Using Both Processors on a Power Mac G5
  • Just looking around
    Chicago-Joe
    Posts: 2 from 2018/7/25
    From: Chicago, IL USA
    Hi all,

    I have MorphOS 3.11 running well on my MacMini 1.47MHz with 1G memory, very happy!

    On a PowerMac G5 (A1047) I understand the OS has a 1.5G memory limit, but can it use both CPUs?

    Sorry if this is common knowledge, but I did not find the answer searching the forum.

    Thank you,

    Joe
  • »07.08.18 - 03:24
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 230 from 2012/4/28
    I read that MorphOS and AmigaOS 4.X don't use the two cpu in Amiga X5000 and neither MorphOS with the G5.
    Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
    WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
    Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
    Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6.
    MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.11
    PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.11
  • »07.08.18 - 05:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 812 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Chicago-Joe wrote:
    On a PowerMac G5 (A1047) I understand the OS has a 1.5G memory limit, but can it use both CPUs?



    No. The current version of MorphOS isn't ready to utilize more than 1 CPU. In fact version 3.11 shuts off the second CPU during initialization, so that it doesn't run needlessly.

    P.S. Before Andreas Wolf beats me to it - the memory limit is more like 1,7 GB :)
  • »07.08.18 - 07:42
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9829 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > my MacMini 1.47MHz

    It's either 1.42 or 1.5 GHz (unless weirdly overclocked from 1.25 or 1.33 GHz).

    > On a PowerMac G5 (A1047) I understand the OS has a 1.5G memory limit

    The MorphOS memory limit applies to all compatible machines. And koszer has it (almost, hehe) correct: it's 1.7 GiB (= 1.8 GB).
  • »07.08.18 - 11:17
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Chicago-Joe
    Posts: 2 from 2018/7/25
    From: Chicago, IL USA
    All,

    Thank you for the quick replies.

    >It's either 1.42 or 1.5 GHz (unless weirdly overclocked from 1.25 or 1.33 GHz).

    Yes, 1.42GHz.

    I have a chance to pick up a PowerMac G5 (A1047) x2GHz cpus w/ a Radeon 9600 Pro for the cost and time of a 5 hour drive. I am happy with the MacMini now; would there be a significant performance increase with MorphOS 3.11 on the PowerMac G5? I do understand I would need a new license code.

    Thank you.

    Joe
  • »08.08.18 - 01:55
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 812 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Chicago-Joe wrote:
    I have a chance to pick up a PowerMac G5 (A1047) x2GHz cpus w/ a Radeon 9600 Pro for the cost and time of a 5 hour drive. I am happy with the MacMini now; would there be a significant performance increase with MorphOS 3.11 on the PowerMac G5?


    Define "significant". 2,0 GHz is roughly 40-50% faster than Mini (it's twice as fast in LAME benchmark though). It's got faster HDD controller, more expansion options and ability to utilize much faster gfx card (up to Radeon HD 3850 AGP version). But it's bigger and consumes more power.

    Quote:


    I do understand I would need a new license code.



    Yep.
  • »08.08.18 - 06:05
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1400 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Also, 1.42GHz mini has only 32MB graphics mem (it seriously limits the use of 3D accelerated layers and resolution), so even the default Radeon 9600 on G5 is much better in that regard. I would take the machine for that "price" sure. It's a good find and then you'd have both options to choose from whatever you'd need in what occasions. And having a second MorphOS machine as a backup doesn't hurt either :)
  • »08.08.18 - 06:16
    Profile Visit Website