FOSS license. Pro Contra
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Hello friends,
    I would like to start a small discussion about software licenses. Exact Free Software licenses. I have already been asked several times if I would provide the source code of my software. As a former Linux developer, I am generally a friend of Stallman's open source thoughts. Unfortunately, I have already experienced several times that software that I wrote (and that's a lot of work) just copied and published under another name again. That is in the context of the GPL if one releases the code no problem. But I think that the developer of the software has earned a little recognition for his work. I provide good software that is free in use and remains. But I think that one should mention the developer who made the effort even with a further development of third. This could look like this: This software is based on ECalc by Dierk-Bent Piening. I have not found a license that does that. I think it's a pity that the work of many developers volunteering a lot of work for you are not recognized. I'm interested in your opinion? I'm wondering if I should write a license demanding this one sentence. What do you think about Open Source and the GPL? Can you understand my view?
  • »03.11.18 - 23:58
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    I certainly appreciate anything that any programmer contributes that is useful to me, and fairly often I have made a donation to that person or to a bounty for further development to be advanced.

It seems, therefore, only fair that work that has been built on by someone else's effort should be recognised, so for me this is a "no brainer" - of course it should, and that obviously applies to your work here as well.