Slow Radeon 9600 PRO 256mb
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 279 from 2013/5/29
    Hello!
    I have rescued a PowerMac g5 2ghz and want to use it to replace my old and dead G5 2.5ghz.
    I´m using a Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb and installed MorphOS 3.11.
    The problem is that all screen refresh is very very slow. Layerinfotask is eating a lot of CPU.
    I´ll try with MorphOS 3.9 tomorrow but...any idea of what is happening?

    thanks in advance.
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »29.07.18 - 23:25
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 279 from 2013/5/29
    here the debug log:

    Radeon: Failed to initialise Radeon DMA
    Radeon: Failed to allocate CCE DMA memory
    WaitForIdle timeout!!! Access type: 00000001 RPTR 0x2 RBBM_STATUS 0x80010140, CP_STAT c0000006
    HW acceleration disabled due to fifo timeout
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »30.07.18 - 18:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 279 from 2013/5/29
    What a strange thing!
    I have booted with osx ppc and install the Radeon 9600 pro 256mb drivers cos it had wrong colors. It worked like a charm and when I have restarted in MorphOS it is now running fast as hell!
    No idea what happened but seems its all ok. :/
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »30.07.18 - 19:33
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 279 from 2013/5/29
    Sorry to come here again.
    The problem persist. I can only use MorphOS is I first use mac osx, the gfx card start working and reset to Morphos. Then all goes fast as hell.

    As a side note...The pram battery is empty. Can this cause a problem?
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »03.08.18 - 20:26
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 395 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Seems to be an initialization issue. Please write a bug report.
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.11
  • »06.08.18 - 23:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 400 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    Random idea, but clean the pins. I had a 9600 that was experiencing super choppy video playback. After cleaning the pins on the card, all is well again. Also, be sure your Ram is ok. Reseat it for good measure.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »05.09.18 - 00:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    I've never had an issue with genuine Apple 9600 cards. Flashed PC cards with Apple roms don't seem to work correctly (in particular the 9600s).

    I have only one flashed card in my procession that works 100% perfectly (a Radeon 9800 Pro).

    As to the card edge, it's hard to believe it would initialize and function at all if the was too dirty.

    9600's are not the fastest cards, but with the functions that are disabled on yours, I amazed you can tolerate using it at all.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »05.09.18 - 15:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 279 from 2013/5/29
    @Doffo. I have tried to clean all contacts but with effect.

    @Jim: This card is not flashed.
    In the past I have used others 9600 without problem.
    As I said, the gfx card is unusable when I start MorphOS but if I start OSX first and then reset to MorphOS the card runs without problems.

    Very strange...I'll buy another one meanwhile.
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »05.09.18 - 21:02
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    tolkien wrote:
    @Doffo. I have tried to clean all contacts but with effect.

    @Jim: This card is not flashed.
    In the past I have used others 9600 without problem.
    As I said, the gfx card is unusable when I start MorphOS but if I start OSX first and then reset to MorphOS the card runs without problems.

    Very strange...I'll buy another one meanwhile.


    Yeah, that is a new one on me. I think your solution makes sense.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »06.09.18 - 01:35
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 279 from 2013/5/29
    Only for the record. I have now a radeon 9600 pro 128mb and works ok. thanks
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »12.10.18 - 11:41
    Profile