Trying to install 3.11 on Pegasos II
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    flip
    Posts: 34 from 2005/8/25
    From: Somewhere in U...
    Hi to all.

    I'm trying to install on Pegasos II, the 3.11.
    On the Peg, I have the old 1.45.
    I have automated the startup from the firmware.
    Now, when I try to skip or block the auto boot, no keys on keyboard work
    to stop the boot proces.
    Any ideas or clue how to do?

    Thanks, Flip

    [ Edited by flip 01.02.2019 - 22:25 ]
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4 1GHz/MOS 3.11/Ambient 1.44
    2,0Gb Ram/80GbHd/ATIRadeon9000VI-VO/DVDBurner
  • »01.02.19 - 22:24
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Tom01
    Posts: 160 from 2009/9/20
    Reset the Firmware and install MorphOS according the MorphOS.readme.
  • »02.02.19 - 00:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    flip
    Posts: 34 from 2005/8/25
    From: Somewhere in U...
    Thanks for answering.

    How I can reset the Firmware?
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4 1GHz/MOS 3.11/Ambient 1.44
    2,0Gb Ram/80GbHd/ATIRadeon9000VI-VO/DVDBurner
  • »02.02.19 - 07:35
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 577 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    fehlpost

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 02.02.2019 - 10:58 ]
    1xPeg2, PowerMac G5, PowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T, A3000D and life is never boring.....
  • »02.02.19 - 10:56
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 577 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Peg2 should boot from MorphOS-CD, if inserted during system-boot. If not, there may be done some changes in OF.

    To get into OF you may disconnect all bootabel devices. OF will then boot into OF-console. There you can set autoboot to false: sentenv auto-boot? false. Now reconnect all devices. OF will always stop now with booting into the console.

    To boot now from CD: boot cd boot.img

    This may not work, if NV-Vars are set to different parameter. Enter set-defaults to restore default parameters.
    Autoboot should then been set automaticaly to true again. If not: sentenv auto-boot? true.

    Reason for your keyboard-failure: Some USB-keyboards are not recogniced from OF. PS/2-keyboards does'nt have that problems.


    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 02.02.2019 - 11:12 ]
    1xPeg2, PowerMac G5, PowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T, A3000D and life is never boring.....
  • »02.02.19 - 11:09
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Brumiga
    Posts: 187 from 2004/4/3
    From: France
    @flip,

    Do you know which version of openfirmware you have ? If not, type at the prompt these 2 commands, according to the pegasos book volume 2, 'cd /openprom' and '.properties'.

    Do you know the commands to type to get an automatic boot ? They are in the document I indicate you upper.

    You can download the pegasos book at this link, http://thepegasosbook.charra.fr/ .

    I can send you the 2 versions of openfirmware available. Give me a private message.

    Brumiga

    [ Edité par Brumiga 02.02.2019 - 13:46 ]
  • »02.02.19 - 13:44
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    flip
    Posts: 34 from 2005/8/25
    From: Somewhere in U...
    10x all for the support!!!

    I'm using the PegasosII with the 3.11... WOW!!!!

    A side question: it is possible move the registration form an hard disk to another?
    I'm usign a test hd becaude I need to recover some datas from My old hd.

    Thanks, Flip.
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4 1GHz/MOS 3.11/Ambient 1.44
    2,0Gb Ram/80GbHd/ATIRadeon9000VI-VO/DVDBurner
  • »03.02.19 - 18:45
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Korni
    Posts: 421 from 2006/2/23
    From: the Planet of ...
    Quote:

    flip wrote:
    10x all for the support!!!

    I'm using the PegasosII with the 3.11... WOW!!!!

    A side question: it is possible move the registration form an hard disk to another?
    I'm usign a test hd becaude I need to recover some datas from My old hd.

    Thanks, Flip.


