searching an ati x800xt
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 21 from 2015/12/17
    hello,

    my x800 in my g5 has memory errors. i am searching for an replacement.
  • »04.02.19 - 19:57
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 877 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Do you really need OSX dual boot? If not then maybe it's a good idea to look for an X1950 AGP?
  • »04.02.19 - 20:33
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    g01df1sh
    Posts: 36 from 2015/5/28
    Is G5 AGP or pci express ?
  • »07.02.19 - 21:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    g01df1sh
    Posts: 36 from 2015/5/28
    If its AGP then is this not any good

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ATI-Radeon-X800-Pro-256MB-AGP-Graphics-Card/223367120303?hash=item3401b7c5af:g:JGsAAOSw9JpcWIxP:rk:1:pf:0
  • »07.02.19 - 21:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 21 from 2015/12/17
    Hello,

    thank you for the response.

    I have an AGP System.


    The Radeon from the ebay link, is this really compatible with the g5 ?
    I tought only mac versions will work.

    My current x800 is an original mac version with this additional pins for power


    would this card also work ?

    https://www.ebay-kleinanzeigen.de/s-anzeige/sapphire-radeon-x1950-pro-512mb-agp-grafikkarte/1022816749-225-8098

    [ Editiert durch frickler 08.02.2019 - 07:11 ]
  • »08.02.19 - 08:07
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 277 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    It will work under MorphOS (not under OS X), but without Mac-BIOS the G5 won't show any screen output until you reach the MorphOS desktop. Which means no access to OpenFirmware at bootup, no boot menu.
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »08.02.19 - 14:48
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 21 from 2015/12/17
    hey that is cool.. i dont need osx.

    Great !


    So i will order the x1950 radeon
  • »08.02.19 - 15:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10383 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ATI-Radeon-X800-Pro-256MB-AGP-Graphics-Card/223367120303

    > is this really compatible with the g5 ?

    No.

    > I tought only mac versions will work.

    Indeed.
  • »09.02.19 - 00:06
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 877 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    It will work under MorphOS (not under OS X), but without Mac-BIOS the G5 won't show any screen output until you reach the MorphOS desktop. Which means no access to OpenFirmware at bootup, no boot menu.


    You're talking about X800, or X1950? If you meant X800 then it's not true.
  • »09.02.19 - 07:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 277 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    koszer schrieb:
    You're talking about X800, or X1950? If you meant X800 then it's not true.

    I was talking about the Sapphire X1950 of the last ebay link. Had one of that for a short period of time on my G5. But I went back to a Mac-BIOS card 'cause of the OF boot prompt/menu.
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »09.02.19 - 11:20
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 21 from 2015/12/17
    my 1950pro arrived today, put it in the g5 and it worked directly without problems.
    I only had to build a power adapter. No more graphic errors !

    [ Editiert durch frickler 14.02.2019 - 15:24 ]
  • »14.02.19 - 16:24
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4818 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    It will work under MorphOS (not under OS X), but without Mac-BIOS the G5 won't show any screen output until you reach the MorphOS desktop. Which means no access to OpenFirmware at bootup, no boot menu.


    No, that isn't right. That only works with R500 and above based cards (not with R400s like the X800XT).
    Glad to hear you went with the X1950. That is the same type of card Bigfoot developed the R500 driver with.


    [ Edited by Jim 16.02.2019 - 20:10 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »17.02.19 - 02:08
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 277 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    Jim schrieb:
    No, that isn't right. That only works with R500 and above based cards (not with R400s like the X800XT).


    Which is what I clarified in #10. ;-)
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »17.02.19 - 10:44
    Profile