Many classic Amiga apps don't work
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 367 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Hi.

    On my clean install MOS 3.11 system many classic Amiga apps don't start.
    I mean just nothing happens when I double click on the icon.

    How can I find out what the problem is?


    Manfred
  • »25.07.18 - 08:38
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 470 from 2011/11/30
    Please explain, which apps you tested? Did the apps worked in previous versions but not in latest?

    You can investigate what happens when you double clicking but running in one side Snoppium.
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »25.07.18 - 08:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 367 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    MCE or DiskMaster2 don't work, but many more. However, others work.
    I couldn't yet find a pattern.

    Here is a Snoopium log when I try to open MCE.

    Code:

    [1] [ramlib] [Open] [MOSSYS:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [2] [ramlib] [Open] [MOSSYS:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [3] [ramlib] [Load] [MOSSYS:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [] [Fail]
    [4] [ramlib] [Open] [MOSSYS:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [5] [ramlib] [Open] [MOSSYS:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [6] [ramlib] [Load] [MOSSYS:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget] [] [Fail]
    [7] [ramlib] [Open] [LIBS:gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [8] [ramlib] [Open] [LIBS:gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [9] [ramlib] [Load] [LIBS:gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [] [Fail]
    [10] [ramlib] [Open] [gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [11] [ramlib] [Open] [gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [12] [ramlib] [Load] [gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [] [Fail]
    [13] [ramlib] [Open] [LIBS:gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [14] [ramlib] [Open] [LIBS:gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [15] [ramlib] [Load] [LIBS:gadgets/button.gadget] [] [Fail]
    [16] [ramlib] [Open] [gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [17] [ramlib] [Open] [gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [18] [ramlib] [Load] [gadgets/button.gadget] [] [Fail]
    [19] [ramlib] [Open] [PROGDIR:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [20] [ramlib] [Open] [PROGDIR:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [Read] [Fail]
    [21] [ramlib] [Load] [PROGDIR:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget.elf] [] [Fail]
    [22] [ramlib] [Open] [PROGDIR:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [23] [ramlib] [Open] [PROGDIR:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget] [Read] [Fail]
    [24] [ramlib] [Load] [PROGDIR:LIBS/gadgets/button.gadget] [] [Fail]
  • »25.07.18 - 09:21
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    zukow
    Posts: 465 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    I suspect that program can't open button.gadget :)
  • »25.07.18 - 10:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2508 from 2003/2/24
    Quote:

    I suspect that program can't open button.gadget :)


    :-)

    [ Edited by takemehomegrandma 25.07.2018 - 11:26 ]
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »25.07.18 - 10:26
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 367 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Yeah, looks like it. But why?
    Is this a custom install or?
  • »25.07.18 - 11:32
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1041 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    @ azrael22

    This application uses the ReAction GUI toolkit that has never been included with MorphOS at any time...

    If an application fails to run, it is always a good idea to check the minimum software and hardware requirements in the supplied documentation.
  • »25.07.18 - 11:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 470 from 2011/11/30
    RA based apps strangely have almost never worked worked for me 100%, even though I have installed the package jpv posted above. Regularly somethings fails. So, in MUI we trust!

    [ Edited by Cool_amigaN 25.07.2018 - 14:54 ]
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »25.07.18 - 12:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 367 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    ASiegel wrote:
    @ azrael22

    This application uses the ReAction GUI toolkit that has never been included with MorphOS at any time...

    If an application fails to run, it is always a good idea to check the minimum software and hardware requirements in the supplied documentation.


    Yeah, thanks.
    On my other MorphOS system I had installed the Chrysalis pack and that probably had installed something to run those applications so that I didn't run into this issue.
  • »25.07.18 - 15:17
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Minuous
    Posts: 118 from 2010/2/13
    It requires ReAction, as mentioned. If it still doesn't run with ReAction installed, please advise, either on this forum or by email, and I will investigate.

    It should be giving an error message if it can't find a component. Try running from CLI if such messages are not appearing when run from WB.

    I haven't been able to test recent versions on MorphOS as I don't have any way of running that OS currently, but there have been no significant changes to its requirements or startup behaviour recently. No issues have been reported by the porter or anyone else so I assume it does work on MOS.
  • »26.07.18 - 00:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Minuous
    Posts: 118 from 2010/2/13
    By the way are you running the MOS version of MCE or the OS3.9 one?
  • »26.07.18 - 00:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1137 from 2003/6/17
    DiskMaster 2 works on my G5 under 3.11
  • »26.07.18 - 00:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 367 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    TheMagicM wrote:
    DiskMaster 2 works on my G5 under 3.11


    Yeah, DiskMaster 2 works now.
  • »26.07.18 - 08:21
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 367 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    Minuous wrote:
    By the way are you running the MOS version of MCE or the OS3.9 one?


    I tried both actually. Both freeze the system with ReAction installed.
  • »26.07.18 - 08:22
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Minuous
    Posts: 118 from 2010/2/13
    I'm afraid I don't know what the problem could be, maybe something has changed in the latest MorphOS; AFAIK it has worked fine until now.

    I am setting up a MorphOS environment on Windows; once this is done I will be able to compile and test the MorphOS builds.

    [ Edited by Minuous 27.07.2018 - 15:53 ]
  • »26.07.18 - 10:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1137 from 2003/6/17
    MCE works for me.

    Did you download and install RA-MOS.lha??
  • »27.07.18 - 02:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 367 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Works, now. Thanks all.
  • »30.07.18 - 11:26
    Profile