    Yes, you can copy the key wherever you want. It's tied to a mainboard / network card.
    http://korni.ppa.pl/modkowypaczek/ | My Rifle, My Bunny, and Me
  • »03.02.19 - 21:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    flip
    Posts: 34 from 2005/8/25
    From: Somewhere in U...
    @Korni: Ok, thanks for the information.

    I reactiveted the autoboot, but the system starts looking for a network connection, not for the hd...
    Why?

    10X
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4 1GHz/MOS 3.11/Ambient 1.44
    2,0Gb Ram/80GbHd/ATIRadeon9000VI-VO/DVDBurner
  • »04.02.19 - 08:16
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    flip
    Posts: 34 from 2005/8/25
    From: Somewhere in U...
    Quote:

    Brumiga wrote:
    @flip,

    Do you know which version of openfirmware you have ? If not, type at the prompt these 2 commands, according to the pegasos book volume 2, 'cd /openprom' and '.properties'.

    Do you know the commands to type to get an automatic boot ? They are in the document I indicate you upper.

    You can download the pegasos book at this link, http://thepegasosbook.charra.fr/ .

    I can send you the 2 versions of openfirmware available. Give me a private message.

    Brumiga

    [ Edité par Brumiga 02.02.2019 - 13:46 ]


    @Brumiga,

    My PegasosII is a M/B Rev 2B5 with firmware version 20050808153840
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4 1GHz/MOS 3.11/Ambient 1.44
    2,0Gb Ram/80GbHd/ATIRadeon9000VI-VO/DVDBurner
  • »04.02.19 - 10:40
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 577 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Quote:

    flip schrieb:
    ....
    I reactiveted the autoboot, but the system starts looking for a network connection, not for the hd...
    Why?

    10X


    Depends to what your boot-variable "boot-device" is set (Type printenv boot-device to see).... Maybe it's set to NET, but should set to hd
    Command is: setenv boot-device hd

    Before you do that, check if hd is set to proper HD-Adress for your build in HD-Drive. Type devalias to see.
    By default your HD should be on first IDE-Port and your boot.img has to be on first partition.
    For that configuration hd should be set to /pci/ide/disk@0,0:0



    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 04.02.2019 - 17:30 ]
    1xPeg2, PowerMac G5, PowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T, A3000D and life is never boring.....
  • »04.02.19 - 17:28
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    flip
    Posts: 34 from 2005/8/25
    From: Somewhere in U...
    Finally I get a full working PegasosII with MOS 3.11: AMAZING!!!
    I need to do some little correction.
    Corrected the boot from the lan to the hd: full auto boot!

    Thanks to all for the support!!!!
    -------------------------------------------------------
    Pegasos II/G4 1GHz/MOS 3.11/Ambient 1.44
    2,0Gb Ram/80GbHd/ATIRadeon9000VI-VO/DVDBurner
  • »06.02.19 - 11:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Brumiga
    Posts: 187 from 2004/4/3
    From: France
    @flip,

    I have read somewhere in the past year that bplan can provide a firmware update. This will allow pegasos 2 to use fully an usb keyboard, even from the firmware, during boot process. On the other hand the firmware version of your motherboard revision has not been publicaly released by bplan. Ask to Amigaharry 2 to see if it is better to update your firmware or to keep your actual one. Ask also to him or to Andreas Wolf for more explanations and/or links.

    Brumiga

    [ Edité par Brumiga 07.02.2019 - 14:40 ]
  • »07.02.19 - 14:35
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 577 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    To check your board and Firmware type in OF-console:

    .properties -> gives some information about your Pegasos - and the revision!

    dev /openprom
    .properties
    -> gives you the Firmware-version built-in.

    FW-version 1.2, built-on 20040810 or higher, definitly accepts USB-keyboards (but not screenmode-changes with function-keys F5/6 and F9)

    To use all features of FW-console you need a PS/2-keyboard. (Maybe there are some USB-keyboards out there, which can also do, but I don't know about them)
    1xPeg2, PowerMac G5, PowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T, A3000D and life is never boring.....
  • »11.02.19 - 11:44
    Profile