PowerMac G5 2.0GHZ mono-processor compatible ?
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 918 from 2004/9/23
    Refering to our website:

    http://morphos.de/hardware

    Only PowerMac 7,2 and PowerMac7,3 (A1047) are supported.

    You could have answered it yourself. Of course the Nvidia card is not supported.
  • »10.05.18 - 16:00
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9962 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > i have found a PowerMac G5 2.0GHZ mono-processor and i would
    > like to know if it compatible with MorphOS ? It's a PowerMac 7.2

    According to http://www.morphos-team.net/hardware, MorphOS is compatible with PowerMac7,2 in general, no matter the CPU count. After all, it wouldn‘t make sense for a single-processing OS to require the presence of multiple CPUs.
    What‘s strange though is that I don‘t think there ever was a single-CPU PowerMac7,2 at 2.0 GHz. Single-CPU goes up to 1.8 GHz only. Maybe it‘s overclocked 1.8 GHz model (if even possible), or 2.0 GHz model with one CPU broken/removed?
  • »10.05.18 - 16:07
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 832 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    You mean, there's only one CPU slot on the mobo? If yes, then that's strange. It seems the machine is a 2,0-GHz-CPU-daughterboard-fitted 1,6 GHz one (as it's the only PowerMac 7.2 (A1047) with single CPU, as the other single CPU PowerMac G5 is 9.1 (A1093), the cost-reduced version not supported by MorphOS).

    P.S. Yes, there's also a 1,8 GHz one, as stated by Andreas. But the CPU must have been switched nevertheless.

    P.S.S. Before Andreas corrects me on that - yes, there were also 2 other single CPU PowerMacs - the 2,0 MP and 2,3 MP dual cores (11.2), but there's no MorphOS for them yet/at all.


    [ Edited by koszer 10.05.2018 - 17:14 ]
  • »10.05.18 - 16:13
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    So a 2.0 will run correctly with only one processor, and there is a single cpu 1.6 model that is based on a dual 2.0 motherboard that could be upgraded to a 2.0?
    Does that mean the 1.6 through 2.0 models use the same motherboard?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »10.05.18 - 16:39
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Sorry, duplicate post.

    [ Edited by Jim 10.05.2018 - 18:35 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »10.05.18 - 16:41
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 832 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    The serial number say a bi-processor 2.0GHz in fact but there is only one in the tower...



    But the socket is there? So it's a Dual Processor stripped from one of them. Look at the fans in front of CPU modules - if there are two, then it's a dual CPU machine.

    @Jim: There are some differences between the motherboards. I once had a 1,8 GHz version that worked with one type of 2,0 GHz CPU card and refused to boot with another 2,0 GHz type. Also, there are some dual CPU motherboards that won't even power on if only one is present, while others will work flawlessly (given it's the "upper" (A) slot that's occupied).
  • »10.05.18 - 16:47
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1083 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Isn't there usually another CPU fan (or two) on the left side of the giant G5 cooler?
  • »10.05.18 - 16:58
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9962 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Does that mean the 1.6 through 2.0 models use the same motherboard?

    The motherboard of the (single-CPU) 1.6 GHz model has PCI slots, while there‘re PCI-X slots on the motherboard(s) of the (single-CPU and dual-CPU) 1.8+ GHz models.
  • »10.05.18 - 17:00
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 832 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:

    I don't see the second socket on the picture.



    Yet, it's there. Just a tiny part of it seen on the photo.

    photo

    I hope the seller's got the intake fan and the plastic deflector? Also, 120 EUR seems kinda steep price for this machine, even though it seems it's got a beefed up nVidia (surely not the stock model, looks to me like nVidia GeForce 6200 256 MB)
  • »10.05.18 - 17:02
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 832 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    Thanks Koszer for these informations !

    I will ask about intake fan and plastic deflector ;-)




    You can surely live without the deflector (if you fool the "deflector present" sensor e.g. with a piece of paper), but the intake fan would be nice. I once incidentally turned the computer on without it and everything worked for a good while, but why risk overheating?
  • »10.05.18 - 17:47
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    OK, so as per Andreas, a 1.6 GHz MB has just PCI slot, while a 1.8 MB has PCI-X slots.
    And this photo appears to show a model with PCI-X slots (they look like the slots in my 2.7) and there is a small part of the second cpu connector showing.

    So, this is not a 1.6 GHz MB, also there are two fans in the front, but no indication what the rear fans look like (although I'd bet this is a stock dual cpu, quad fan setup).

    Probably a 1.8 or 2.0 GHZ model (w/ the 2.0 cpu, the latter is more likely), with one cpu removed.

    This doesn't work on a 2.5 or 2.7 (they won't boot with the bottom cpu removed).

    Interesting, but yeah, I wouldn't pay that much for that either.


    [ Edited by Jim 10.05.2018 - 18:54 ]
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »10.05.18 - 23:52
    Profile