I own the fastest NG Amiga Compatible - Prove me wrong!
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    I have the G5 2.7 up and running. I put the X1950pro in it too. I'll probably revive an old thread or start a new one for benchmarking, but here's 640x480 max with vertex.

    351v860.jpg

    -Edit-
    Looks like a moderator split my post off into a new thread. Not how i wanted to start it, but meh. I'll add more benchmarks here. If anyone wants me to bench something, let me know.

    I have a PowerMac G5 2.7Ghz with Radeon X1950pro. There is no binary compatible NG Amiga solution faster than this. Prove me wrong!

    [ Edited by redrumloa 02.09.2018 - 21:15 ]
  • »03.09.18 - 00:28
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1098 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    There was no moderator action involved. You just pressed the wrong button :)
  • »03.09.18 - 01:20
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    ASiegel wrote:
    There was no moderator action involved. You just pressed the wrong button :)


    I did? Ok, my apologies. I guess this will work anyhow.
  • »03.09.18 - 01:42
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Here's 1600x1200 max settings with Lightmap.

    furviw.jpg

    153.3fps
  • »03.09.18 - 02:27
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 405 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    I can't even try. :P Even with my x1650, not even close. Both 1.5GHz MDD or my 2GHz G5.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »03.09.18 - 03:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1816 from 2003/2/24
    Hope you had some tissues at hand....




    *runs*
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »03.09.18 - 08:31
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1098 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    tlosmx wrote:
    for sure it is the faster NG amiga... ;-)
    it will be since the P2080 laptop will be release ..

    check my benchs :-P

    I am not entirely sure if this relates to this specific discussion thread though. As you know, there are much faster x64 Linux machines out there. You even do list Threadripper results.

    If it ever gets manufactured and sold, which is not a given, the "P2080 laptop" will not magically become an "NG Amiga Compatible" as redrumloa put it.
  • »03.09.18 - 10:20
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 485 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    @redrumloa

    Run some HTML5 games or Tower57. AGP machines have lower framerates than PCIe ones (except Sam470 of course.
  • »03.09.18 - 10:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10019 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > the P2080 laptop

    ...is a T2080 laptop :-)
  • »03.09.18 - 10:47
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10019 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Sam470

    I would have liked a Sam460 successor based on PPC476 :-)
  • »03.09.18 - 11:44
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Sam470

    I would have liked a Sam460 successor based on PPC476 :-)


    Something like the mythical ChinaChip CC2000?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »03.09.18 - 17:21
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    Kronos wrote:
    Hope you had some tissues at hand....




    *runs*


    How'd you know? :-o
  • »03.09.18 - 18:29
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    zukow wrote:
    @redrumloa

    Run some HTML5 games or Tower57. AGP machines have lower framerates than PCIe ones (except Sam470 of course.


    I'll probably purchase Tower57 and give it a shot. I'm not sure it is my type of game, but it is cheap enough and looks professional. I understand from your previous post(s) that AGP bandwidth may be limiting. As you stated, that seems a bit odd, but so be it.
  • »03.09.18 - 18:31
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    tlosmx wrote:
    for sure it is the faster NG amiga... ;-)
    it will be since the P2080 laptop will be release ..

    check my benchs :-P

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/wshgd98gfny33ma/bench.xlsx?dl=0


    If it comes out and runs either OS4 or MorphOS, then it will be on topic. Until then it is like comparing a core i9 system running Windows to an OS4 box. Irrelevant.
  • »03.09.18 - 18:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10019 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Something like the mythical ChinaChip CC2000?

    Yes (although I'm not sure this one made it past the announcement), or the C*Core CCFC9000, the LSI/Avago/Intel Axxia or the IBM PPC476FPE or PPC476GTR.
  • »03.09.18 - 19:07
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote:

    I'll probably purchase Tower57 and give it a shot. I'm not sure it is my type of game, but it is cheap enough and looks professional. I understand from your previous post(s) that AGP bandwidth may be limiting. As you stated, that seems a bit odd, but so be it.


