.19 - 10:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    Alright, thanks. Here's the new dll. I didn't replace the old one as this is completely untested.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »21.09.19 - 11:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 123 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Thank You

    I'll test it today later.
  • »23.09.19 - 07:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 123 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    That's weird. Now directions works... but only in config. When i try to use directions during emulation only [LEFT] and [UP] directions works, even when using [DOWN] or [RIGHT] directions during configuration.

    It's even more weird that in ACE (which is now using sensors based on Your sources) all is working fine.

    Edit: Should i delete preferences file and re-config FPSE?

    [ Edited by Solo_Kazuki 23.09.2019 - 15:52 ]
  • »23.09.19 - 14:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I have no idea, feel free to try anything that might help.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »23.09.19 - 15:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Solo_Kazuki
    Posts: 123 from 2006/7/24
    From: Universe:Milky...
    Old ini was deleted and new one made. Still same problem. Don't know why it's working as mentioned above.

    Maybe it's something with "calibration" and only get one side of each axis?
  • »04.10.19 - 16:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    OffseT
    Posts: 1 from 2019/8/23
    In case you want to compare to better understand, source code of ACE joysticks plugins is included in "ACE/Bonus/Plugins SDK/Joysticks" drawer.
  • »04.10.19 - 16:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 491 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I already saw it, both poll the input with GetSensorAttrTags. The source code of my plugin is available here, including the build instructions:
    https://bitbucket.org/BSzili/joysensors/src/master/

    [ Edited by BSzili 06.10.2019 - 08:12 ]
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »06.10.19 - 07:12
    Profile Visit Website