    I purchased Tower 57. I went back and read Trevor's blog and he doesn't say what resolution he is using so i assume the default windowed mode. He mentions a "special benchmark reference saved game", but I don't see it anywhere in the game I just bought. Where do i find this?
  • »04.09.18 - 00:27
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1441 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Tower 57 isn't good for benchmarking currently, it runs fast enough to be playable and is fun game, but it doesn't run optimally on MorphOS. At least I get "performance warnings" (bitmap doesn't have BMF_3DTARGET set) to the log on r200 and r300 cards... according to Bigfoot that affects to the speed.
  • »04.09.18 - 05:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 838 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    redrumloa wrote:
    I purchased Tower 57. I went back and read Trevor's blog and he doesn't say what resolution he is using so i assume the default windowed mode.


    Yep, that's a clever trick by Trevor. Tower57 runs faster in windowed mode than on fullscreen (that's why the FPS counter on his page favours OS4 over MorphOS).

    Quote:

    He mentions a "special benchmark reference saved game", but I don't see it anywhere in the game I just bought. Where do i find this?


    AFAIK there are no "special benchmark saves", he probably prepared one, to make the playback more repeatable. There's a FPS switch in the game tooltypes and that's it.

    By the way: on X850XT equipped G5 2,7 GHz in window I got max around 130 FPS, average about 90. In fullscreen mode FPS counter is stable at around 60 (I assume the game forces VSYNC in the fullscreen mode).

    Here are the videos: The first one (windowed, sorry for poor quality) and the second one (fullscreen, sorry the first one wasn't prepared in such a good quality :).

    EDIT: Spoiler alert, both videos show the alternate ending. You have been warned.

    [ Edited by koszer 04.09.2018 - 07:47 ]
  • »04.09.18 - 05:37
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1887 from 2003/10/19
    From: Oxnard, Ca.
    Will a PC X1950pro AGP work with a 2.0Ghz G5 out of the box? I dont run anything Mac on mine so I dont care about the apple early startup. I dont see any Apple edition versions of this card.
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ (Currently Main MorphOS Machine)
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    AmigaOne X5000
    Need Amiga recap or other services in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »04.09.18 - 12:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4700 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Yes, the R500 driver uses AtomBIOS calls, so PC X1950Pro cards work right out of the box (using MorphOS 3.11).
    There are no firmware prompts, and you cannot access firmware with these cards.
    Temporarily swapping out the X1950 with a cheap Apple 9600 will allow you to access firmware for any needed firmware tweaks and you can then reinstall your R500 video card.

    [ Edited by Jim 04.09.2018 - 13:57 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »04.09.18 - 17:55
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Yes, the R500 driver uses AtomBIOS calls, so PC X1950Pro cards work right out of the box (using MorphOS 3.11).
    There are no firmware prompts, and you cannot access firmware with these cards.
    Temporarily swapping out the X1950 with a cheap Apple 9600 will allow you to access firmware for any needed firmware tweaks and you can then reinstall your R500 video card.


    I can confirm it works as Jim says.
  • »04.09.18 - 19:36
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 405 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    For what its worth,

    I had an issue where I went to "upgrade" to 3.11. I had an x1650 card installed and it would boot up into the installer, but of course since my previous 3.10 install was on it, I deleted the boot.img file so it wont keep trying to boot it and have the CD complain about it. But after deleting boot.img from the boot partition, I was never able to even boot back into it. Nothing ever came back onto the screen. I put back my R9600 Mac to reinstall 3.11, and after the install, I put back the x1650 and it came back working.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »04.09.18 - 23:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10019 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > that's a clever trick by Trevor. Tower57 runs faster in windowed mode than on
    > fullscreen (that's why the FPS counter on his page favours OS4 over MorphOS).

    You mean he ran the OS4 version windowed but the MorphOS version fullscreen?

    > AFAIK there are no "special benchmark saves"

    There are, which Daytona675x prepared and used for his benchmarks and obviously shared with Trevor.
  • »05.09.18 - 00:10
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1261 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > AFAIK there are no "special benchmark saves"

    There are, which Daytona675x prepared and used for his benchmarks and obviously shared with Trevor.


    Where can I download it? Link?
  • »05.09.18 - 02:00
    Profile